We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Solheimajokull Glacier
from $88.06
More Info
from $71.02
More Info
from $75.07
More Info
from $125.78
More Info
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
468
126
30
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
468
126
30
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews global warming car park icelandic mountain guides tongue guided hike parking lot blue ice arctic adventures black ash climate change walk up small cafe ice climbing rocky path ice picks short hike an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 624 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Absolutely stunning. The lagoon is beautiful. Highly recommend booking a guided hike. You will learn so much about the glacier and get to go where regular hiking boots cant take you!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank owensodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

This is definitely worth a visit and gives a great view of a glacier. From the parking, it’s 10 minutes or so to walk alongside the lagoon and close to the face of the glacier.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank VickyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

If you only have a few days in Iceland and are near Vik, don’t miss heading to this glacier! Without renting crampons (in April 35F weather- super cold and windy) we hiked from the parking lot to the glacier and even walked on the glacier and inside the ice tunnel/caves! This was our first experience on a glacier, and wish we had time to have rented the crampons and gone up into the glacial pass!

Again- it’s a super short turn off of the main Ring road if you’re near Vik! DO NOT MISS!!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Sladepatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

We came across Solheimajokull Glacier by accident when we were out exploring one day. Wheat an amazing find. It's a bit of a walk from the car parking area but well mapped out. Stout foot wear and warm clothing recommended. Well worth a visit a visit to get up close to a Glacier. There is a cafe and toilets in season.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 940lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

This glacier is rapidly retreating due to climate change. In the 10 years since i first visited it it has retreated about 1kilometre. We went glacier walking, all equipment provided, a very exciting and interesting experience. The walk climbs through the melting snout and onto the top of the glacier. The whole experience lasted 2.5 hours, but you can do longer walks.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews