We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok.....not stay again though”
Review of Club Simena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Simena
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karsiyaka
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok.....not stay again though”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Always have to be careful about writing a negative report as people do complain for complaining sake at times. Read other reviews on here and did expect much better tbh.
The room was adequate with a poor shower but rather impressively cleaned every day.Also as half boarders the food was ok plentiful and nutritious especially the salads-however the breakfast was identical every single day eg melon was the only fruit in a fortnight. One did feel after a week of repition bored with the food.
Furthermore the first week of our stay there was a general lack of cleanliness around the restaurant with tables not been cleaned all day and plates and glasses round the pool not cleared for days. The second week was much improved however.
Apparently Club Simena is the oldest accomodation in north Cyprus and it did show to be fair. Fridges in rooms were dirty and there was a dated feel to the accomodation. We asked for smelly bins to be shut twice and a dirty mattress sat outside our daughters room for 8 nights despite requesting it be moved twice.
The pool area was generally pretty clean the pool big enough for a good swim but please note the slides are turned off for a couple of hours mid afternoon and at 5pm so are only on for approx 3 hours a day.
The location is quite a way out of Girne(Kyrenia) which necessitates car hire the dolmus(bus) stops outside too.
In essence Club Simena is ok most staff are helpful and the food is good but limited. Talking to other guests most had problems witnh A/C and plumbing issues-one mature couple been moved 4 times.
General consensus is the hotel is adequate with limitations inc. location what lets it down is the number of guests and its dated features.
Swcond week there was 3 loud weddings back to back fri sat and sun.Preparations began 4 pm ish and we felt pushed out for staff to prepare.The music was loud fair enough one or even two but 3 nights back to back was offside imo.
Finally the golf course it advertised had no balls when we asked for one we were told we should have brought our own! The pool table was broke and showed no signs of been repaired the Table tennis had bats but again no Ping pong balls and the table football you guessed was broke..it felt like Butlins in the sun!
Anyway would i stop again? Probably not.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LeedsDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    46
    38
    23
    23
See reviews for
77
77
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived late on Saturday evening to be greeted by an awful karaoke, I had read reviews that mentioned the "Hillbilly" invasions on the karaoke nights and thought that there would we ways to avoid the noise. Unfortunately at Club Simena there is not really anywhere to escape to in the evening, so we had to grin and bear it. During the next six nights there were THREE more karaoke nights, plus an Elvis tribute and also a guitarist (who started off quietly and then raised the volume). Our spacious two storied apartment was a stones throw from the terrace where the enforced entertainment went on and so peace did not reign. Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed Club Simena, the pool was superb,the air con was free, the staff were really friendly and the food was more than adequate (not a great culinary experience, but as it was copmplimentary it was appreciated).
Club Simena is situated at the western end of "sunset strip" which stretches out from Kyrenia. Beyond Club Simena to the left is mainly unspoilt Cyprus. To make the most of this situation a hire car is a must, we paid £20 a day for a Ford Focus which enabled us to do a lot of exploring and walking in the "wild west". The hire car also enabled us to escape on Karaoke nights! We found a couple of good restaurants near to Club Simena which served excellent Meze meals, these places were not walkable in the evening though..so a car is a must. Having said that the dolmus drivers were most accomodating, often waiting at the end of side roads for people coming up from the beach.
The second week at Club Simena was much quieter since the number of guests had reduced somewhat. Not surprisingly the management supplemented their income by holding Turkish weddings pool side on two evenings. The band was situated nearer to our room than the karaoke, but this was music for a purpose and was tuneful! The wife thoroughly enjoyed the weddings, I sank a few beers (Efes at £1.60) not real ale but wet and cold. The other highlight of the second week was a school party (80 15 year olds)that used the facilities for a crash revision sessions for forthcoming tests. Working all day and most of the evening in the restaurant area, we hardly noticed them during the day.....but we did after midnight!
Club Simena was outstanding value for the money, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay (despite Barry and Lynn's free entertainment). The walking that we did was interesting on the lower slopes of the mountains and round reservoirs in the west. We had to give up on the walking though as the midday temperatures made walking unpleasant, but it made the beer taste good.
I cannot imagine what Clu Simena is like when parties of 70 take over in the summer months, even more karaokes I should imagine!!
We will return to North Cyprus again,there are lots of places to explore St Hilarion Castle,Bellapais and Famagusta to name a few. You never get the feeling of being ripped off and certainly great value for the money

Room Tip: Furthest from the restaurant terrace are the quies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rwgansley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Had a lovely week here and even considering moving to the area. Early season so the hotel was very quiet so easy to enjoy the fabulous pool area and water slides, plenty of beds and space.
Food was nice but limited choice of hot food, usual goood choice of Cypriot starters.
We will almost certainly return next year with more of the family.

Room Tip: All rooms very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edsveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

First of all dont expect luxury because you will not be happy.
This hotel is located not far from sempati hotel, which is beyond lapta going away from kyrenia. Its perfect to use as a base if you have a car. Otherwise I wouldnt stay here. The turkish breakfast offerred here was buffet style and pretty good compared to other hotels in north cyprus where we have stayed. The price here outside the peak season with companies like alpharooms is a very good price comparatively. ie about £12pp per night based on double or triple occupancy. the rooms are basic but good with powerful hot water and tv etc. theres also a good pool area and free parking. i would stay here again mainly for the value for money- its perfect as a base for travelling around lapta/kyrenia/buffavento/kape kormakatis etc etc
i would say think of a slightly run down 3 star place with quite good food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This will be our third year staying at club simena as a large group, each year our group gets bigger last year there was 70 of us this year i think there will be 100 of us enjoying the beautiful surroundings of the hotel. The staff from the moment we arrive cannot do enough for us and have become friends, if there is any problems at all it is resolved straight away. The children and adults with us all love the new slides and the pool bar is well used by all. The bungalows are cleaned everyday and have all you need in them, and everyday the gardener is out working hard maintaining the lovely gardens and you often get given a rose with a smile from him. The dolmas stops outside and will stop and drop you off along the road near the beach or take you to town its so easy. We cant wait to come back see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gill96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed at club Simena for 1 week.Neither my wife or myself saw any problems with cats over and above the usual for the Med.Food was very good with a variety of starters.Main meal varied and excellent.Staff were first class this includes cleaners etc, I have always taken what brochures have to say with a pinch of salt, sometimes quite a big one.But everything I saw at Simena was well above average.My only gripe about North Cyprus is the amount of filthy rubbish strewn about off the beaten track.The so called beach 1 kilo from Simena is to be avoided like the plague. But then so are most N,Cyprus beaches.I have scored my holiday full marks because we made our holiday what we wanted.By the way the people of N/Cyprus are way more friendly than the French and mainland Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Advertises a gym, sauna,pool table,kitchens in bungalows, courtesy bus,mini golf etc, dont be fooled, no gym,no sauna,no cues ,.balls,only a kettle in our room,no courtesy bus,mini golf flooded and grown over.Aircon kept blowing hot air when you could get it to work,same food over and over again and left going dry with flies,cats all over at meal times actually being allowed to eat from plates that should have been cleared,if you turned your back cats would steal your food.Staff were polite and attentive though and tried their best.Complained to Cyprus Premier Holidays who took 90 days to even action it after numerous calls and emails,offered 10% reduction on a further booking!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PENNYROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karsiyaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karsiyaka
1.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
233 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Simena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Simena

Property: Club Simena
Address: Kyrenia Mersin 10, Karsiyaka, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Karsiyaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karsiyaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Simena 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Simena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Simena Hotel Karsiyaka
Simena Hotel Kyrenia
Club Simena Cyprus/Karsiyaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing