We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of two dining experiences”
Review of Hotel am Wald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel am Wald
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is situated just off a main road and whilst the road is quite noisy, the rooms are of a reasonable standard. On the first evening I chose to eat in the hotel and was able to pick a table slightly away from the main dining area, which is quiet bright. The food was excellent - the Argentinian steak cooked to perfection. Altogether a very good dining experience.

I decided to dine again at the hotel given my previous experience, but this time had to contend with the Head Waiter who would not let me dine in the same area as the day before, despite three tables being free (of five in total). I was told the hotel had 75 people staying in it and I would need to dine in the main dining area - either on a table for two or a table for four. This made no logical sense to me as it is not possible to reserve a table. This area is very bright, next to the bar and in my view wholly unsuitable for individual diners - think 'Billy no mates' in the spotlight and you will get my drift. Whether I had upset him by asking for a more secluded spot or not, I have no idea but the Head Waiter 'plonked' my salad between my knife and fork (saying nothing) in a Basil Faultyesque manner to only highlight his rather brusque demeanour. The Cordon Bleu was as dry as a bone. It also transpired that during my 90 minute dining experience the restaurant ended up less than half full thus I could easily of have dined where I wanted. The other staff members were very pleasant and attentive.

I will not return, although that's a shame as the steak really was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Am Wald for 1 week on business, and I must say that I was very surprised at how excellent the restaurant is. The rooms are basic, yet clean and comfortable. The beds are great. The staff is very helpful and friendly. All speak very good english, so communication should not be a problem if you are an english speaker. the breakfast (included) was very good and plentyful. The food was fresh and well prepared. Overall a great experience! Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRIKANESSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had a good stay there. The hotel located a bit outside of the town but have a very nice atmosphere. There are possibilitiy to go jogging in the area. Unfortunatelly wi-fi is not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend to explore Cologne and Dusseldorf, looked it up following the link from the Claudius spa, got a very good deal (105 euros for a 2-night weekend for two, inluded brekkie and dinner!). Noted from Google Maps that the place is in a semi-industrial area in spite of the name, but who cares if you're here to see the sights of two of Germany's more exciting cities... Arrived by car, were very warmly welcomed by the boss lady of the house herself, got a functional but nice clean double room, and enjoyed dinner... Breakfast on both mornings was ample and served very friendly; and dinner on the second night meant some of the best-prepared steaks we ever tasted (and over the years of traveling we had a lot!)... do ask for the Argentian Angus filet if you have the chance. Service (by Zeljko) was truly great too, as were the wines (these were not included in the package). We agreed to definitely keep this place in our database for a future visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

On an industrial/commercial park, busy main road to one side. Passes the OK test but just. Room basic (clean) but no frills, no safe, no tea/coffee making, no trouser press or iron, basic bed, poor pillows, small desk, low power lighting, bathroom just OK. Bar fine, dinner OK, breakfast fine, in a low energy dimly-lit dining room. For balance, this is an aggressively priced hotel which makes it good value, if you're happy with the above shortcomings. I won't rush back - it isn't memorable.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel seems to be on the outskirts of Monheim. Stayed in a modern wing of the hotel - rooms are basic rather than luxurious, but very clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Relaxed, informal restaurant in the older part of the hotel with great food in the evening. Breakfast was also good, the selection and quality better than a lot of more expensive hotels. Hotel also has a very efficient shuttle bus service for local airports.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorToxic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just stayed here for 4 nights and found the staff simply wonderful. They are friendly and make you feel right at home. This is a 3 star hotel, however, so there are no frills in the rooms. I stayed in the original wing of the hotel, which was nice and quiet but the rooms had not been renovated. Ask to be in the new section but facing the courtyard instead of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section but a room facing the courtyard, not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monheim am Rhein
1.3 mi away
ACHAT Comfort Koln/Monheim
ACHAT Comfort Koln/Monheim
#1 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baumberger Rheinterrassen
Baumberger Rheinterrassen
#4 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
12 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Gravenberg
Hotel Gravenberg
#1 of 10 in Langenfeld
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Haus Sonnenschein Hotel Garni
Haus Sonnenschein Hotel Garni
#3 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
6 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Friedestrom
Hotel Schloss Friedestrom
#1 of 12 in Dormagen
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#3 of 10 in Langenfeld
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Wald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Wald

Address: An der Alten Ziegelei 4, 40789 Monheim am Rhein, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Monheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monheim am Rhein
Price Range: $110 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Wald 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel am Wald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing