We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed as a group of 4 (2 double rooms). We stayed on the ground floor and the rooms were particularly large. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided us an ironing board with no problem on request. Close enough to Canterbury. Taxi back ay night was £20, however this was at 3am!! Our room was also at the front of the hotel and we didn't hear any the noise from the A2. Overall rooms were clean and comfortable and exactly what you need for a short stay. Also a complimentary hot breakfast was welcomed the next day. I would recommend booking through travel republic. When trying to book through the hotel website the results came back that there were no double rooms available for our selected night. However we managed to book 2 double rooms through travel republic for £70 per room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments posted to TripAdvisor.
We look forwad to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    296
    173
    51
    30
See reviews for
187
272
23
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked 2 rooms (230 & 231) for one night in August 2012. The Hotel is quite new, rooms are well equipped and comfortable although there's an older style TV and the lack of air-con could be a problem in hot water although fans have been provided. The Hotel is approached via the Texaco filling station and is close to the very busy A2 dual carriageway but the double-glazing is very effective (if the windows are closed). Canterbury is only a few minutes drive away but if you approach the Hotel from the South then take the Dunkirk turn-off to get back onto the south-bound carriageway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate although the dining room was quite busy and if you suspect that there is a coach party in then ask at the desk, as we did, to check when they're coming down to breakfast so you can avoid them! In conclusion, at £58 per per room per night, including breakfast, I don't think that you can go far wrong.

Room Tip: Ring in advance to reserve a first floor rear facing "quiet" room. There are liquid soap d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments posted to TripAdvisor.
We look forwad to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Holiday inn express Canterbury gives you the expected quality stay. We stayed in a double room, which was clean and comfortable and was great for a good nights sleep. Very pleasant staff, and good location to Cantebury which is only approx 3/4 miles away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time taken to write to TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for just the one night with my grandma mum and dad, located 3 mile ish drive from centre of Canterbury. I would recommend to book a quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking the hotel garden as the front is the motorway, service and breakfast very nice and altogether very satisfactory

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to HolidayInn Express Canterbury.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Helpful and very friendly staff, very clean hotel rooms are good we stayed as a family of 4, great for Dover ferry as I drove from stoke on Trent and had an early ferry from Dover the next morning. Breakfast is good can't fault the hotel at all, due to an accident we were stuck for 4 hours as they closed the road, but over the phone the staff( in broken English) talked us into a back way and kept some food for us, As we arrived at 00:30 these little things go along way when u have small children and we would always come back here. Also great value for
Money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingitStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest,
I thank you for your feedback.
IWe look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pre-booked this hotel as we were arriving late back to the UK from Dover. Hotel is about 20 minute drive from the Docks and far better than some of the hotels that are closer.
Easy to get too, ample free parking, bedroom was large, modern and shower was great.
Breakfast was very busy but lots of staff on hand to keep things re-filled.
Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time taken to write to TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Although the hotel is a bit out from Canterbury - if you have a car this is not a problem (6 minute drive), it sits just off the main road into Canterbury and we heard no noise from the motorway. The room was spotlessly clean, it was quite warm but we had a fan in the room. The breakfast was all that you could ask for too set you up for the day. The restaurant is open for meals in the evening and although we didn't eat in, my sister-in-law did, and thoroughly recommended it. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Thanks for the much needed iron and ironing board!
Will stay again when back in Canterbury!

Helpful?
Thank AuntieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohitha A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time taken to write to TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Harbledown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Upper Harbledown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing