We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not be called a resort when it is a less than basic motel room with a restaurant that wasn't open on an island with one t”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coochie Island Resort
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We thought we had an apartment we had a basic room with no facilities. The smallest tv with no remote in a room with 2 chairs nowhere to be comfortable. Bed was clean and reasonable. It's old an clean. Biggest problem is there is nowhere to get any food the restaurant was closed Sunday Monday and Tuesday that would be ok if we knew in advance too late when you have tea elled to an island with a less than adequate corner store that specialises in deep fry only. You could get the ferry back to land for a meal but that defeats the purpose. In short no service and no care factor. Nice people live there and it could be such a good getaway however you pay for a resort and that's not what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moniemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 231 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went there for New Years last year, and although we were a bit hesitant after reading some reviews, we were glad we went there! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The apartment we stayed in was quite spacious and only a few hundred meters away from the main beach! It was a very relaxing environment!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Me_shayshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We look forward to seeing you again , thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights at the resort (with a voucher). We had a wonderful, relaxing break, and a beautiful lunch and dinner at the resort. The musician in the restauraunt on Friday night was brilliant! The cleaners and wait staff were friendly and helpful.
The grounds are beautiful and the location is excellent for a quiet holiday.
The decor and furniture in the units is dated - especially considering the "normal" accomodation costs. The bar fridge was extremely small and only just kept food cool.
The bar and restauraunt were closed all day on Thursday and we saw at least a dozen dissapointed guests/visitors who had intended dining or at least having a drink.
The pool area is very nice but really lacks some sun lounges. The water was clean of debri but was not 'sparkling' clean as I would normally expect in a resort of this type.
For a very small outlay they could paint the tiles in the units (the kitchen had been done in white tile paint which dramatically improved the look); purchase a comfortable lounge suite for each unit; provide a larger fridge and an electric frypan in the poolside units as well as a few more utensils like a sharp knife, microwave dishes, bread board and rubbish bin; ensure dining facilities are available when they say they will be (it is only a 10 minute ferry trip to the mainland to restock); a couple of sun lounges around the pool and more attention to water quality; better TV reception would be nice but there is lots of other things to do if the weather is fine.
With a small outlay by each owner and some attention to detail by the management it would be a excellent holiday destination and they would not have to rely on "voucher" deals.
We own a unit in a similar resort and are obliged to maintain certain standards, update furniture as necessary etc. in order for the agent to let the unit so surely the same could apply here?
We will certinly go back, with our grandchildren next time. I hope they start to make some minor improvements to the resort because it is such a beautiful destination and really has a lot of potential to be a very popular family holiday destiation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Huntes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I went to this resort for a 2 night get away mid-December. The ferry ride was nice, and the resort was a quick 5 minute walk away. When we arrived,the office was locked, but luckily people were in there to book us in. They were friendly enough and got us settled quick. Unfortunately once you walk in the room, you know it's going to be a fairly dull stay. The lounge furniture was probably 15-20 years old, and the tv not much better. The fridge was tiny, and took almost the entire first night to get our groceries cold. The tv only had a few stations which were completely unwatchable, so take a computer/iPad like we did to stay entertained through the day/night. The bed was OK. Bathroom again was dated, and water flow was useless. The pool was dirty, but the grounds well maintained (although the stench of blood and bone in the gardens outside the room wasn't a nice touch). Nothing in the resort was open through the week, and the lunch voucher we were given as part of our deal pointless, as lunch was 2 hours past our Saturday check out... Dinner was delicious though on the Friday, and same price as on mainland.

Highlights included lovely nature walks, friendly locals and the local take away store, although ridiculously overpriced, was delicious and have everything needed to get by.

Tips to guests, bring booze, lots of it to pass the time, lots of sunscreen, as above some form of laptop to watch a movie or books if you prefer and good walking shoes.

Tips to the resort would be to invest in digital set top boxes or new tv's, update furniture (even if its fantastic or ikea) and new fridges. If advertising the accommodation, resorting to lies about the quality isn't necessary just say its cheap but relaxing. Advertise the opening hours of all facilities, and advising that through the week is basically closed would be refreshingly honest and help the reviews.

Room Tip: Everything looks the same, just be aware of what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CoollyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Resort 2 nights thru the week & had a Voucher. We knew that the Island was going to be Quiet & secluded. We checked in just after 2pm & the young girl behind the desk wasn`t all that friendly. We were told where to go & were given the keys to our apartment. The apartment is older style (could be modenised) very clean & it was bigger than we thought. The continental Breakfast for 2 mornings for 2 people was 4 packets of Cornflakes,4 slices of white bread, 4 butter, 4 spreads,4 small containers of fruit, coffee, tea, sugar & longlife milk in the bar fridge. We had to ask for more sugar & we also bought some more milk for our cereal. Be warned that the water tastes terrible even after boiling it. Maybe the whole Island has a problem with the water.The TV was old with no remote control so we had to go & ask for remote. The reception is bad & only a couple of channels.I would suggest to the owners to maybe purchase new digital TV`s at least. I know you don`t go their to watch TV all the time BUT it is nice to know that there is a good TV available if necessary. Their is no Internet connection only if you have 3G so we were told by the young Girl. The bed was hard for us. The air con in the bedroom worked well. I saw a couple of cockroaches thru the night when I got up. As we all know they do start to come out in the hot weather where ever you live so maybe the rooms are due for pest spraying (just suggesting for future guests). As I said the Apartment was very clean give credit to the cleaners! The Gardens are kept well & are very nice & also the Pool & Bar area was nice. We were lucky in a way because it was very Quiet for our 2 night stay as I think we just about had the whole Resort to ourselves...:) The first night we booked into the Restaurant for Dinner & then was told a few hours later that the Chef would not be coming in tonight (sorry about that) so luckily for us we went down to the only shop that is on the Island & ordered Fish & Chips for Dinner that night & sat by the beach & watched the Sunset which was lovely! Also our scond night there the Chef was not there again so we went down to the Kiosk & ordered Burgers & sat down the beach again & watched the Sunset. Because we didn`t get to have any Dinners in the Restaurant we missed out on our 2 Free Cocktails because you only get them if you eat Dinner at the Restaurant. We did have lunch at the Restaurant on one of the days & all we were offered was a Beef Pie each & a small salad each on our plate. We also ordered a coke with ice each. That lunch deal with the Voucher was 2 for 1 deal which cost us $19.00.The pie & salad was fine for us as we were hungry. The Owners seemed quite friendly & told us that the Resort was booked out for the coming weekend which was good for them! We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights & loved Coochiemudlo Island. If we go back it will probably only be for a day trip & not stay overnight as we live in Brisbane & it is close by for us. I hope I have covered most things on this review for others to read & decide if it`s what they are after for a short Getaway.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 & was right opposite the Pool which was fine for us.Also the Pool closes at 6p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FUNBrisbaneQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

OMG .... how absolutely refreshing to find such a place so close to Brisbane that's easily accessible and affordable. I have taken advantage of several scoopon deals and always taken my two children with me and absolutely we all have loved our stay. As soon as you set foot onto the Island it's as if time slows down and everyone there are so relaxed, the people are friendly and genuine. Families walk the streets ( yes on the road not the footpath, as there are so few vehicles being driven, and if so at very low speed), the resort staff as very helpful and whilst the reception can sometimes be found unattended, you never have to wait more then a minute of two as the owners are always back and forth attending to guests, they are very hands on and this is part on the whole charm of staying in such a relaxed little getaway. The gardens are beautiful and both my children loved the pool and beach basketball area. The food is very nice 'yummy' was often used at our dinner table when discribing each others meals and fairly priced.

The rooms are 'dated' but nice and clean and spacious. We have stayed several times now in different rooms and the beds provide a good night sleep, better then some higher priced main land options we have experienced. I don't mind if the tiles are 30yrs old as long as they are clean, and the rooms are kept in a very clean condition. (Plus I like the older 'home' feel...takes me back, and adds to our fondness of the whole experience). If you like staying at 'The Ritz' there are 'dime a dozen' ivory towers to take your money for your generic clinical experiences. I would encourage those wanting to remember how good life 'use to be' in a more simple, uncomplex world, where it feels time almost stands still and the noise of modern day life almost dissapears, to give this a definate try, it's refreashingly unique ! Thumbs up you guys, you have helped create fond momories of weekend holidays on Coochie Mudlow that will last a lifetime in my children's memories :) Thankyou so much, The Hurley Family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HurleyTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We thank you from the bottom of our hearts, your emotive words are exactly what we are trying to describe to the world. All are welcome to enjoy our little piece of Paradise.
Bring your Smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Resort looks ok from outside when you approach, but the rooms are very small when you walk in and very outdated. We took this on a voucher for a special offer. We wished we had saved our money. Back to review. The beds were by far the biggest problem, very old, mattress was falling apart and alive with Silverfish. Im sure they had come from the rubbish tip. The rest of the place was not too bad, but we will never recommend it. There were no sun lounges to lay on around pool, the evening meals was fair but expensive in my book. The free drinks had no taste of alcohol just super sweet Strawberry syryp, yuk. and $12.50 if you paid for them. The managers didnt seemed to be very friendly but the cleaning staff were fantastic. There is a pole out near the parking area that is steel, holding up a electrical wire with no proper insulating materials and could be a hazard should you grab hold. More likely to die from electric shock. Will be reporting this to local Council. Nothing to do on the Island exept fishing or a hit of golf. apart from that, go somewhere else. Trust me. I have been many places around the world, never have iI slept on bedding so bad it was not even fit for the dead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coochieresort, Manager at Coochie Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your review,apartment 8 overlooks the pool and gardens with a Queen bed in the bedroom and light and airy kitchen and living areas.many well travelled guests are surprised that the room is larger than they expect based on other rooms thay have stayed in around the world. There is a tear in the mattress as per photo, but no silverfish was found.. But the biggest issue for us is that our cleaning staff had to deal with faeces stains found on the bed linen after these guests vacated.Evidently that is why the bed was pulled apart. The bed was made just half an hour prior to these guests entering the room, we can only presume the guests brought the silverfish with them in their luggage, we suggest they check.The cocktails were complimentary and are Strawberry Daiqueries with Strawberry Vok and Bacardi garnished with strawberry in a chilled glass.The island is a peaceful haven with none of the mainland hustle and bustle and distractions of everyday life.The resort resembles the island with natural beauty and wildlife abounds - a place to relax and unwind just like life used to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coochiemudlo Island
8.1 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
19 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bay Air Motel
Bay Air Motel
#1 of 3 in Cleveland
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cleveland Motor Inn
Cleveland Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Cleveland
76 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Alexandra Hills Hotel
The Alexandra Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alexandra Hills
34 reviews
15.5 mi away
Anchorage on Straddie Beachfront Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coochie Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coochie Island Resort

Address: 10-16 Dawn St, Coochiemudlo Island, Redland City, Queensland 4184, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Coochiemudlo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coochiemudlo Island
Price Range: $98 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coochie Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing