We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and quirky, a bit like camping”
Review of Quirky Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coochiemudlo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quirky Cottages
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and quirky, a bit like camping”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

There are a few different chalets at Quirky Cottages, I stayed at a 2-storey house called Beach Shellay. All the chalets are themed differently and quirky, as promised!
This is a good place for a big group - like families with lots of kids or girly getaway. Pets are also welcome. All the amenities are there - kitchen has cooking equipment and utensils, lots of plates, cups and cutlery, bbq outside, and plenty of room to run around and make noise. After you book your accommodation, the owner Hayley sends a list of things you should bring - heed her advice! For example, toilet paper becomes REALLY IMPORTANT if you don't have it.
We took the barge ($6 return per person) - you don't need a car since the island is so small that you can walk the entire length in a few hours - but if you're bringing lots of stuff and have five people going, just pay a little more ($50) to bring the car over. There's really nothing much to see or do except drink (BYO), talk (catch up on gossip), and eat (we enjoyed getting together in the kitchen - every meal was an event!).
It's fun and quirky, a bit like camping. Overall, it's a good value place to chill out and enjoy company of friends and loved ones, especially spending it with people you are comfortable with or want to get to know better. It will be hell for people who need technology (poor reception) or fastidious about hygiene (it's very 'lived in' and sandy everywhere) or scared of nature (lots of insects around and there was even a frog hopping around indoors).

Room Tip: Speak to the owner about your needs and she will advise you what she has available. Beach Shellay ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalgoorlie Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My two girlfriends and I stayed here for two nights. We wanted a girly weekend away, doing something a little different, and this was the perfect venue! We stayed in the Cow House and Cowy it definitely was. The facilities weren't 5 star but for a cottage on a very small island they did the trick. We had a fantastic time and we all commented more than once at how well set up it was, we wondered where the owner found SO many cow-related 'things!'. Would definitely recommend this place for something a little different, you could easily sleep 9 people and kids would find plenty to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
543 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed for a weekend at the delightfully homely Quirky cottages. There were 6 adults and 4 children between our two families. And three generations of folk staying. We all loved it. Casual, relaxed, EXCEEDINGLY well set up for children and all at a reasonable price. I hope we can return soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed in the Cow House (one of the 4 themed cottages). Cottage is a misnomer as this was a 2 bedroom house that could sleep 10 people when you added up all the beds, sofa beds and divans in the 2 bedrooms and lounge rooms. There was a large open plan kitchen, dining and lounge room but an undercover verandah with its own table and chairs and a large BBQ.

Possibly one negative is that the curtains are thin and let in the early morning light.

There is large yard and children's play area (shared with the 3 other houses) and the owner keeps a donkey and chickens etc. As most of the cottages are likely to be occupied by other families, odds on the children will find friends quickly. Also it is pet-friendly (we had a dog with us).

Coochiemudlo itself is a somewhat sleepy place and make sure you bring your food supplies with you as the shop on the island only has the very basics. So you have to want to enjoy swimming, building sandcastles, fishing as there isn't a whole lot more to do (well, you can play golf, but I don't). Being an island with only a car ferry service, there isn't a lot of car traffic on the island so the roads are relatively safe for kids walking and on bicycles etc.

The price for week-long stays is very good value, I thought.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quirky Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirky Cottages

Property: Quirky Cottages
Address: Welsby and Aminya Streets | Moreton Bay, Coochiemudlo Island, Redland City, Queensland 4184, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Coochiemudlo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Coochiemudlo Island
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing