We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding views of seabirds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seatours

Seatours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding views of seabirds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A comfortable ~150 passenger boat allows great views of thousands of nesting seabirds including puffins, cormorants, fulmars and kittiwakes. The boat stops as close as possible to the searocks/islands with nest covered ledges. Ad an additional bonus the boat stopped to view nesting White-tailed Sea Eagles. Because of the eagle's endangered status the boat did not approach as close as it did to the rocks with commoner birds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JerryCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    9
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
604 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“A change from driving if going to the Westfjords”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A change from driving if going to the Westfjords
We had a day to drive from Reykjavik to Isafjörður. We could have driven all the way, but that would have stopped us going on the Snæfellsnes peninsula (even though we did not have time – or the right weather to visit Snæfell itself). That is the problem of a schedule – you can’t afford to miss the boat. Departures from Stykkishólmur 0900 and 1545. I gather it is best to do it this way round – because there is nothing to do at Brjánslækur on the peninsula side.
The boat is well designed, accommodation is Ok but there is a mad scramble for the best seats. Those by the window near the front have too little room for over weight people like me! However further back, by the window is better even if the seats are not as comfortable.
Forget the buffet – it is expensive and no more than a snack bar. Go to Narfeyrarstofa Restaurant in Stykkishólmur, beforehand.
In spite of its raining there was sheltered outside areas to get the fresh air if you want it.
There is an interesting stop at the quiet island of Flatey, seeing the daily deliveries etc.
Don’t expect to get up to Isafjörður for dinner. There are scenic stops on the way including the impressive Dynjandi waterfall. And the road is unsealed till Þingeyri where the Simbahollin Café serves meals till late.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This trip was exactly what I was expecting -- a great chance to get out on the water, get a close-up view of the islands, see birds & their nests, and taste fresh seafood. There were only 10 people on our trip, but it was nice and we got to chat with others. Seeing the baby birds in their nests was great, getting some local history was informative, and tasting the scallops was delicious! I would recommend this as a low-key, pleasant outing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great trip for young kids to see puffins and other sea birds up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very exciting to see puffins up close along some island cliffs. Also saw lots of other sea birds. The kids did enjoy seeing the scallops and urchins that were trawled from the ocean. A very lovely cruise around.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, nyc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Skip this and spend your time exploring other areas in Snaefellsnes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

I agree with the most recent reviews. It's a rather anemic excursion, since simply tour the islands, see some birds, and eat scallops and sea urchin post-trawl. We were expecting to see more wildlife, but this was fairly disappointing, and not all that exciting.

The people who run the excursion were friendly though, and the trip still went out with only 6 - 8 tourists on the boat.

Helpful?
3 Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seatours also viewed

Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 
Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 

Been to Seatours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing