We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel Egilsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Egilsen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Chris at Icepedition booked this for us--perfect location (right near the ferry, and across the street from a great restaurant). We were on the top floor in a room that used every square cm VERY efficiently. The room didn't feel small (though it was)-- just cozy. The staff were fantastic, making dinner reservations & suggesting things to do in the West Fjords (where we were headed the next day).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

First off, I will state that every positive review about this hotel on this site is true. This is a first rate hotel and it deserves all of the praise it receives.

My wife and I have been to Iceland several times and wanted a base (for 4 days in early August 2013) from where we could explore the beautiful Snæfellsnes area. Needless to say, Hotel Egilsen did not disappoint.

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. We had a superior double and it was lovely - a comfortable bed, a large/beautiful bathroom and the room was well appointed in general. Everything about this hotel oozed "class" - right down to the workmanship and the small details.

If you appreciate the finer things in life (with an artistic twist), then you will love it here. I know we did.

I cannot state enough how wonderful the staff were to us. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and you are left with the feeling that you are part of a family, not just a guest in a hotel.

BTW, even though breakfast is not included in the room rate, get it anyway. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented - I especially liked the yogurt with organic granola and homemade blueberry jam. I still dream about it to this day.

Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I noticed many of the other guests were only here for one night... and quite often, I overheard them saying that they wished they could stay for another night. I am so glad we stayed for 4 days.

So as you can guess, next time I am in the Snæfellsnes area, I will gladly stay here again.

Well done and many thanks to the hotel staff (especially Inga).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ideally we would like to transport Hotel Egilsen back to Scotland and live in it, but as this will not be possible we will have to visit again and enjoy its many pleasures.

Every aspect of the hotel is wonderful: the location next to the harbour; the historic building; the style and attention to detail in the rooms; the magnificent breakfasts (the best we had in Iceland); and not forgetting the warm, friendly and informative staff.

We cannot thank you enough for having made our stay so special and memorable, and we hope it is not too long before we can enjoy the unique atmosphere of Hotel Egilsen once again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bhunabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel which honestly was the most expensive accommodation during our roundtrip around Iceland in July. But we liked it very much. The overall appearance is inviting, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the small but cozy room and the extremely comfortable bed. There was only a smaller choice for breakfast available, but the quality of the food was very good. In the evening we liked to relax downstairs in the small lobby bar, reading in one of the numerous books and magazines available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbsebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Egilsen for 4 nights in June 2013.

We booked a superior room and got room no. 6 on the 1st floor with a view to Norska Huset & the harbour and to the church through the side window. The room was great, stylish and very clean, the views excellent. Space was limited, as the room is quite small and we had two suitcases. The bathroom was also small, but sufficient, very clean and also stylish. We enjoyed the iPod during our stay. Great to look things up for the next day`s plans, weather check, reading e-mails etc.

What makes us vote only 3 points instead of 5 is all around the breakfast which is an additional 2200 ISK/person/day which you are not informed about in advance when asked if you will have breakfast the next day. You sit very closely together on small tables, no privacy. As we as vegetarians are used to ask about the food provided, we asked the day before what the breakfast contains, if it is a buffet and if we can choose what to take and were told that it is a buffet, but every party receives an additional plate with cheese, eggs, salmon and butter. We kindly asked to please substitute the salmon on our plate to MORE cheese instead as we do not like to have less for the same price. So far, so good. But what we got the next morning (and the day after!!) was just the normal portion of cheese (4-5 slices), a bringing-me-to-tears portion of butter and the eggs for the same price. We so had to ask for more cheese, more butter and felt really uncomfortable with all our needs and questions, that could have been fulfilled in advance if treating vegetarians equally and not trying to just leave something out to save money. You also have to ask for every cup of coffee –why not providing a machine or readily cooked coffee in a can instead for the guests’ comfort? And why bringing a large glass of juice to everybody`s table instead of putting the can of juice for self-serving and letting the guest decide if he wants to have juice or not? I hate juice and would have loved to in total choose the stuff for breakfast myself.

To continue the breakfast story, the buffet itself then consists of just two jams, a bowl of yoghurt, some granola and fruits, a small plate with very little amounts of tomatoes and cucumber pieces and some slides of bread –ridiculous! A lot of pretentious words on ‘homemade’, ‘organic’ and things like that are said by the staff to ‘introduce’ you to the small amounts of items which shall maybe serve to make people oversee that this is just not enough for the high price they take for it.

This all was so nerve-racking and annoying for us that we skipped the breakfast the other two days and took our breakfast stuff from the little town bakery up the road instead –relaxing!
We are for sure not that type of persons lamenting for things being too expensive, we love spending lots of money for high quality and luxury and for feeling comfortable –but with something like that we really feel fooled. So think twice if you want to be part of it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is likely the most upscale hotel in town. Although it is a building hundreds of years old, it is a gut rehab opening in 2012. Our room was both traditional and yet fully updated, with completely updated bathroom facilitiies.

The hotel staff was exceptional, downright conversational. They had many recommendations for the area and thoroughly answered all questions. They were treating us as new friends, not as hotel guests.

The included breakfasts were excellent: coffee, boiled egg, salmon, bread, fruit, juice and scrambled eggs if requested.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed in this lovely hotel in an old, historic, wooden building. It is located directly at the harbour of Stykkisholmur. Our host, a young woman, was very courtious and helpful.
We had a double room on the first floor with a view on the harbour. The rooms are not very big due to the fact that the owners were forced to have 10 rooms in this building to be allowed to name this house a hotel. The room furnishings was a well balanced mixture of country-style and modern furniture. The bathroom was small, but very modern and much space in the shower. Free Wifi and the offer to use the ipad was inclusive.
The breakfast was great. Homemade marmelade, smoothies and bread. Scrambled eggs, skyr, fish, cheese, a lot of fruits, cereals. A perfect start for the day.
The price of the hotel room is not cheap, but it is 100% worth the price. We want to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor. The rooms on the second floor are under the slanted roof. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.3 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
310 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
485 reviews
21.9 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breidafjordur
Hotel Breidafjordur
#3 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 6 in Stykkisholmur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egilsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egilsen

Address: Adalgata 2, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range: $181 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing next to the harbor, Hotel Egilsen is set in a newly converted historic house in the heart of Stykkisholmur. The small hotel preserves its classic heritage while enhancing it with the best of modern design. Providing intimate lodging, healthy food, small library and the renowed COCO-MAT beds made out of organic and natural materials. The hotel has 10 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Egilsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing