We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but close to the road” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable but close to the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Pleasant staff on my arrival and the room was reasonably comfortable apart from one of the vents in the window was missing which I stuffed with tissue, In the morning I let the reception staff know and they said they would get it seen too.
As the hotel is close to the road there was a lot of road noise overnight I wonder how it would be in the summer if the windows were left open.An annoying yet small issue was where the kettle was positioned in the room there is no power point so I had to move it onto the desk.
Not a lot of choice for the evening meal but the meal was ok although the eating area could have had more subtle lighting,
Breakfast is the same as in other Holiday inns as its complimentary and I had too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments.We look forward to wecoming you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    292
    166
    50
    29
See reviews for
185
267
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very pleased we stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Canterbury. The hotel was warm and modern and situated about 10 minutes drive by car into the city centre. The complimentary breakfast was really pleasant. Help yourself style and refill if you felt the need. The only downside was the lack of a lift up to the bedrooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJLERhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted to TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Holiday inn Express Canterbury.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We used the hotel as a stop over the night before a visit to the University of Kent. I was surprised by the location as I had not expected it to be part of motorway services. We received a warm welcome from the staff on duty and our room was ready when we arrived. The room is practical, clean and had everything we needed. The noise from the motorway was noticeable but didn't disturb us during the night. The evening menu wasn't very inspiring and you have to look carefully at the choices available. Unless you are prepared to travel into the town you have a restricted choice. Breakfast was good with all of the usual options and it is complimentary!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickle085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments posted to TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Holidayinn Express Canterbury.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I work in local Indian restaurant Raj Venue, when my family came to visit Canterbury from London I stayed their with my partner and little boy. He liked the room. It is standard and clean. Comfortable accommodation and friendly service. When ever I called to intercom for any advice or service they helped me very gently. At the time of check out I spoke to the manager and staffs and had a very warmly good bye.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shams h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.We look forward to welcoming you back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for a 2 night break - the Holiday Inn Express (HIE) is located a couple of miles from Canterbury which takes 5-10 minutes to drive and the route is very direct on the A2. The return journey - due to the location of the HIE requires a 2.5 mile detour via the Dunkirk turning (just after an esso garage). The HIE is tucked behind a texaco garage and given it's location to the dual carriageway it is surprisingly quiet. Parking is free.

The HIE reception itself was always manned with polite and welcoming staff, there is a bar selling alcohol (and hot nuts) until midnight - as there are no pubs locally this was good and prices are reasonable. There is a vending machine in the lobby for those midnight hunger pangs along with free internet via PC/complimentary newspapers.

The room was reasonable size with the double and sofa bed and equipped as expected - towels/spare duvet/hairdryer, clean and towels changed daily. Complimentary toothpaste/razor/etc., are said to be available at reception if anything forgotten.

Breakfast served for good period of time (upto 10am at the weekend) with ample choice including cereals/pastries/yoghurts/juice/hot beverages/beans/scrambled egg and mini sausages - toaster is a bit ineffectual!

Room Tip: No lift - so may want to choose a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitesizebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments.we look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn express canterbury.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

my partner is disabled we booked a disabled room for the 26th to 28th of December 2012,the room was ok. The bathroom was not it did not have the none slip flooring it should have had on it,my partner fell and hurt her side. On conplaining we was told that as it was only a Holiday Inn Express and not a Holiday Inn Hotel there was nothing that could be done about it. Because we were paying for our stay with cash and not a card we had to pay a deposit of £40
I think expecting us to pay a deposit is wrong.
I think that if a Hotel offer's Disabled rooms then everythink should be to the right standard not only at selected one's very disapointed. my partner is still in a lot of pain. I DONT WONT ANY DISABLED PERSON TO STAY AT A HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS THEY ARE NOT SAFE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am truly disheartened about your experience in our hotel and I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
All our rooms are been provided with non slip floor mat according to our Brand standard. Also Shower mats are available on request. It’s our hotel policy that all customers leave a deposit by card or cash due to very bad experiences we have encountered in the past. I do apologize again if this has incontinence you. I assure you that this is not the level of service we strive to provide you with. I will certainly follow up with the appropriate departments to address this concern.
Thank you and I hope you will give us a chance to serve you better.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upper Harbledown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel itself was very good, clean, decent sized rooms, very nice breakfast. The location is less convenient, if you want to reach it coming from Canterbury or Dover, you have to drive to a next exit, and then come back...No fun when just popping out in the evening to a store or restaurant... But all in all very much value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments posted on trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming back to Holidayinn Express Canterbury.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing