We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Egilsen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Breidafjordur(Stykkisholmur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Framnes(Grundarfjorour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laetrabjarg(Orlygshofn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flokalundur(Patreksfjorour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
187
97
20
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
97
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoked salmonboutique hotelscrambled eggshistoric buildingrooms are smallsuperior roomgranolano elevatorold housein townmodern bathroomcoffee or teacoco mat bedorganic cottonbreadfirst floortop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 318 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Egilsen is one of those hotels you really want to tell no one else about. Unfortunately it's too late for that as it features high on the list in the Lonely Planet guide - but go if you can. It has only 10 rooms and is already (in late March) almost fully booked for the summer - so plan ahead or put on your best imploring tone.
It was a joy to stay there in every respect. The hotel is like a Tardis - so small from the outside, but inside it is a gem of style and design. The reception and breakfast area was delightful.
Our room was one of those places you didn't want to leave- remarkably small in actuality but I never noticed. Wonderfully comfortable bed, great bathroom with walk-in power shower and luxury soap and shampoo.
Stykkisholmur is a delightful small fishing village with a summer ferry to Flatey Island, but just go for the peace and quiet, and for an outstanding dinner in the restaurant opposite.
Not cheap, for sure, but it will remain the highlight of our Iceland trip.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here two nights. Very easy to find (just look at the pictures on line first), on the main road, right in front of the harbour. You get what you pay for with this hotel (not cheap). The hotel looks the part from the inside and outside. The superior twin room is tastefully decorated with exceptional attention to detail. Needless to say, the hotel was spotless clean. Beds are very comfortable. Unfortunately, the breakfast is not included, which is a shame as it would have made the stay a little more enjoyable. Instead, make an effort to wonder to the bakery 500m up the main road (be warned, one of the bakery ladies is a little moody). The hotel has no restaurant but instead you are free to cross the road and eat in the only functioning restaurant in town (we stayed in March so expect more will be open in summer). The restaurant is very good and seems to complement the hotel quite well. The staff is well presented, helpful and pleasant. Overall, enjoyable stay. If you are money conscious this may not be the hotel for you but if you have that little extra cash and appreciate the little things you will like this hotel.

As an aside, the peninsula is lovely and do try to find the museum that also makes that shark snack. We had a 2WD and no problems getting to it. Owner is funny and the “snack” is nothing to be afraid of.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWorgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We got the last room, a tiny double in the top floor. Beautifully designed and great use of limited space. Most comfortable bed I slept in, I got a brilliant nights sleep. Breakfast extra cost but delicious. Home made jam made with honey, Skyr and granola, little tastes of local cheese, smoked salmon, pickled herring, dried fruits. Good coffee and smoothies. Staff exceptional, thanks a million to the guy who told us about the bridge over a lagoon where we saw Orcas! Great base to explore Snaefellnes, a beautiful peninsula and a fab little bistro across the street. Brilliant!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nursej9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in a so-called superior room - which we were told it was one of the biggest rooms in the house. Excluding the tiny bathroom where every adult will have a hard time to dry its back without bumping both elbows to the walls, the room itself had a surface of about 15m² and a low ceiling.
Moreover, the hotel is ab-so-lu-te-ly not soundproof. You have to live with the noise of people of the upper floors moving around their beds to create that extra 10 centimetre of space. You'll hear every step they take. Fortunately, they only can take 3 or 4 steps! And even if the rooms above you are not occupied, there's still the outside traffic that passes right below your window. Of course, in such a cramped room, there is no space left for any other furniture than our twin beds, a single chair and a miniature table. No space for a desk, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, phone or whatsoever. Yes, you get a free iPad, a nice gimmick, but any traveller that wants to stay connected carries its own laptop or tablet.
On the positive side, the hotel may be called stylish - but you need plenty of goodwill as the style is only found in small attributes, like plates, cups and decoration - though the latter cannot be enjoyed properly as there's no other way of looking at it than from too close a distance. Perhaps the library, well-stocked with plenty of coffee table books, may help to pass the long hours of a rainy day.
Regarding breakfast - which is not included in the room price - it is good indeed as the combination of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon is a winner. Apart from that, it doesn't differ much from any other breakfast in Iceland, except that cold cuts, cheese, etc. is not on the buffet but served in limited supply on stylish plates.
Please, don't get us wrong: we don't mind paying more than standard fare, but in return, we expect something extra. At Egilsen Hotel, we paid 27000 krona for 1 night, breakfast for 2 included. That is about 10 Euros or 14 US-dollars per square metre, bathroom included. We have stayed in many other Icelandic hotels where we paid 70% of that price for a 35m² suite (which also included breakfast) that were also stylishly decorated. To make the comparison complete: that's about 3,50 Euro or 5 US-dollars per square metre! Fortunately, the Egilsen Hotel didn't charge any extras for heating or the air to breathe!...

Room Tip: Just try somewhere else as the whole hotel has only cramped rooms that are not at all soundproof.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Top notch boutique hotel, every detail down to the cups and saucers was delightful. Great base to explore the Snæfellsnes peninsular from and then to head into the western Fjord-lands on the ferry. Go at Christmas time and the 'Yule Lads' leave you a present every morning in your shoe if you leave it outside of your door at night!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the top floor with some limited head height. The superior rooms are on the ground and first floors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan_Harrison25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews