We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Average HI Express”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Convenient (if you have a car) HI Express with friendly staff. Breakfast not quite as good as other HI Express hotels, no rolls, no Special K. Controls for toaster blocked off, it ran too cool. Guests are not trusted to be capable of adjusting a toaster. It's reasonably priced for the area, comfortable and clean. On the plus side it is fully non-smoking and rooms have electric wall heaters that you can control.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    295
    172
    51
    29
See reviews for
186
271
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We booked this hotel direct and could cancel up until 4pm on day of check in. We arrived at the hotel was was impossible to find and we didnt realise when booking that it was located at a services on the motorway! We were very disapointed! This was unexpected as we wanted a hotel where we could walk into cantebury town centre. The hotel itself was ok and the rooms were fine but not the location we were after. We checked out and stayed at a B and B in town! The Holiday inn website should be more clear on this.

  • Liked — Only good for stopovers when motorway driving!
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank LadyC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wombourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Express last Thursday night (one of the hottest of the year with temperature of 30). The air-conditioning on entering the hotel was very welcoming but this did not extend to the bedrooms which were very hot although fans were provided in the rooms. The bed-linen was spotless, white cotton and the shower room and toilet again were very clean with the exception of the shower curtain which needed a good wash, the build up of soap has left it very badly stained along the bottom edge and very stiff. Lux and Dove soap dispensers in the shower were very good although I still left my personal shower gel, shampoo and conditioner behind - unfortunately I tend to do this at most hotels! Tea and coffee making facilities again were good.

Little bar area on ground floor again pleasant and clean and the breakfast selection was good with plentiful supply of cold juice, fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt. We ordered a taxi from Reception and it arrived promptly, a modern clean car with a pleasant driver.

For the price you cannot beat this hotel, so near to Canterbury city centre (£8 taxi drive) shared by four of us was really cheap. Only downside was that there was no lift so we had to climb the stairs with suitcases, (this would prove difficult for anyone with mobility problems) but a small moan compared to how good everything else was.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Within good striking distance of Channel Tunnel or Cross Channel Ferry. Rooms OK/average, Food OK/average and on the rather expensive side for what it is - service reasonable, front desk staff friendly and pleasant.

  • Liked — Brand Name
  • Disliked — Average
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed here over a weekend in June with a 6 year old and partner.
Room was clean and made up with the sofa bed ready, which was great as we arrived after 23:00. Shower as always was good and extra pillows quickly found. (Why do hotels only give you one each??)
Breakfast on Saturday morning was good, a buffet with fruit and yoghurt, which was a nice surprise.
Sunday morning was a little different, the poor person on duty was expected to cope with 200 guests for breakfast alone, some feat, but although the range of items wasn't as wide as the previous day, breakfast was plentiful.
Overall good value for money, helpful staff and good clean accomodation, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean accomodation, Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Sunday breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virago535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

After a frustrating day consisting mostly of driving through the rain, we found this hotel and were soon pleasantly surprised by our experience there. Everything was very modern and clean, and the staff was excellent. The room was large and had both a double bed and fold-out couch bed. We ate dinner at Fab's Diner across the parking lot which was surprisingly good, but stayed at the hotel for the continental breakfast the next morning. The only inconvenience was the lack of a lift to the upper floor. Overall, we had a great stay at a good value and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scott121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stayed many times-always had a problem of one form or another. Staff not interested-they are always right-you are always wrong
Last problem was overcharge on hotel phone bill-despite 2 letters-no reply from them

Suggest if your in the area, stay somehwhere else, I certianly will

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank GSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing