We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Helpful staff and Cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
England
Level Contributor
438 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Helpful staff and Cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed down in Canterbury for 2 nights on way to France. Hotel was cheap (for one night free - £62 for 2 nights including breakfast for 4!), the staff were very helpful and polite (even with my one year old tearing around.), rooms were well made up and clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam_nwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    294
    170
    51
    29
See reviews for
186
269
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Fine for one night away, basic accomodation but staff helpful

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

I had to travel to Canterbury at the last minute, after lots of research i could only find rooms at the Holiday inn express as it was a bank holiday weekend, all other hotels in the area were fully booked.
Hotel was easy to find, i wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but i was pleasantly surprised as the room was very comfortable, lots of space, staff were nice and had a room at the back at the hotel, so no noise at all, breakfast was simple but nice, everything you need.
Check in and check out were easy, center of the town was not to far away.
All in all, not bad for a stop over.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning Common, Berks
Level Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

The great thing about EBHI is you know what you will get - clean no nonsense rooms, a shower that works, adequate car parking and a basic but filling breakfast. The Canterbury one is no exception. A little outside the city, but at les than £100 for four of us over a weekend we were happy to accept this. Dover, Whitstable, Sissinghurst, Howletts zoo all within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I wasnt expecting a great deal having seen previous reviews but for what we required for a 1 night stay, it was spot on. Yes, it is behind a petrol station, but you cant actually see it from the hotel - and convenient if you need petrol! Yes, it is on a busy main road, but that made it very easy to find and it is behind a large bank with all the rooms facing away from the road and we overlooked a forest, which was lovely and very quiet. It is about 3 miles from Canterbury which is fine if you have a car. We were visiting the university and very convenient for that - you still need a car though. Well lit carpark directly outside the entrance (very safe), which looked very smart. Most impressed when we got to the check in as we were welcomed by name - unusual for a large chain hotel. OK, I get the impression it caters mainly for business people in the week and perhaps we were the only family booked in, but even so, for a budget hotel, very impressive. The hotel looks very spick and span and very clean and our room, although not large (particularly as the sofa bed was already made up) was spotlessly clean and very together - everything in it's place and co-ordinated. Big plus point - directional bedside lamps! How many times do i go to a hotel with only 1, sometimes none, bedside lamp, and which cant be directed and blinds your partner! Breakfast was included and very nice. Serve yourself cold buffet, as much as you wanted - toast/muffins/danish, lots of fruit and yoghout, cheese, juice and hot drinks. OK, you wouldnt stay there for a holiday - bit soulless but would most certainly use again and highly recommended and extremely good value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
730 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

Needed a hotel at short notice which was close to Ramsgate for an early morning sailing to Belgium. The hotel is tucked away behind the Texaco Garage on A2 near Canterbury, it is quite difficult to find.

Arrived at the hotel about 10pm, the check in took about 5 minutes. The room itself was larger than average with usual features including Tea/Coffee facilities and TV with about 15 channels.

As we arrived at 10pm, we were too late for dinner served at the hotel but we were given take away menus from local restaurants.

The hotel is ideal for an overnight stay but would not stay any longer than that.

  • Liked — Comfortable Room
  • Disliked — Hard to find the hotel from A2
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarante, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel for months from Oct 2007 until the present day. Why because I collect Priority Club points and it was convenient. Staff really nice. Maintenance of hotel a disaster. For a year I fill in the questionnaire reminding them but obviously nobody reads them as the stair treads are still broken after a year. Platinum level club members used to get a free drink - yes we still do but now it is water ! Tray mats at breakfast have been dispensed with and the orange juice is watered down. Over the last two weeks. I reported the pop up plug did not work. Next day it still was broken and now jammed. Took parts to reception and suggested they fixed it. Same thing happened following week. Asked TV to be tuned to channel 5. Came back and TV control now missing and TV not tuned. Next day still not done. Came back following week and now it was tuned but to channel 2. For the maintenance mans benefit counting goes 1,2,3 4 and then 5 ! Every single week of every stay they have awarded my points wrong. Every week I phone and complain to Priority Club and they blame the hotel. The best was breakfast this week when the dining room was in darkness. When I reported it I was told we use natural light. At 7.00am there wasn't any. Fawlty Towers lives again but this time for real. Wake up management the hotel is going down the drain. Next week is my last I can take it no more.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Stingy management
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing