We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
10
10
10
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
10
3
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

The online photos showed these apartments as clean and presentable, even though quite dated. We chose to book because of ideal location to attend a function at the nearby golf club. Of course one can’t expect much of 3 stars, but we were horrified. The online photos must have been taken when the place was new back in the 80s. So obvious that no proper cleaning or serious maintenance has been done since. Been told to take your rubbish out before leaving or charge of $50 is pretty rude. Carpets and upholstery very dirty. The shower was a a trickle and very difficult to regulate. Crockery, glasses etc filthy, obviously not washed up properly for ages. We were woken at 6:30am Sunday by very loud TV coming from next door apartment which appeared to be occupied on a permanent basis, ie different window coverings and security screens which we didn’t have. I guess the good reviews here are fake cause I can’t believe anyone would thing this place passable. Oh yes the gardens were nice, but that’s Qld.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank RPW25552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

on entering unit the daylight shining through the crack in wall above kitchen sink was unmissable. Furniture should have been in dump.Fence palings nailed under seat cushions to support seat cushions.Other cushions stained and faded.Carpet grubby.Fridge froze everything.free wi-fi unaccessable. No hot water on last night of stay.Hot and cold taps in bathroom reversed.Vanity in bathroom disintergrating. Grubby,grotty stove controls.Kitchen utensils insufficient and very shabby. By booking through TripAdvisor we paid $6:00 more per night than if we had booked directly with Forest Lodge.

one tea towe lprovided.

Room Tip: do not bother
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here overnight whilst attending an exam in Brisbane. The staff were friendly enough. Credit card was charged prior to check in.
The rooms were old and tired, with the bare minimum supplied. The beds and pillows were hard, the carpet in the lounge was filthy and there was mould on the curtains in the lounge and next to the bed. The fly screens were also filthy.
These are self serviced apartments, so you have to empty the bins yourself, or face a $50 fee. For the exorbitant amount they charge per night for what’s provided, you would be better off finding something else.
On a positive note: the gardens were gorgeous.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

My partner has been coming to the forest lodge apartments for over 20 years and he booked us in - him, myself and our five month old daughter - for a ten night stay at the beginning of May.

The staff were initially very helpful, sourcing a cot and bedding for our daughter's use and allowing us to check in early as we had come from a morning flight.
The apartment was a decent size - we had two bedrooms, a bathroom and a living room/kitchen. Tea and coffee was left to start us off and we also had basic soap and washing up supplies.

However, the apartment was in serious need of some TLC and an upgrade. There was no security grill on the door, the carpet was heavily stained and the furniture was very worn (e.g. The veneer on the tv stand was very chipped). This in itself wasn't a huge problem but when we looked more closely on the second day, we realised how dirty the apartment was. There was mould in the fridge seals and in the shower; the nooks and crannies were filthy, with dirt built up behind doors and in corners of the bathroom and kitchen; and worst of all, there were cobwebs on the walls and ceilings, and all along the skirting on the floor. We pulled out the bed and found a thick layer of dust accompanied by a dead cockroach.

We asked the owners to clean the apartment but were told they couldn't do anything until the next day as the cleaners had already gone home. At this point, we decided to cancel our booking and move to another property as I have asthma and we were also concerned for our daughter's health. I should add that they offered to move us to another apartment that was much cleaner and would have been suitable, but it was up stairs and we needed an apartment on ground level so that it would be accessible to the pram.

Thankfully, the owners did not charge us for the full stay despite a no refund policy.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Sarah171_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay here over night on a work trip. First impressions of the unit was great looked neat and comfortable.

Dove straight into the pool set in a little Forrest type garden which I thought was really well maintained.

Had a pretty rough sleep, bed was ok but pillows were very thick and tough. The fan made typical old fan noises all night but it was too hot to turn off. Soap and conditioner provided were the same as a government facility just your bare essentials. Only 4 tiny cups of milk which wouldn’t even make a decent coffee were provided.

Overall I couldn’t complain too much, it was cheap and a bargain for the location geographic to Brisbane City. Foxtel was provided but no free wifi.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Calvin-Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews