We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy apartment & a born hostess”
Review of Baenir & Braud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stykkisholmur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baenir & Braud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked the apartment in the basement of Greta's B&B for a couple of nights while exploring the Snaefelsness area. It gives you more privacy and quietness then the guestrooms and we enjoyed to have more room either. It might not be the biggest accomodation tough, but it had all we needed and Greta really is the perfect hostess, making us feel home from the first moment on.
You enjoy nice views from the apartment and don't notice it's located in the basement, as it is bright. Other plusses are your own entrance, the fully equipped kitchen (we didn't need it, as all three local restaurants/cafés are nice) and the good sized, comfortable bed. And you also don't notice the people or their noice from upstairs, should you wish to sleep a bit longer. The bedroom is very small, but ok and even has a wardrobe in it. The adjoining shower room/WC on the other side is big, luxurious and very clean. The living room/kitchen/dining is nicely decorated and equipped with all you might need, altough a bit on the small side - but on the other hand, there is room enough to stow away your luggage and clothes.
Cleanliness is over all very good - apart from the kitchen where one would wish, that previous guests paid more attention to it, but we've found this common in rental properties all over Europe (or maybe we are more fussy than others?).
We did not have Greta's famous breakfasts, but really enjoyed her delicious pastries and cakes at the opening of her new hotel - and therefore assume, that breakfasts are a treat.
If you are in the area, try to book a stay at this B&B, we can only recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet and more roomy accomodation, book the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful experience! Our family (son age 10, daughter age 15) stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. From the first meeting Greta was warm, open, fun, and generous—everything you read in other reviews. In fact, our kids have continued to talk about Greta and how nice it was being there.

Our family room worked well for the four of us. Greta’s “healthy breakfast” was one of the best morning meals we have ever had. She even made her guests waffles and home-made jam one evening in honor of Iceland’s national holiday. Stykksholmer is a charming sea town and the boat ride we took was memorable.

We would come back here in a heart-beat! She is also opening up a hotel down the road which sounds like it will be quite special.

The Shapiros

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were the first lucky visitors to enjoy Greta's latest project, a new boutique hotel right in the middle of town. The small hotel is in one of the old timber buildings which has been lovingly restored and tastefully decorated. Close to the water, ferry terminal and other restaurants this is perfectly located. Greta has placed a special emphasis on the use of organic materials such as the coconut mattresses which provided a perfect night's sleep. In addition, her focus on a healthy breakfast with home made muesli, jams and fresh fruit made this stay one of our most memorable.
Pat B

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We couldn't have wished for more. We stayed in the self catering apartment and had we known how well equipped it was we would have cooked ourselves a much more elaborate meal. After 3 weeks of touring Iceland, doing as much self catering as possible we thought we were ready for anything - we had not anticipated the luxury. The warm, hospitable Greta greeted us and took us to the apartment, which is down a very steep slope, the lower part of her house. The stunning view from the living room is the very modern Stykkisholmer church and the harbour. Inside is a fully equipped kitchen with tea, coffee, condiments etc. The cooker is full size; there is plenty of work space and a generous amount of pots, pans and crockery etc. Whilst showing us the kitchen area Greta took some 'dandelion honey' she had made from the fridge and gave it to us to try. The very modern shower area had soap and handcream. The pure white bedroom was a joy with a very comfortable bed, it could just do with blackout blinds for guests not used to the constant light. The seating area was comfortable and the small dining area had the view. After a full day's walking we arrived back at the house at the same time as Greta, she said she was about to make bread and would bring some round later. We had some for our breakfast and it made a real treat. After we had left we met Greta at the harbour, she was there to oversee the last stages of renovating the second oldest 2 storey house in Iceland to become her new hotel. We feel sure it will be a great success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Staying at Greta's house was one of the nicest nights we spent in Iceland. The room was adorable, the view was great, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Greta has wonderful taste -- everything in the house is beautiful, including lovely linens, a beautiful bathroom, and a well-designed porch with hot tub. We got in late at night and left the next morning, but I really wish we had more time to relax here and chat with Greta. However, she was opening her new hotel the day we were there, so she had plenty to keep her busy! We will definitely return here on our next trip to Iceland. Thank you Greta!

Room Tip: We had a double room on the first floor, right next to the bathroom. It was a lovely room with a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thank you so much, dear Greta, for your warm welcome, the super quality of the room and bathroom, and of course, the excellent healthy breakfast we are still dreaming of ! we can only approve all the best reviews on this trip advisor page and wish you every success with your home and ... with your projects ! Thank you for all (and for the water you ordered at the swimming pool - so far the results are not spectacular but wait and see !! - maybe we are "obliged" to come back and really spend more time with you and in the swimming pool !!). Cheers, Peter and Maryse

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Thank you so very much dear Greta for you wonderful hospitality. Saga is still talking about you and when to visit Stykkisholmur again.

We had a brilliant time and hope to stay at your new Egilsen Hotel next time around.
Thank you and see you soon

Best Regards Danni, Embla & Saga.

Room Tip: There are two very nice restaurants in Stykkishomur; Narfeyrarstofa and Sjavarpakkhusid, also i reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Atlason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stykkisholmur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
326 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breidafjordur
Hotel Breidafjordur
#3 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fransiskus Hotel
Fransiskus Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
77 reviews
0 mi away
Langey Guesthouse
Langey Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Stykkisholmur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baenir & Braud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baenir & Braud

Address: Laufasvegur 1, Stykkisholmur 340, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Stykkisholmur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stykkisholmur
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed & breakfast stands on a hillside by the old town in Stykkisholmur with a panoramic view over Breidafjordu Bay in the north and the mountains in the south. It has six double bed rooms and one apartment - two double rooms are on the first floor sharing a bathroom and four double bed rooms are on the second floor sharing two bathrooms. All the rooms have access to a fridge and a coffee machine located in the hall of each respective floor. Coffee and tea is free. There is an apartment on the ground floor with a private entrance, kitchen, bathroom and living room. It is perfect for a family of four. An extra mattress can be added for kids under 14 years old. There is a living area on the first floor decorated in Scandinavian style for all guests to use. A generous breakfast (not included in price) is served there. Outside is a huge patio with hot tub which is perfect to soak in after a day of exploring the area. Parking is outside the house and is free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing