We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.. but we felt overcharged..”
Review of Harbour Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Hostel
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked here as a couple after a few days travelling with a group and asked if they had a room for 2 (we booked the morning we arrived). Very friendly chap on reception who gave us towels and showed us the small but pleasant room in the lower ground floor with 2 sets of bunks (with bedding) and use of shared bathroom, which had nice big showers. Window didn't quite close properly so could potentially get chilly in winter. Kitchen looked nice though we didn't use it. Cafe next door offers breakfast so we went for that option, again very good, nice views over harbour. When we checked out the total price seemed enormous for a hostel (this did include the cafe breakfast) and it wasn't until we were walking out the door that I noticed a sign with the price for towel hire (which we hadn't asked for and had appeared to be complimentary! we didn't need them..). Perhaps there'd been a misunderstanding when we'd booked over the phone, perhaps we should have double checked prices..
So given for practically the same price we could've stayed at a B+B and had a double bed, I don't think I'd stay here again as a couple. However, fine with a group and it looked very family friendly, and as mentioned if you don't want to cook then the cafe next door is good!

Room Tip: Perhaps you need to be specific about the room and check rates..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkarphedinnBerg, Owner at Harbour Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We have a few double rooms at our hostel. The day you called and asked for a double room all were booked but we offered you to take a four bed dorm as a double room to solve your needs. You decided to accept that offer. The price would be as for other double rooms in our hostel. The price for a double room is lower than for a 4 bed dorm. We occasionally offer this to guests but are then very clear on the facts. When a dorm room is sold as a double it comes with towels so you were not charged for that seperately. Those taking a dorm accommodation can rent a towel and that is charged seperately.

We enjoyed having you at Harbour Hostel. Thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here one night on a trip around Snaefellsnes. We booked late, and were fortunate to get a room at abt 120 USD. We got a great room with a view over the harbour and a bathroom, which was more than we expected. The rooms are recently renovated, the staff was very friendly and the beds were good. The location was excellent, right downtown, next to good restaurants in the heart of the great town of Stykkishólmur. Can highly recomend this place as a great value budget accomidation in this great town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GudjonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

we stayed here for one night and it surely was worth, in front of the hostel, in the harbour you can get great icelandic sunrise landscapes. hostel facilities are just great specially for what you pay. more the owner was very nice and explained us in details what we could do in the area. truly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVilares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We used this hostel, situated in a nice location directly in Stykkisholmurs harbour, just for one night stay. Although a hostel was still not finished, everything was ok for us. Beds comfortable, owner very helpful, wi-fi fast... co single problem, I can recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ok, the hostel was not finished yet during my stay (I could not use the kitchen), but for the price I paid and the location this hostel is a fantastic deal!

Stykkisholmur is a very cute little town with a lovely harbour. It is worth spending a couple of days there to visit the region. I came accross the building randomly (it is nowhere in guidebooks) and got a bed in a dorm. The place had just opened, it was empty so I had the whole room for myself for two days! :)

The hostel is right off the harbour, it feels new and cosy, it is ultra mordern and secured, the hosts are super friendly and helpful, breakfasts are great (1,350 ISK extra), what more could I ask? I am sure that once finished and fully operational this summer the Harbour hostel will be booked up very quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La tranquilidad, vistas y limpieza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bab0une31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stykkisholmur hotels
0.4 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
321 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heimagisting Olmu
Heimagisting Olmu
#3 of 7 in Stykkisholmur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langey Guesthouse
Langey Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Our Home Apartments
Our Home Apartments
#5 of 7 in Stykkisholmur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hostel

Address: Hafnargata 4, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Stykkisholmur
Price Range: $64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing