We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent, not to be missed!”
Review of Narfeyrarstofa

Narfeyrarstofa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Narfeyrarstofa restaurant and café is the oldest operating restaurant in Stykkishólmur. It’s a family business and is open all year round. Narfeyrarstofa’s menu features inventive dishes served artfully in the beautiful surroundings of the restaurant, where utterly charming views from the premises bring life to the atmosphere. There is a strong emphasis on creativity in the kitchen, and it is safe to say that craftsmanship is held in high regard, as the ingredients are of the finest quality and sourced locally wherever possible. Narfeyrarstofa’s chefs prepare all ingredients from scratch, and the kitchen makes use of a powerful meat processor as local meat is prepared in different ways for the various dishes on the menu. From the restaurant there are views over Breiðafjörður bay’s “natural pantry”. Ingredients from there are on the table every day, exceptionally fresh. Blue mussels from Breiðafjörður are always on offer when in season. The menu also has a selection of hamburgers, proclaimed to be “the real deal”, “juicy” and “even better than búllaburgers” by our guests, who come back for them again and again! Our wine menu is unusually diverse and features specially selected wines of various types. The restaurant is in a two-storey house built in 1906 in the heart of Stykkishólmur, by the old church that towers over Aðalgata. There is room for 70 people indoors, and it’s also possible to sit outside when the weather’s nice. The atmosphere at Narfeyrarstofa is warm and welcoming, and the staff and the owners do everything they can to provide outstanding service to their guests.
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent, not to be missed!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant was nothing short of perfect: excellent service and extremely high quality food- I had a fish dish that was one of the best meals I have had ANYWHERE, never mind in Iceland! Everything beautifully prepared and presented. Delicious rhubarb cake for dessert. Would 100% recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    194
    49
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
“A not miss stop”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

On a recent short trip to Iceland we were fortunate enough to experience this wonderful local cafe. The setting was cozy with view of the small harbour. The wait staff was very freindly and did their best to accommdate our group at a busy time of the day. 5 of the 6 in our group had the famed fish stew. It was a piping hot, tomato based bowl of goodness. It contained a generous portion of local white fish that was mild and flaky and a generous amount of vegetables. The tomato based broth is hearty and well seansoned with aromatic herbs. It was served with a basket of small dense carroway breads. Throw in a cold Viking beer and it was spectacular. All five of us gave our experience there a 10 out of 10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stillman4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It seems Plassid and this one are now one and the same restaurant. Either that, or they just join up over winter! Either way, the staff are now the same and so is the menu. The meals are fantastic. The fish soup is as good as described by others, the seafood pasta is also fabulous and the meal sizes are generous. Narfeyrarstofa is a prettier style, whereas Plassid is cosier. They're both great little restaurants to have in such a lovely tiny town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peñíscola
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“smart cafe/ restaurant”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

we took a walk down town in our stay, in Stykkishólmur, down to the harbour. And on the way back to our hotel we saw this nice old two storage house, and went inside. We satdown for a drink. Sitting in there we saw that they have a varius fish meals. And of course lot of other dishes. The building by it selv is a reason for a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristjanandYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amazing food, great service. Menu comes with recommended beverage for that meal - take the recommendation! With a great local menu be sure to try some of the traditional Icelandic treats! Loved the seafood soup and mussels! Going back tonight :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narfeyrarstofa also viewed

Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 
Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 

Been to Narfeyrarstofa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing