We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“call in for a warm welcome”
Review of Ashhurst Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ashhurst Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ashhurst
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“call in for a warm welcome”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Called in for the first time and found staff friendly. I thought Hotel interior was dated but the rooms were warm (cold winter day) and the food was good. No Pokie machines here which I thought was great. Would be an excellent pub if you were a local.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Fulfiling!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have lived in the Manawatu since 2000, but have only just discovered the Ashhurst Inn.
We have been twice in two months and will definately be going back again.

I found the food easy for fussy eaters (such as myself) and the menu is quite large!
The staff are really friendly and quick to assist. The atmosphere was good and the garlic bread was amazing! I personally like the fact that there are some half portion options.

The chocolate cake is amazing and the perfect ball of ice ceam is delicious.
Love love love!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, great food.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight here in a well appointed room. Clean with its own ensuite. Very comfortable for a short overnighter. Food was great, big portions and filling. Nice pub atmosphere. Would be happy to stay again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been here a number of times now and we are always impressed.

The schnitzel night on a Tuesday is well worth it, the meals are huge. We have also been there when there were big groups and they actually rushed through our order so we weren't waiting.

They have different things on each night of the week, including gold card Thursday for the seniors, great as I took my mum there who also loved it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meals, great place”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The meals at the Inn are fantastic - reasonably priced and large servings. Group of 9 of us all ordered different meals (Mussels, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wrap, Schnitzel, Lamb Chops, Pasta, Steak Sandwich, Chicken Sandwich, Brats & Mash) and couldn't fault any of them. Staff are friendly and restaurant and bar area very clean and welcoming. Four of us also stayed at the Inn and rooms were super-clean and comfortable (compact bedrooms but comfy bed, fresh crisp linen and lovely ensuites).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CecileNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashhurst Inn also viewed

Ashhurst, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ashhurst, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Woodville, Tararua District
Ashhurst, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Ashhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing