We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean / good basic food / pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed March 23, 2014

, Very convenient at side of A2 en route to Dover Port. check in staff pleasant and good welcome though can be a little stretched at busy times. Room / bathroom very clean and organised found bed to be comfortable and bedding sheets spotless.
Good good quality food especially breakfast buffet though choice in the evening is limited saying that it is a journey hotel.
Good parking and value for money all round so don't increase your charges with all the good reviews you are getting.
Have used this Hotel before and the standards were the same well managed and organised.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are the better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baker029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
Glad to hear you have liked the staff, breakfast and guest room amenities.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 756 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed over on a trip to Canterbury Cathedral. The hotel room was clean and tidy and had free WIFI. We had dinner and the food was very nice. It is located next to a garage on the outskirts of the city but was great value and parking was no problem. All staff we encountered were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pand68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal.
We are so glad you liked cleanliness of the room, value for money, free WI FI, food and most importantly friendliness of our staff.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Look forward to welcoming you again here at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location isn't perfect being a few miles outside of the city itself but I really cannot fault it for great vale for money. We spent the day in nearby Whitstable and simply wanted somewhere to sleep to avoid a two hour drive back home. All in I paid £50 which was for the room for myself my wife and our daughter and included free wifi, free parking and breakfast. I really cannot fault it. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. At breakfast I requested some more of the hot food which arrived within seconds.
Absolutely first class. I would recommend to anyone looking for a budget get away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinC71BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us as we are delighted to see your positive feedback regarding the value for money, friendliness of our staff and the breakfast.
Your recommendation about the Holiday Inn Express Canterbury is highly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you again in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had two nights bed breakfast and evening meal at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was well cooked and delicious. We found the staff friendly and helpful, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Pleased to hear positive comments about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. We are truley pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.
Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had one night at this hotel, it was a special deal on Wowcher which included an evening meal, one night stay and tickets to Canterbury Cathedral. My husband and I will definitely return, the staff service was impeccable, our curry delicious and we had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such great things about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Arrived late and tired after a stressful Friday night Journey. Although Late the Night Receptionist served us drinks most needed.Comfortable Bed Good night sleep and a lovely Cooked Breakfast.Very busy but the Catering staff coped very well

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burntoakged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good bits.....Clean comfortable room. Plenty of car parking. Evening meal good quality and enjoyable. Not so good bits.....bar/restaurant lady hasn't a clue! When attempting to order food at the bar she Ignored my colleague and I for 10 mins until my colleague demanded to know how long we were going to have to wait until she took our order. She then got the drinks order wrong and was unable to split the bill between the two rooms booked. We could hear others complaining also. There was another member of staff whom seemed to be perhaps a supervisor whom just kept rolling her eyes at the bar lady - but didn't offer to help her, just criticized her in front of guests.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
It is so glad to hear you have enjoyed the evening meal and facilities. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had in the bar area.
We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $52 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing