We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coochie Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coochiemudlo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coochie Island Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else. Horrible place with even worse staff. No one to greet us at check in. Restaurant wasn't open while we were there because they didn't feel like it even though the opening hours clearly state 10am till late mon-sun. Filthy rooms. I wasn't expecting luxury but I do expect clean sheets at ANY accommodation regardless of star rating. Even the old musty spare blanket in the cupboard had hair all over it. I will never stay here again, I don't know how they are still in business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Anonymous1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    76
    38
    23
    38
See reviews for
35
134
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have just come back from this so called resort what a joke.This break was for my birthday and
our anniversary,you can imagine our shock when we walk inside to find something from out of the
sixty's.Our bed was so rotten that the fabric had all broken down even my husband didn't want to
sleep in it,I have seen better in third world country's shame on the people running this place you
are not good ambassadors for your beautiful Island.People on the Island were shown photos of
our bed their comments were quite amusing to say the least,one man said he wouldn't let his dog
sleep on that BED.The ground are nice

Room Tip: If you don't mind old choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cheryl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We always recommend our guests bring their smile with them. The resort and island have peaceful surroundings and the focus should not be on a bed but the whole experience. We provide the setting and hospitality, ultimately it is up to the individual to be happy or miserable during their stay. The blue waters of Moreton Bay , the green forests and many species of bird including the popular Curlew which roams around our gardens. This particular room is very popular with many of our repeat guests as it is fully self catering and has a lovely aspect over the ferns. Some have mentioned it is the best nights sleep they have had in a long time. All beds are fitted with a mattress cover ,a mattress protection cover and a fitted white sheet. It would take a lot of trouble and effort to unpeel the professionally fitted beds and remake. There are much better things to do surely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coochiemudlo Island hotels

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was a bit worried after reading some reviews, but I think as long as you are not expecting 5 star luxury, you will have a great time here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and there was plenty of space. The decor and tv are not up to date, but we didn't care, for the price it was lovely. The location is great, on the 'main strip' of Coochie. The island itself has some nice walks, and it was great to get away for a weekend without having to travel too far. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, the only downside is that service was a bit slow (there was a birthday party on so I think they had a lot more people than usual to look after). The welcome bottle of wine was fine, and the staff were more than willing to switch the bottle of red for a white. I would be more than happy to go back to this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison7123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading such disappointing reviews for this place I wasnt expecting a whole lot for my stay. I had a deal online which was amazing value! Me and my partner stayed one night and was delighted for the amazing service we received. Our deal included a bottle of wine (red) and welcome chocolates. They even swapped our red wine for a bottle of white. Yes the rooms where old fashioned. But they were also very spacious. We booked to eat dinner at there restaurant. We got a free cocktail on arrival and the meal was reasonably priced. (what you would pay for a pub meal) though much fancier. IT WAS AMAZING. I would almost just go back for the food. If you are after 5 star this isn't for you. I had an amazing time and would love to go back in summer when it is a bit warmer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel-Tash88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

What is all the fuss about, this place doesn't profess to be 5 star. What it is, is a hidden gem. So it is a bit dated, but the bed linen was crisp and clean and the towels were big and fluffy. We weren't there to sit and look at the walls! We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, the staff were attentive, we had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank draculas_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Cant think of many good things to write, but can think of lots of crappy features.

Very old resort, dark brick walls, can make you feel disgusted depending on how you feel about living in the 70s-80s. Box TV that doesn't even work, aircon sometimes work sometimes doesn't, pipe makes a huge elephant sound when turning hot water on, microwave doesn't open properly, fridge doesn't even do its job, it probably only provides temperature at about 15 degrees or so. No bowls provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was here for NYE 2012 with some friends and it was so good we are planning to return this year! Not a five star hotel, but they don't claim to be. I'm currently traveling around the world for a year and when people ask me about my favourite places back home Coochie Island is now on the list.
Great place to bring your family, nice beaches and good BBQ facilities. The resort's pool was great and had a good chill out area.
I'm not sure about the expectations the people had who left negative reviews but I will return for sure!

Room Tip: Our room was closest to the beach and had a great breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottjfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coochiemudlo Island
16.0 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#34 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
11.4 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cleveland Motor Inn
Cleveland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
#1 of 2 in Macleay Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coochie Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coochie Island Resort

Property: Coochie Island Resort
Address: 10-16 Dawn St, Coochiemudlo Island, Redland City, Queensland 4184, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Coochiemudlo Island
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coochiemudlo Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Coochie Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing