We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 80's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coochiemudlo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coochie Island Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back to the 80's”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This experience is like going back to the 80’s with plastic cutlery & cereal, bread in plastic bags, plastic containers of fruit all in a plastic ice bucket, one steel teaspoon in the drawer, brick walls with no decorations, an outlook onto the “Resort’s” washing or to the yard with a garden shed & a duck enclosure. Screen door wouldn't lock & TV was analogue with some interesting static.Floors needed sweeping, dust everywhere.
Not to mention the management whom we had to negotiate with for the terms of the voucher!
We eventually received our promised bottle of wine! The dinner we had was very good quality but we were amused at the slushy machine that delivered either a red or green "complimentary cocktail" depending on which button you pressed.
Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PETER E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We are bemused, this sounds like an introductory deal we did about 8 months ago and are not sure why this guest would bring any issues to our attention nearly a year later.The complimentary basket contained cereals,fruits,yoghurt,bread for toast,jam,vegemite,butter,tea,coffee,sugar,a bottle of wine,glasses(not all of these items were in the photo shown by the guest)The basket was designed as low maintenance that is once used,everything can be thrown away with minimum fuss and no washing up!)
The tv has a remote control digital set top box with instructions. If the guest was having trouble working it out(it really is simple and has a beautiful clear picture with lots of channels) he just had to ask at reception and we could have shown him the procedure. The guest has a lovely view of the garden and the pool from their rooms to the front living areas.The rear of that bedroom has new established gardens which offer privacy from that direction also.We offered complimentary cocktails in that deal which were a choice of Margarita or Strawberry Daiquiri. We now offer guests a special pre dinner hour with a large range of cocktails now available at special prices with a range of Platters which our guests are really enjoying by the pool or on the deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    76
    39
    23
    38
See reviews for
35
135
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bribane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found the service very good, the food from the restaurant was great,we enjoyed our complimentary pre dinner cocktails and our complimentary bottle of wine. (We also had a coupon) The tv didn't bother us too much , as we were there to get away from all that anyway.We enjoyed the peace and serenity of the place, we would do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpjz2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Well done John and Pauline, we are always happy to share our little peace of paradise with like minded folk. Cliff and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have read a lot of negative reviews which is quite sad, coochie is a beautiful island with a relaxed and serene vibe. We came to get away from work and the kids for a couple of nights, well, mission accomplished! Yes, the tv's are old but if you want to watch television you are coming to the wrong place. It has a great beachy feel and people here are really friendly and helpful. The food at Aloha is quite expensive but well worth every dollar, absolutely delicious :) we can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsyn1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The service was terrible. We went to it on a deal which included a free upgrade but they locked the second bedroom and wouldn't even let us use the towels. No flat screen tvs and the old analogue tv looked like it was from the 1980s, like all the furtniture in the room and it only had one channel.
Our deal came with a bottle of wine and two chocolates, the chocolates were literally two roses chocolates and the wine was a red and nasty red.
The staff were disorganized and clueless. In the restaurant it advertised cheese platters and cocktails during happy hour. No such cheese platters existed and when I queried why they would put this on the sign and not provide it, they looked at me strangely.
Far far far beyond dissatisfied with this accomodation. We checked out after 90 mins.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nerilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are not really clear on what this recent guest is trying to say regarding service as it has not been explained what the particular is.The package they chose is for a one bedroom for 2 persons with an upgrade to the second bedroom of $50 which wasn't asked for or paid. If the guest had wanted the second bedroom all they had to do was ask at reception or preferably at the time of booking.One towel is supplied per person (only 2 here as far as we know as per booking details)The tv has a set top box which allows access to digital.If the guest could not understand the operating instructions supplied again all they had to do was ask we are happy to go to the room and assist.The wine is a selected Cabernet Merlot . We have not had any other complaints perhaps these people are not wine drinkers, we could have arranged an alternative if made aware by the guest.The chocolates are complimentary "Ferrer Roche" very exquisite and compliment the wine.The cheese board platter is Mediterranean style and off the menu, cant really be changed to taste.This is not the Hilton just a quiet laidback getaway which many busy people appreciate without the airs and graces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coochiemudlo Island hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As stated by many.. the resort is outdated. TV is small and no reception. Our coupon or voucher offer was to included complimentary pre dinner cocktails. Pointless offer, as the restaurant was closed while we were there. Also complimentary wine and chocolates on arrival, however while we did have a bottle of wine in the room, there was no chocolates. Other guests staying at the same time had the same complaint.
It was clean and bed comfortable. Getting fed is a problem, as the poolside bar and restaurant is rarely open. The pamphlet states fully self contained apartments however we did not have a stove, cook top, oven (except microwave) no electric frypan or saucepans. While the website states "all equipped with fridge, toaster, kettle, microwave, crockery, cutlery etc." "Etc" is very, very few things and guests can only cater for themselves cereal in a bowl, a cup of tea and a piece of toast. Kiosk nearby was closed at 5:00pm on Monday so we were lucky we had pre-ordered pizza earlier in the day or we would have had to starve or go to the mainland. I don’t know how a family would manage meals here. Noodles I guess. The kayaks, aqua cycles etc to hire are only on available on weekends, public holidays and school holidays. Cars are parked in a car park next door out in full sun, while there is a 10 car carport on the resort grounds that is not used !! It was lovely and quiet on the island but more information for the island itself is needed. Where food is available and when would be nice. We didn’t know the kiosk was closing at 5:00 on Monday and maybe on other days.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Don’t think one could advise on a good room except maybe the guest house ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

the rooms are a bit dated but the bed was comfortable and we had all we needed, we were a 5 minute walk to the beach and caught a few fish from the beach and jetty, the food was delish and good value, the lunch time bbq burger was amazing, had a lovely relaxing time and would do it again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed twice at the resort and both times we didn't want to leave! That says it all :0) My partner and I stayed with our four year old who loved the whole island experience. The journey over was easy, friendly and fun. We took the car which was a good move with a little one, and it meant we could explore the island with ease and also have all the gear we needed. The resort deal was fantastic value. The rooms were spacious and clean and had everything needed for comfort. I liked the rustic feel of the brickwork which keeps the room cooler in the heat. The resort allows a real island getaway from it all feel and encourages relaxation even with an active little boy!! The pool is lovely and obviously well maintained. For a child not too confident in the water it is perfect as it has a large stepped area where they can feel safe. The resort is well designed and so convenient for the facilities and beach. Last year when we visited I just loved being able to have a relaxing coffee overlooking the pool- heaven!! We're lucky to have a place like this that is affordable for our family, particularly in this economic climate where businesses are all facing considerable rising costs and difficulties.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adeledillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again , thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coochiemudlo Island
0.3 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
18 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bay Air Motel
Bay Air Motel
#1 of 3 in Cleveland
114 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
#1 of 2 in Macleay Island
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cleveland Motor Inn
Cleveland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Cleveland
73 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coochie Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coochie Island Resort

Property: Coochie Island Resort
Address: 10-16 Dawn St, Coochiemudlo Island, Redland City, Queensland 4184, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Coochiemudlo Island
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coochiemudlo Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Coochie Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing