We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Be aware that when you book for the Grand Mecure unless you read your itinery - ALL signs point to the Novotel.. If you use your GPS it will take you to the back of the hotel where there is NO SIGNAGE at all to let you know how to get to reception.
Customer service was no existant ( we run our our accommodation business in the south west).
Upon checking in *and rather flustered due to the maze we had to walk through aswell as running late (poor signage) to get ready for a wedding we were told that the wedding we were attending wasnt here. The lady said she'd not heard of that name, without even checking. The wedding was there and we told by a friend after bumping into him.

ROOMS... at $280, with rusted shower rails, rusted windows etc... no thanks. but overlooked the golf course.

Suggested to the lady in the morning when checking out that if there are a number of people that dont have their itinery handy and dont know that all the signs pointing to the Novotel also means Grand Mecure Accor then perhaps more signage would be great.
I was told that they expect people to read their itineries. A simple, we'll make note of that was suffiecient.
All in all the ladies at the front desk let this review down.. Room was the only one available and at that price, wouldnt be staying again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WBCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear WBCC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are so sorry to read of your disappointment. So that we can further address this issue we would appreciate if you could call our Front Office Manager, Tony May, on 08 9297 3000, so that he can address your concerns.
We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed in these apartment 3 times previously and each time is perfect 'for what we need'! Need to remember that - if you want to visit attractions near the city and anything south of the CBD then this is a long way out but if you are planning on wining and dining in and around the Swan Valley (and why wouldn't you!!!) then these apartments are great. Amenities everything you need, location 'around the back' of the hotel but once you've worked that out, it's great. Lots of roos around late afternoon which are always fun to watch - for overseas visitors especially I guess. Been 3 times and we'll be back - we are good Swan Valley visitors though!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaybee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear kaybee57,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines after your third stay! It is always lovely to hear from our repeat guests. We are so pleased that you continue to enjoy these great apartments and beautiful area.
Again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location is pleasant though rather removed from everything except the golf course - long drive into Perth and very little else in the area which seemed to consist entirely of ever mushrooming suburbs. The apartment was lovely, large, well appointed and clean, with fully equipped kitchen, ensuites to each bedroom and a very large lounge area opening onto a small balcony looking across the golf course. Only drawback with the accommodation was that the entry to each apartment block is a heavy security door which clangs loudly whenever anyone goes through it, so try to get an apartment away from the entrance.

There is no in-house reception for these apartments. Reception, as mentioned by others, is via the resort next door, which has a different address. Make sure you know exactly where you need to go, because on a dark, rainy night it's easy to miss the signs and if you end up at the apartments, while it is possible to walk through the resort to reception, you will need to leave a trail of crumbs so as not to get lost on the way back. Furthermore, confirmation of bookings has a contact number which is nothing to do with the complex or the resort, but is apparently an Accor call centre and is a Queensland number, so if you ring at after 3pm you will get a recorded message telling you that the lines are only manned during business hours Mon-Fri and if you leave a message they will get back to you next working day (after a few moments of utter fury you twig to the fact that they are on Queensland time!). The attitude to any gripes at the resort reception is sympathetic but "Nothing to do with us, completely different company, we just do the check in". Given all this I'm not sure how you would fare if there was a major problem with the apartments. We were told at reception that the apartments are about to be re-badged as Sebel, though whether this will make a difference is another matter.

So in the end the apartments excellent, administration poor, leaving the property as average and not a place to hurry back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the entrance door. Make sure you are well aware of the location of recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear SMTas,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the management of these apartments and for not being able to get in touch with us when you needed to. The Accor Vacation Club head office is based in Robina, Queensland, however there should have been a local number on your confirmation. We apologise for this not being on your confirmation. Yes these apartments will be rebranded as The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines in December this year. You are correct in saying that this will not change the management, although there has been a recent change in personnel which we are confident will ensure a quality service to all guests. Again, we apologise for the disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank lowlevel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What lovely accommodation, We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. It was a fabulous stay, the beds were so comfortable, beautiful linen and the villa so clean. Breakfast was lovely too everything you could want. We would recommend to anyone. Perfectly situated in the Swan Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear corley C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the 3 bedroom villa. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Check in was fast and efficient at The Novotel and the directions to to the apartments were clear. The room itself, on the ground floor was clean and the size was just perfect for our needs. The only thing regarding the room was the lack of cupboard space. The cupboard was tiny especially as we were staying one week! The outlook onto the golf course was beautiful and it was lovely to see kangaroos and ducks!! We ate in the cafe at Novotel on one night and the food and service were great. Also used the gym which was adequate but was surprised to see unsupervised children using the equipment.
all in all a great stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Auldprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Auldprop,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure The Vines. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the cupboard space have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager who takes into consideration all feedback when implementing improvements.
Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Some of the taps were tarnished and there were ants crawling along the sliding doors and up the dinning table.
The food at the Muscat retaurant was good but service was bad and even rude. Waited more than an hour for main course and when I complained to server why dinner who came much later got served before us. The answer was "we are very busy, you know" and she just walked away. I noticed another couple sitting near us walked out as they got no service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank YSP1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Vines
16.3 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
91 reviews
8.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Perth Vineyards
1.5 mi away
Luxury Apartments @ Brookleigh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines

Address: 79 Hermitage Dr | Swan Valley, The Vines, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6069, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure The Vines, Accor Vacation Club Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > The Vines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in The Vines
Price Range: $142 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Swan Valley the vines is an all apartment Hotel located adjacent to Novotel Vines Resort and overlooking the championship golf course. The rooms range from studios to 2-bedroom apartments and all are fully self contained. Located in the stunning Swan Valley famous as a wine region and with a reputation for great food and local produce. With many of Perth's top restaurants located in the Swan Valley this is the perfect getaway destination. A short 20 minute drive from the airport and only 30 minutes from Perth City it is a great base for exploring. The championship golf course is perfect for a golf getaway too. The facilities at the Novotel are available for use by the guests of the Sebel when operating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Sebel Swan Valley the Vines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Swan Valley The Vines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing