We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had a double room with a private bathroom in the main building. We have no complaints, the room was basic but a decent size, and the bed was comfortable. We were given a 10% off voucher for dinner across the road, and we had some delicious pizza there, we'd definitely recommend it. Breakfast (which cost extra, but not too much) was the usual buffet of meat, skyr, cereal, breads, etc. I'd recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    208
    143
    37
    10
See reviews for
68
261
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We arrived in Vik after a leisurely and visually rewarding cross country tour of Iceland from Reykjavik earlier in the day. Vik was fresh and clean to seek, with a cool breeze coming from the ocean. Upon arrival at the Edda Hotel which was easy to find as Vik is so small and there is essentially only one road in and one road out, the Edda chain is clearly marked by flags at the entrance driveway to all of their hotels. Our reservations were acknowledged quickly and we were given a key to our room which was small but clean and well suited to travelers. In room internet access allowed us to connect with home and do some last minute adjustments that we forgot to do before leaving home. There is no restaurant in the hotel except for a sumptuous breakfast the next morning. The hotel provides coupons for traveler discounts at a nearby restaurant where you can get for fill of Islandic fare of pretty good pizza (which seems to be a staple around the island). The parking lot filled up throughout the evening and by moring was completely full. The sheets were wind blow fresh and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was Scandanavian in style with quite a variety of eating choices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

I booked a double room 6 months in advance, and.the hotel looked great from the road. Unfortunately a note on the door said the hotel was closed but to collect the keys to a wood chalet from the local petrol station, and food was available at the bistro behind the petrol station. What a downer.
The chalet was ok I suppose, but with twin beds not a double, and an ok shower room / wc. It was definately not the 3 star hotel I had booked and paid for, and there were none of the facilities you get in a hotel. What a downer.
We went to the bistro to dine. Unfortunately a note on the door said the bistro was closed for a private function (no sign of life there at 22.00 so, unless it was a midnight feast, the bistro was never going to be open).......the petrol station did fast food, definately not what I was expecting. What a downer.
Best thing about this 'hotel' - I only booked 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vik hotels

Sunderland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Arrived in appalling weather at 8.45 pm., having driven 750 km+ the long way round from Akureyri, only to be told that the rooms (1 double and 1 single, with private bathrooms) booked 4 months earlier were not available. I was told I had been emailed the previous day to inform me of the change in booking. THIS WAS UNTRUE AS I CHECKED MY MAIL!
Myself, my husband and my friend (female) were offered 1 room with 3 single beds in a "summerhouse" about 200 metres from the main building. No other accommodation was available for at least 100 km. so we had no choice other than to accept the one room.
The room was cramped, there was not enough space for our overnight bags - we left most of our luggage in the car. There was nowhere to sit down or dry our wet clothes (which got even wetter traipsing between the main building and our room). The bathroom was cramped with not enough space to store three toothbrushes and toothpaste. Not exactly what we had planned for our last night in Iceland.
We were given no explanation for the cancellation of our booking. However we did observe a tour bus arrive shortly after us. It is evident that the coach party was given the accommodation that we had booked. We gained the impression that it is not uncommon for bookings made by private individuals to be changed without notice to accommodate coach tours.
It is my intention to complain to the Iceland Tourist Board. We had spent 18 days touring, staying in bed and breakfast at Keflavik, the Domus guesthouse in Reykjavik, a private rental in Selfoss and summerhouses in Stykkisholmur and Akureyri. Every place was different, but all were comfortable and even better than we expected. Edda Hotel Vik was awful and a horrible way to end our holiday.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redritzema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom chalet, each with twin beds and a chair that could be converted into an extra bed. The setting was beautiful with a view of the ocean and the rock formations off the black sandy beach. There were acres of lupins and seabirds nesting in the cliffs behind the chalets- a kind of bird hotel. It was extremely clean and quiet and at $250/night for the whold chalet it was a real bargain, particularly in Iceland. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

The room is small, and a little more pricey than some places, but it makes up for all of that with the perfect view. What do you go to Vik for? I went there to find Renisdranger. We drove over night to Vik for the view....and I didn't know where it was and thought we would need to go of search of it in the morning. When we got there, the cottages were in front of a rock wall that was lit up, which was really neat, and I settled on needing to wake up early to drive out to Reynisdranger in the morning. When I woke up, THERE IT WAS! Besides the room I was in, the office where we booked the room was the only place that was closer that we were. Look at the pictures. It was great!

  • Liked — The view the view the view the view.
  • Disliked — The shower drain was just part of the floor, so the water went all over the bathroom floor. There was a squeegy, but it probably isn't the best for old people or people with disabilities.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank relocatednyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
360 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

We arrived in Vik in awful weather conditions, but our room was not available yet so we spent our time on the internet computer in the reception area (free of charge).After waiting more than two hours it turned out to be that we didn’t have a room in the main building but in one of the five summer cottages next to the hotel.

Summer cottage ia a big word for just a room. Each cottage has two small hotel rooms with basic facilities. Maybe it’s nice when the weather is good, but under the present weather conditions (heavy wind and rain) it’s not nice to stumble to your room getting wet, having dirty walking boots in your bedroom and being in a cottage that feels rather cold and humid. If we had known this beforehand we had booked another hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cold and humid room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing