We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest place I have ever stayed at.”

Burwood Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burwood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Burwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have never stayed in a hotel or b&b before where the sheets were not clean, and the whole place was grubby and smelly. Off street parking is advertised, but there is very little of it and is always full. Even the rooms that are not facing the street are noisy. There is no air conditioning and when you open the window the cockroaches and mosquitoes come in. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmsjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is not fit for humans. The asian women who run it are as cold and dumpy as the place itself. Their customer service is to tell me to clean my own room, move my car to on street parking and were very unpleasant when I asked for aircon to be turned on. Upon walking into the unit, I was hit with a thunderbolt of odours. One I recognised as mould and second, dust. There is no visible evidence of it, however, I suspected after scratching myself from dusk to dawn - it was the mattressess. An ipod has a bigger screen than the tv in the room. The linen has never met fab much less seen the inside of a washing machine. To suggest this place to anyone, would be embarrassing. I would not let my dog stay there. The stench from the rubbish bins (under the aircon) is another beauty. Make sure to take your whole house if you are lucky enough to experience such a gem in the heart of burwood.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botzy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I needed a budget room in Sydney with a refrigerator, so that ruled out pub-style rooms. Then I saw this B&B with a room for a very reasonable price (and note that Sydney is way up there on the list of most expensive world cities in 2013).
The majority of previous reviews of this property on this website aren't positive. This lead me to believe this B&B would be "rough" and "dirty", and the staff unhelpful, and so I went in with low expectations.
But I was very pleasantly surprised at my experience. The staff were in fact very friendly and helpful to me. The building was not "run down" - I would describe it as having a charming, rustic ambience. (It is billed as a B&B after all, not as a branch of a slick hotel chain.) It was also very tidy and orderly. Everything worked (showers, toilets, TV, window blinds etc). My room and the bedding was spotless with no odors, and my towel was new; furniture wasn't new, but it was perfectly functional. The B&B was also conveniently close to the train station (which is just two stops from the city center on express trains), and to Burwood's many types of eateries. Yet the neighborhood was quiet, and I slept very peacefully.
Oh yeah, there WERE some leaves on the walkway out front - under the leafy canopy of eucalyptus trees in the garden. If a few wind-scattered leaves on the ground outside are a deal-breaker for you, then you'd better save up your pennies and stay at one of those corporate hotels with plastic shrubbery.
If room price stays the same, I'll most likely be back next time I'm visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I find this a most difficult review to write. I will review it as a "Dog Hotel", as that was the only reason we selected the property. We spent 3 nights there. The previous reviews certainly worried us. We expected the worse but it was surprisingly better. We would definitely not stay there if travelling without a pet, a situation we could not avoid this time.

The room was small but had private facilities (caravan type module) and a direct outside door to take the dog outside when required. Tiled floor makes for easy cleaning if required. Towels were certainly better than a previous reviewer experienced! Room was fairly clean except for the odd cobweb or 3!

Hosts were attentive and helpful. Cooked breakfast is included but we just helped ourselves to a continental breakfast.

Just a 2 minute stroll up the road is Burwood RSL with a great bistro! They even do take aways if you require.

Grounds were very untidy and overgrown but a gardener arrived on our last day and things were tidied up pretty well. Noise is not too bad but the inability to fully close the old venetian blinds did not help sleep. Bedding was Ok and the pillows very good.

We tended to eat outside in the "garden areas" which were a bit ordinary but the space was good. TV had both local channels and a selection of Foxtel, including Fox Sports which I appreciated.

So, if staying with a pet, there are not many options around, so beggars cannot be choosers!

Room Tip: Take a 2 minute stroll up the street to Burwood RSL. Very good bistro and good value drinks as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked to stay one night. Apon arrival I noticed the place was untidy and falling apart on the oustside. It looked like it needs alot of maintenance. Once Inside the female Asian staff were both very rood and made me feel really uncomfortable after I paid. I got the feeling that Burwood Bed and Breakfast could be a real dogy place so my gut feeling was to leave so I left without staying.

Room Tip: There are several areas to stay. Be careful I would view room before paying and leave enough time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Needs maintenance for a property of this age. The outside is dirty and Falling apart. On the inside it is run by crazy asian ladies. This may be in an area where you really might not want to stay. Say no more.

Room Tip: The rooms you see are not the rooms you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I made a booking for 2 rooms, I was meeting my daughter and family. They were involved in a car accident so we were not able to meet in Sydney as they were in hospital. I rang and cancelled I thouhgt the whole booking, the day of the accident and gave them 4 days notice. I was charged for both rooms and when I rang they told me I had only cancelled 1 room. She would only credit me with the cheaper room and then hung up.
I should have read the reviews before i booked, will in future. Terrible service considering the circumstances.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwood
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
0.9 mi away
Strathfield Hotel
Strathfield Hotel
#3 of 3 in Strathfield
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boronia Lodge Burwood
Boronia Lodge Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burwood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 90 Shaftesbury Rd, Burwood, New South Wales 2134, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Burwood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burwood
Price Range: $85 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burwood Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Burwood Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing