We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location!”

Review of Thakgil

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vik, South Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Frantix
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stunning location!”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I'm writing about this beautiful campground because I want to relive how magical it was to stay here.

We drove 14 km off Route 1 to get to this absolutely secluded campground that has a few cabins (one of which we rented) or grounds to pitch tents. The campground is nestled in a valley among beautiful, mossy green hills. The cabin is well equipped and super clean - a double bunk bed, some kitchen utensils and a dining table. The surrounding area is pin drop peaceful and the air is fresh and clean. This is as close to Icelandic paradise you can get. The young lady who received us (Tanja?) was extremely polite and helpful.

There are some breathtaking hiking trails in the vicinity (see attached map), some of which lead to stunning views of glaciers and river beds with black sands.

I am glad we came here, because real Iceland is about going off-road. The drive may be tricky and need an AWD car, but every part of the drive is etched in my mind and will stay with me for a long time. If it fades, I will definitely be back for more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are really glad that you enjoyed Iceland and our cabin. You are always welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianaGe...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An amazing night.”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014 for 1 night and a day. The caretaker was very friendly and allowed us to pitch our tents where we pleased. The camp ground is very secluded, quiet, and has a group area in a volcanic cave lit with candles and has a stove. A small trail leads to a beautiful small pond which is freezing cold! Lots of terrific trails and views! Only complaint was that the showers had very little hot water, but it didn't detract from the experience.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and scenery.
Liked least: Cold shower
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pannu86
Lissone, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
857so
Toulouse
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue
Liked least: Les couchages
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing