We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Breidafjordur(Stykkisholmur)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$343
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hellnar(Hellnar)(Great Value!)
$344
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flokalundur(Patreksfjorour)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bifrost(Bifrost)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel(Bifrost)(Great Value!)
$211
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Egilsen(Stykkisholmur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
39
131
132
27
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
131
132
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehotel restaurantnight's resthill overlooking the townbreadbreakfast buffetroom was clean and comfortableplenty of parkingbathroom floorgeothermal pooltwo nightssmall bathroomwest icelandlovely viewsmall towncommon areasnorthern lights
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 335 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel stykkisholmur provided great service, clean rooms, great food. A lot more than you would think arriving to stykkisholmur. They also helped out with information about seatours and other events.
I can with out dout recomend this hotel to every one wisiting iceland and stykkisholmur

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Stykkisholmur is a basic hotel that served its purpose. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is small but with a cool shower that can clean the whole bathroom when you are showering. There is a swinging pexiglass door to contain the shower water. Breakfast was consisted of cold cuts, cheese, herring, breads, eggs, pasteries, yogurt, fruits, cereals- filling for the day's activities.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the harbor - a great way to stretch your legs after the long drive. There is a cool modern looking church next to the hotel and passing homes along the way to the harbor gave you a quick view of the locals. daffodils were blooming in abundance in June.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sykkisholmer for two nights in mid-August 2012 in a standard room overlooking the parking lot. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean; the decor and bathroom were nondescript. The bathroom was smallish, by US standards, with a swinging plastic shield serving as the shower enclosure. The bed was large and comfortable; sheets were not high quality. Room was quiet and we slept well. There was a coffee and tea maker in room. The common areas were plain and motion sensors activated lights in the hall. Breakfast was fine, consisting of the Scandanavian cold cuts, cheese, and herring, as well as several cereals, pastries, hard boiled eggs, breads, fresh fruit and yogurt, and no have hot items. We didn't eat dinner there. The location was a 5-10 minute walk from the harbor area and its museums and restaurants. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with excursion planning. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mads212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of July 2012 and it was a good hotel. As you will see from the other reviews, the decor is dated and tired, with the cracks in the concrete on the steps and weeds giving the first impression of a seedy, down at heel hotel. But the rooms are large, clean and full of light, with the rooms we were in having a lovely view across to the funny looking church on the nearby hill top. Breakfasts were the normal Icelandic fare and nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton_near_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have mixed feelings for this hotel. It looks like it was built by the Soviets in 1950 but once you walk into the lobby you see it was actually 1960. Clean and spacious but dim due to "green" initiatives regarding energy and lighting. This is a typical Icelandic hotel. Adequate but not luxurious in the North American standard. You will need to accept this as a way of life until the tourist industry starts to make demands and things will eventually improve. No major complaints other than the shower was integrated into the bathroom and everything got wet. There was a movable glass panel but it was not doing the job. TV was a 13" tube unit. Surely they could upgrade these by now, it's 2012.
I went into the village for dinner (excellent, another review) as the hotel only had three main courses on the menu and I don't like fish. What am I doing in Iceland you ask haha.
I would stay again just because I don't know the alternative and it was fine for the night. Great view by the way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews