We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Smart rooms with very comfortable beds and a modern shower room. It is a pity there are no facilities to make a hot drink in the room. The hotel was busy but quiet at night to allow a good sleep. Breakfast was fine with plenty on offer but juice was really squash and coffee very variable.
Lovely views from the rooms and convenient for the peninsula tour and the ferry to Flatey. Very good restaurants in easy walking distance.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Carnatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 304 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a night and have no complaints. I wouldn't say there was anything that completely blew us over, but it was a comfortable stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was okay, and we had a nice view. Breakfast was a good size spread too, so that helped. The shower was a little weird though, it only haf one shower door, so the whole bathroom floor ended up wet and it just seemed a rather silly design, but we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We were the only people at the hotel when we arrived (had to call the owner to let us in when we arrived) so we not only got a key to our room but to the front door. A little creepy because no staff was there while we stayed and it's a really big place (got a significant discount for that). There are two wings- the right and left. We stayed in the left and it was really nice and modern. Free wifi and breakfast. In the morning we saw that 2 other groups had shown up the previous evening.
It's really pretty and clean inside- probably a great stay in the summer. Only 2 restaurants in town and they close early but the hotel is right behind a public heated pool which has an entrance fee of only about $5.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank AshtonLeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Stayed in the decidedly off-season (i.e. March) and we were the only guests, expect for an American university group. Arrived about 7:30 and dined the restaurant. Food was excellent, and prices were in line with what we paid in the rest of Iceland. Room was a decent size with regular amenities. I will say that we could hear the university group downstairs in the evening.
Front desk staff wasn't overly friendly, almost to the point that it felt like we were a hassle to deal with. Would stay again, but understand that it's not the Ritz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in mid march to a lovely receptionist telling us only 3 rooms were booked in the hotel and it would be locked overnight and we would need a key. I wanted to joke about "The Shining" but before I got to the punch line the receptionist beat me to it. At least they're not pretending it's something it's not. Fine hotel and despite this they still called in staff at 6am to make us an early breakfast spread so I can't complain. Would I stay there again out of season - no. Did they try to keep the hotel open as best as they could to fulfil the reservations of guests as best they could despite probably losing money to have the hotel open - yes. There you go - 3 stars for trying hard.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hotel looks quite impressive when arriving, but when actually going in to book in we were met with a receptionist who needs to go on a course on how to smile and interact with the guests. We were told where our room was and pointed to the direction we needed to go to and nothing else. Room was okay, nothing special, a bit like Premier Inn but dated. Nice views from the room. No kettle or coffee making facilities in the room, but the kitchen did fill up the flask for us when we asked. We went out to search for the lights and when we came back we couldn't get into the hotel as the door was locked. Luckily we had a phone with us and had to ring the hotel and the member who was on duty had to get out of bed to let us in. No mention to us that we could have got a key before we went out to let ourselves in. Breakfast was alright and up to Icelands standards, but again the member of staff on at breakfast did not acknowledge anyone or even smile. Lobby was dated, bar was there, but you had to wait for the kitchen girl to come and serve you. On checking out the same receptionist was on duty and once again, no chat, smiles or interest. We would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne23Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here 8th March 2014, place was nice and clean. The staff was absolutely lovely and went out of their way to tell us about a tip off they had heard that there were killer whales nearby. Spotted them and it was amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
302 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
481 reviews
21.6 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 6 in Stykkisholmur
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Guest House
Comfort Guest House
#4 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Stykkisholmur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Stykkisholmur

Address: Borgarbraut 8, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range: $164 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Stykkisholmur 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur is a recently renovated 3-star hotel in a lovely little fishing village of Stykkishólmur, sometimes called the town of thousand islands. This beautiful town's atmosphere is set by old houses that make you feel like a time traveller. Stykkishólmur is the center for service, trade, and transport for the whole Breidafjordur area. The hotel restaurant has a warm atmosphere, a modern bar and a superb conference room that welcomes up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Stykkisholmur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stykkisholmur Hotel Stykkishólmur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing