We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure at Cedar Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Lake Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My immediate and extended family, plus family friends, have stayed at Cedar Lake each year for over 20 years. It is the perfect place for families.

We go for walks each day around the grounds and up to Hinze Dam (which has a cafe serving great coffee) and the kids feed the ducks, go swimming, play pool and air hockey, ride bikes and horses, the list goes on. We catch up with the extended group for an afternoon tea or quiet drink - a lovely place to socialise without feeling we are in each others' pockets.

The self-contained units are simple but perfect for what we need. A fully equipped kitchen, comfortable furniture, foxtel for wet or lazy afternoons, fans in bedrooms, air con in the living space.

Cedar Lake has lost none of its charm. We love it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Cedar Lake Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi Suzie_Dr,

Your comments on our resort are fantastic. Thankyou! It is an amazing property that caters to those looking for a quite getaway but with enough activities to keep the kids occupied. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Check in very late close to midnight & easy to find room keys in their drop box outside the reception. Only set back was the road to the resort was dark as its really out of town. The rooms & set up is exactly like what they advertise. Parking going up the hill was quite dark but other than that its was good. There were 5 of us hence my son slept on the sofa bed with air con :) Rooms were provided with ceiling fans only but its ok because it was not summer. It be great if spray insecticide was provided as there were mosquitoes & saw a cockroach in the bathroom. We had morning walks & visited Hinze Dam. We cooked breakfast daily as we only come back late night. Managed to bake cookies for one night when we came back around 8ish pm. Place a bit run down & we didn't managed to use any of the facilities they provided as we are out daily.

Room Tip: Try to get unit by golf course as its closer to main road, reception, pool etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoo62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Cedar Lake Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our resort. I have passed your comments onto the relevant department as we always welcome feedback to help us improve our level of service to our guests. We do look forward to seeing you holiday with us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was not the first time my family has stayed at this resort and it will not be the last ,great value for money great service beautiful grounds ,lots to keep the kids entertained ,close to all the parks

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Cedar Lake Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Natalie
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments on Cedar Lake. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Christmas 2012. This is a great spot for almost anyone. Outside the door of your unit is open grassed landscape, you can go outside and walk for miles, around the lake and the bush. Ducks and other birds visit constantly. If you have children with you, then they are not restricted in a unit, they can freely go outside and run around. They can feed the birds outside the door and visit the horses not far away. MOST IMPORTANTLY.... as was the case with our granddaughter, Santa found her even though she was away from home. He was able to easily land the reindeer and sleigh on the long flat roof. We heard him clearly. Our Christmas tree was a sapling from the nearby bush, decorated with some decor we brought with us especially. We have a sparkling photo of our granddaughter beside our Christmas tree in the unit with the presents Santa delivered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Cedar Lake Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Terry,

Thank you so much for your comments on Cedar Lake Country Resort .

It truly is a special piece of the Gold Coast Hinterland as well as being very family friendly.

Pleased to hear that Santa had a good landing spot there!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again there soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January. Outstanding location to the theme parks and a peaceful place away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers. The grounds and units are immaculately maintained. We had a lakeside room, just a short stroll to the pool but felt like a million worlds away. Similar to other reviews our kids (aged 12, 11, 7) loved the pool, mini golf and games room.

Whilst we were going to the theme parks most days they were happy to stay here and let us unwind. Pay TV in the lounge is a winner as is the TV in the main bedroom.

The rooms are neat and modern with white furnishings.

The photos shown accurately display Cedar Lake. Whilst it may seem dated it is light bright and airy and no where near dated ad they've been refurbished.

Really all that's needed for a great time exploring the Gold Coadt and Hinterland is here. With the added bonus of excellent prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in November and was a perfect setting for our family.
The staff were friendly and our Kids lived in the pool each afternoon after a day at the theme parks. There are paddle boats to use on the lake. And the kids had a mountain bike each to use.
We used the BBQ s most nights. The Apartment was a good size for a family of five. Full Kitchen,clean comfortable and practical.
The wildlife around the resort was amazing with turtles in the lake and a chorus of birds to wake you in the morning.
You need a rental car as there is no public transport out in the hinterland, but Surfers Paradise and the Theme parks were only 20 mins away.
We could have quite happily spent another week here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

2 bedrooms apartment comes with cooking facilities. The rooms are clean.
The resort have facilites like paddle boating, swimming pool, games room, BBQ.
Distance to Coles Supermarket 10 minutes driving. To Surfer Paradise about 20 minustes. To airport is about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank POGOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advancetown
9.6 mi away
Tiki Village International Gold Coast
18.2 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
6.3 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Nerang Town & Country Motel
10.2 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort
7.1 mi away
Royal Woods Resort
Royal Woods Resort
#1 of 1 in Ashmore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lake Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lake Country Resort

Address: 555 Nerang Murwillumbah Rd, Advancetown, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Advancetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Advancetown
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Lake Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Gold Coast Hinterland Escape" Cedar Lake Country Resort offers the perfect holiday experience - from the peace and tranquillity of nature and native wildlife, to the action packed fun of the Gold Coast's major attractions. Cedar Lake Country Resort is situated on 89 Acres of bushland in the picturesque Gold Coast Hinterland, only 10 km from Nerang and 30 minutes from the excitement of Australia's holiday capital, Surfers Paradise. The resort offers spacious fully self contained two bedroom apartments. Relax by the pool, enjoy a BBQ in peaceful surrounds, indulge in the many activities and resort facilities on offer, including: horse riding (*additional charges apply), tennis, mini golf, canoes, bar & bistro, games room, bushwalking and so much more! We highly recommend that guests have access to a car, this is essential to enjoy the area and your holiday at Cedar Lake Country Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Lake Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lake Country Resort Australia/Advancetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing