We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service, Clean, Comfortable and Amazing Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had one night at this hotel, it was a special deal on Wowcher which included an evening meal, one night stay and tickets to Canterbury Cathedral. My husband and I will definitely return, the staff service was impeccable, our curry delicious and we had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such great things about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 741 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Arrived late and tired after a stressful Friday night Journey. Although Late the Night Receptionist served us drinks most needed.Comfortable Bed Good night sleep and a lovely Cooked Breakfast.Very busy but the Catering staff coped very well

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burntoakged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good bits.....Clean comfortable room. Plenty of car parking. Evening meal good quality and enjoyable. Not so good bits.....bar/restaurant lady hasn't a clue! When attempting to order food at the bar she Ignored my colleague and I for 10 mins until my colleague demanded to know how long we were going to have to wait until she took our order. She then got the drinks order wrong and was unable to split the bill between the two rooms booked. We could hear others complaining also. There was another member of staff whom seemed to be perhaps a supervisor whom just kept rolling her eyes at the bar lady - but didn't offer to help her, just criticized her in front of guests.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel.
It is so glad to hear you have enjoyed the evening meal and facilities. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had in the bar area.
We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very good value for money,£60 FOR 2 nights ,double room with breakfast and wifi,Very friendly and helpful staff.Rooms are clean and comfortable with a great shower.Breakfast was excellent,with plenty of choice and the staff were very attentive ,The hotel is a good location for visiting Canterbury and the Kent countryside.Would stay there again .....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AMBER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Recently had a 2 night weekend break. Rooms clean and comfortable. All hotel staff helpful and friendly. We had booked a valentines meal which was excellent. Location great for Canterbury. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money (£45 for one night double room with breakfast.) Poorly signed off main road and nearly missed; room good size, clean and comfortable. Shower worked well. Soundproofing average. Reception reasonably attentive; breakfast better than average, though plates cold. Would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bikerb2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antony49b, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Thank you for bringing above mentioned concerns to your attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible

Look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived (a part of four) here on wednesday night after driving for half an hour to find it, the google maps directions coming from Canterbury are completely wrong (don't use the google map directions if coming from Canterbury as they tell you to drive down the wrong side of the A2 in to oncoming traffic), so we rang the HIE and the man kindly gave us directions over the phone and he was very helpful, and we found it straight away because of that.
The employee on the check in desk was very kind and soon enough we were in our two rooms. The room was very clean and everything seemed to be of a good standard. Although, we went to turn the kettle on, and there isn't a socket which it can reach, so you have to move the whole tray which I think is a bit silly and they haven't really thought that one through.
The room included a modern TV (which you can set a wake up time on which was very useful as we used it as an alarm) a phone which you can call guests in other rooms and reception, a desk and chair, hangers and good beds with a choice of soft and firm pillows. The wifi is also a good extra touch which worked perfectly fine.
The bathroom was also clean and modern with a door which worked as a door for the bathroom, or just for the toilet. The shower was good and also they offer lots of toiletries and other things in case you have forgotten any.
Overall I slept ok, could hear knocking on other doors and the traffic is VERY noisy, but you are practically on the A2, and I didn't really expect much more for a such a good price of £40 a night.
Breakfast is included in the price, and was satisfactory. A choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt's, toast, pastries and sausage, scrambled egg, beans and hash browns. Tea, coffee and fruit juice is also available. The lack of bacon was a little disappointing not quite sure why they don't serve it. The chef also walks through a que of people. dumps more food in to the trays while chewing gum without talking to any customers which I think is a little rude. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu had a wide range of foods for a good price.
Overall I was happy with the stay and happy with the room, the staff are friendly and helpful and for an exceptional price you do receive a pleasant stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a family non smoking room, you don't have to be in a family to do so, it just means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyDerby524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $63 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing