We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Egilsen(Stykkisholmur)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$241
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bifrost(Bifrost)
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel(Bifrost)(Great Value!)
$96
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Breidafjordur(Stykkisholmur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Varmaland(Borgarnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
38
129
130
27
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
129
130
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehotel restaurantnight's resthill overlooking the townbreadbreakfast buffetroom was clean and comfortableplenty of parkingbathroom floorgeothermal pooltwo nightssmall bathroomwest icelandlovely viewsmall towncommon areasnorthern lights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 330 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We spent a night at Hotel Stykkisholmur after a long, but beautiful journey to Snæfellsnes peninsula from Reykjavik. As per other reviews, the hotel was quite ordinary; room and bathroom were clean, but the rooms were not soundproof. We were privy to all activities occurring in the hallway. Sunset was past 11 pm and the curtains did a reasonable, but not a full-proof job of blocking sunlight. Breakfast was standard Icelandic fare consisting of cold cuts, tomatoes, cucumbers, toast, cereal, and hard-boiled eggs with milk and juice. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but rather at a cafe on the Arnarstap-Hellnar trail. We booked a self-driving tour through Iceland only few days before our departure, therefore, we had limited options. While we hope for a return-trip to the peninsula, we are not likely to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The architecture of the building isn't anything to write home about (it looks like a school or something, not a hotel), but the check in process was prompt and our room was an okay size with good bathroom facilities. The staff didn't seem too bothered by being there or not.

If you are staying in this area, it is definitely worth doing a harbour cruise with Seatours as it was amazing to see the rock formations of the island scattered in the harbour along with the extensive birdlife and amazing tasting of fresh seafood.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyggy_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Hotel Stykkisholmur is set up on a hill overlooking the main drag and not far from the old town. Right next to the town's geothermal pool. Pretty ordinary hotel - nothing over-the-top exciting or disappointing. The room and bed were comfortable and there was a nice bar with comfy seating in the far end of the lobby.

One annoyance - our room was at the end of the hall near a fire escape with a door that kept opening in the middle of the night and slamming against the railing. I think someone was sneaking out to smoke and didn't close the door tight, so I'm not sure I can blame management. :-)

We shortened our stay in Stykkisholmur by a night and management only charged us for one night, which was very nice. They certainly could have charged the full reservation.

I thought the breakfast was fine - certainly comparable to other spreads I experienced in Iceland. There was lots to choose from and quality was more than adequate. Overall, I was happy with the value I got at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

There are limited accommodation options in Stykkisholmur. The Stykkisholmur has been recently expanded - new rooms at the back and older rooms at the front with exceptional views of the church, fjord and mountains. We had the choice and elected to take an older room with the view, The room showed its age and could do with a remodel. Having said that it was comfortable, clean and functional, if a little on the smallish side. However, we were more than compensated by the view - that ability to sit in bed and soak up the atmoshere of Syykkisholmur. The view was a delight.

Breakfast, in the recently remodelled restaurant on the other hand was not a delight - very basic with limited choice and staff that were not coping well at either clearing tables or replenishing the buffet. Being the only large hotel in town it seemed to be used by tour groups who tended to descend en masse to eat. Most restaurants struggle to cope in the face of mass arrivals.

We elected not to eat in the hotel in the evening - the restaurant looked attractive, but seemed to be occupied by the tour groups. We elected instead to walk into town and enjoyed 2 very good meals at the Fimm Fiskar where the recent devaluation of the Islandic Kronor has produced reasonably priced meals.

The hotel offered a free internet connection in the foyer.

The hotel proved to be adequate - with a better breakfast it would have lifted to "above average".

Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We booked this hotel by phone. You'll get a much better price by phone than using the Ring-hotels website were they charge you in Euros.

The rooms are ok. Spacey. Bathroom is outdated. The hotel has modernised it's interior an some rooms (not the one we had). By the pictures on the website we expected a lounge-type of hotel with a warm feel to it, but it wasn't like that. It was just like any other hotel you'll find in Iceland.

The hotel is in the village of Stykkisholmur. A good place for discovering the peninsula. There is a nice cafe named Arfeyrarstofa where they serve good food (close to the harbour) for a good price.

Breakfast at the hotel was terrible. The breakfast room was dirty. Dirty dishes all over the place. Bread was really, really old. The alternative was a dirty waffle iron with an empty can of syrup next to it. Never have I seen such a terrible breakfast in a hotel. The low score for cleanliness is due to this as I believe that if the hotelmanagement shows lack of interest in the cleanliness of the restaurant, it will not get any better in other parts of the hotel. Although I must say that we didn't find any in dirty spots in the room. We felt that we were lucky that we didn't have dinner at the hotel.

Funny note: We saw other guests checking out the gasstation in the village on their search for something eddible after breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews