We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worked for us”
Review of Hotel Egilsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Egilsen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our two night stay here was great. The rooms were smaller than I expected, but it may be an Iceland thing (or a European thing?) But it wasn’t a big deal for us. If we needed to look at our guidebooks or maps, we just hung out in the lobby space. The staff were very nice and the breakfast suited us fine. Good Wi-Fi and they had loaner iPads. Two good restaurants are a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chilao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 314 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

As nearly all noted, the rooms are tiny. Ours was on the third floor and was so small we had to go outside to change our minds! Much of the room is unusable because of the slanted ceiling. Tiny doesn't describe it - miniscule is more accurate. It is also on a busy street and therefore noisy. Breakfast, which is much too expensive, is not included.

Besides being extremely small, the bathroom is poorly designed so that the floor gets wet from the shower. The bed was good, but because of the sloping ceiling, one side was inaccessible (unless you want to crawl on all fours). The sink is in the main area. The location is good, near restaurants and the harbor.

This place is a renovated house, apparently, and is infused with the "boutique hotel" mentality. In other words, because it is trendy, high prices are justified. And even by Icelandic standards, this place is absurdly overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is very well-situated, right near the harbor, across the street from an excellent restaurant, with picturesque surroundings. The people were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the breakfast.

We would likely stay there again, but perhaps not for more than one night. The reason: our room was barely large enough to turn around in. I realize that the hotel is a restoration (and well done, too), so this was likely unavoidable and part of the character of the place. So, by all means, if you're working your way around the Ring Road (as we were), schedule a stop here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A fantastic conversion of a traditional Icelandic building. Great service and a wonderful location. The rooms are small, but they are bright and the space is used wisely. The rain shower was particularly excellent. The breakfast was extra, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were truly welcomed by the staff in this cute, boutique-hotel/house. Don't fool yourself, this is house with a few rooms, not a giant hotel. Iceland is not about standardized luxury, it is the wonderful Icelandic hospitality that was most memorable for us. The folks at the Egilsen will tell you the truth about; speaking Icelandic around foreigners, what they do over the endless winters, and anything you want to know about their food. After you've knocked around Iceland for a few weeks, you'll have questions, these folks are friendly, approachable and worth visiting if you swing by "Stickish".

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ichecked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Hotel Egilsen is stylish and charming, but it will cost you a pretty penny. We loved our rooms, tiny as they were, because the beds and sheets were awesome, the shower and other bathroom amenities were upscale, and everything was so well planned out (shelving, hooks, etc). In many ways, it seemed more commodious than our bigger rooms in Iceland that were not as well laid out. Nevertheless, the hotel is pretty seriously overpriced, especially when one discovers the price does not include breakfast. To add insult to injury, the breakfast costs ISK 24 each, a ridiculous sum for what is offered. Fortunately, we declined the breakfast and found a cute bakery on the edge of town where we got good coffee, sweet rolls, a croissant, and a sandwich for about ISK 9 each.

What was also a bit off-putting was the front desk worker was very dismissive of the more affordable restaurant in town (Placcid) while heavily pushing the two more expensive places. They may well have better food, but the woman in charge, when asked about Placcid, said disparagingly "Oh, I think they just serve hamburgers or something like that." In a town this small and with the restaurant almost literally across the street, she surely knows exactly what they serve, and it's not just hamburgers. This attitude did not sit well with us.

Other than the slight sense of superiority and arrogance about their "healthy breakfast" and its price, as well as the big ticket for the rooms, we did still think Hotel Egilsen was cute and atmospheric in this tiny fishing village. Just go expecting a very small but well-appointed room and a wallet-lightening price, and you'll like it too!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have slanting ceilings and need some attention to avoid hitting one's head! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGal201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night in June 2014. We were in a "standard" room on the top floor of this 3 story hotel - room 8. As everyone has mentioned the rooms are way tiny. I wouldn't have minded this if we had not been up under the pitched roof so that much of our room was unusable. We didn't even both bring our suitcases in because there literally was no place to put 2 little rollerbags. I will say that the room was probably the prettiest, most tastefully decorated of our entire holiday. The bathroom was lovely, but small, as were all the bathrooms in every hotel we stayed in. The hotel has loads of charm. The breakfast was good also. The was a fair amount of noise from the street until it got later in the evening. We slept well, we found the bed comfortable, but being on the inside against the pitched roof, meant that it was very difficult to get in or out of bed. You could not sit in bed and read.

For what you get, I think it was too expensive. I should have to look around more to see what other hotels were available in the area - it may be the best in the area. Just don't stay on the top floor. Get a "superior room." I don't mind small if you can walk around the room. This room would be perfect for a couple of people the size of 8 yr olds. If you are taller, like my husband - over 6 ft - then you won't be happy in a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Don't get a standard room - those are the ones up under the pitched roof where you can't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.3 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
326 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
498 reviews
21.9 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
77 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Snaefellsbaer
137 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Rjukandi
Hotel Rjukandi
#1 of 14 in Borgarnes
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egilsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egilsen

Address: Adalgata 2, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range: $185 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the harbor, Hotel Egilsen is set in a newly converted historic house in the heart of Stykkisholmur. The small hotel preserves its classic heritage while enhancing it with the best of modern design. Providing intimate lodging, healthy food, small library and the renowed COCO-MAT beds made out of organic and natural materials. The hotel has 10 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Egilsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing