We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms OK, but avoid the Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Stykkisholmur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rooms OK, but avoid the Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here on a round trip of Iceland for two nights, rooms OK but no kettle / coffee making facilities in room (same as most hotels in Iceland).

We went for a meal on the first night but this was a mistake. Fish soup tasted of cheese(?), Pan-Fried monkfish was in a thick pungent sauce (also with cheese) overcooked and leathery, so we bailed before dessert.... It also cost £140 for 4 without drinks...with a dessert and a beer each it would have been over £200!

Town is small and an easy walk from the hotel. The two town restaurants proved to be much better but still expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    94
    106
    21
    6
See reviews for
33
132
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This place was pretty nondescript with little to recommend it. There is nothing interesting in the decor. The rooms were dated and nothing special, though the beds and bathroom were acceptable. The internet worked at a snails pace, the staff was ok, not outstanding in any way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you need a base for activities in this part of Iceland, this is probably fine. We stayed as part of a tour group, so I cannot comment on pricing. Wasn't pleased with location, because it is on top of a hill. Fine for the view (directly across from a jarringly modern church), but the hike up and down to get into town is annoying. If you get a west-facing room, however, you may get a spectacular sunset view from your room. Bathrooms are small with a separate swing-out door demarcating the shower space. Otherwise, no separation from the rest of the bath. Read some reviews and asked for a room higher up, but was told that we wouldn't be happy with the "old" wing. Rooms were fine. Nothing special overall.

Room Tip: West-facing may give you a nice sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

After a week camping in the backcountry my girlfriend and i were looking for a respite before catching a ferry to the west fjords for more camping. So we decided to book a room at this hotel, because it looked decent. The service we received upon arrival was helpful and pleasant, that changed later in the day. When I went down to the front desk to ask for an ice bucket the second shift front desk staff member was very 'busy' chatting with a guy friend. I had to interrupt her conversation with her friend to get her attention. The room that we stayed in was very dated, not like the nice photos displayed on the web. The cost was staggering for the cheap accommodations that we stayed in. If the room was a reasonable rate I wouldnt mind, but we paid a high price. I will say that the room was clean. The bathroom was barely a step up from the previous week of wildernes camping that we just completed. FYI, don't lean against the backboard (which is attached to the wall) while sitting in your bed, because your bed will slide out from the wall. Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johhny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stykkisholmur hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel woth one night during our two week Iceland tour in 2011.

Stykkisholmur is one of the nicest towns (haha) we wen't through, and although the hotel is not central, everything is within striking distance on foot.

Room (with private facilities) was big and clean. Staff were not very welcoming but helpful enough when prompted.

Hotel has free wireless internet but reception (even in the lobby) is below par.

We didn't have supper in the hotel but the breakfast buffet was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel has been recently renovated and extended; the public areas are all well maintained and nicely decorated in a modern style. The rooms look like they were redecorated at the same time but could do with a bit of attention; especially around the windows, which get damp due to condensation. The bathrooms however have not been updated and are still decorated in a 1970s style with original fittings which look completely out of place.

That said the hotel is ideal for both a single night or longer if you are exploring this part of Iceland. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves excellent food at a good price, make sure you try the Skyre for desert, it is a traditional Icelandic dish made from skimmed milk so is not too bad for you and very tasty.

The location is ideal for the Northern Lights in the winter or bird watching in the spring and summer with a ferry going out to one of the local islands which is a massive bird colony, alternatively you can take t he Ferry all the way to the Western Fjords cutting out a good days driving.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I cannot understand the bad reviews. We stayed there for one night and we had no problem at all. The room was big enough for us, clean and we had a nice view of Stykish. The staff was excellent and very helpful, as everyone in Iceland! We had dinner and it was not so pricey. We had 2 soups, 2 salads, 1 beer and 1 coke, with a lot of bread and it cost almost 30 euros. The staff was asking us if we liked the salads and they took really care of us. Also there is a PC with free internet for the customers of the hotel. All in all a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgyroAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 5 in Stykkisholmur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#3 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Guest House
Comfort Guest House
#5 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grund i Grundarfirdi
Grund i Grundarfirdi
#4 of 7 in Grundarfjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Stykkisholmur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Stykkisholmur

Property: Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Address: Borgarbraut 8, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stykkisholmur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Stykkisholmur 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur is a recently renovated 3-star hotel in a lovely little fishing village of Stykkishólmur, sometimes called the town of thousand islands. This beautiful town's atmosphere is set by old houses that make you feel like a time traveller. Stykkishólmur is the center for service, trade, and transport for the whole Breidafjordur area. The hotel restaurant has a warm atmosphere, a modern bar and a superb conference room that welcomes up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fosshotel Stykkisholmur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stykkisholmur Hotel Stykkishólmur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing