We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“cute cottage”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here twice in the cottages and loved it. Loved being away from the main building and had no issues with noise from our neighbor.Breakfast was probably the best selection we had on our trip. it was fun to make your own waffles and the smoked salmon was excellent. Loved hearing the sound of the pounding surf too!

Room Tip: get the cottage
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    210
    146
    37
    10
See reviews for
68
267
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
805 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after visiting the beautiful skogafoss, the receptionist gave us a choice between a cottage and room 219 as there were plus and minus to both- the cottage is around 2 mins walk from the main building and when we entered it was filled with mold smell. There was construction above room 219 and the work won't stop before midnight ( as claimed by the receptionist) anyway we took this room as it was newly refurbished. We had set dinner and it was very nice. I loved the soup!

The only thing that I would like to see added is a toilet roll holder!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the new part of the hotel, which is still partly under construction (but no complaints about noise etc.). Room was brand new and very comfortable; good shower with great water pressure (as is the norm in Iceland), a comfortable bed and of course a water cooker with tea and coffee at your disposal.

Wi-fi in the new part of the hotel worked perfectly on my Samsung tablet, but for some reason the iPad couldn't connect, meaning we could only use the iPad near the hotel's reception area.

Breakfast was good, offering a wide variety (for Icelandic standards) including make-them-yourself waffles. Don't let them bake too shortly, otherwise they are still goo-ey inside :-)

We made the same mistake as others, driving past the hotel at first wondering "hmm, this doesn't say Edda, where is our hotel?", but as it is the only hotel in this street, I advise you to stop at the first hotel you see.

Wouldn't hesitate to return here.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages, which was very nice, if a little crowded for three, as we had an extra bed put in. The view out to the ocean was lovely, though, and the main building was a few steps away and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and breakfast was excellent. Nothing to more to ask for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was a great one night stay in the hotel's "Summer Cottages", a cute wooden cottages located right next to the hotel's main building. The room was cozy and well equipped with a small but clean shower. We had a great view of the sea and the cliffs. The breakfast is in the main building and is very nice and diverse. The only downside is that there is no wi-fi in the room, we used it in the lobby of the main building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
317 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful nights stay here as part of Iceland complete package. Food and rooms were great. It had a nice Nordic charm and the rooms were well appointed. The rooms were very roomy and the bed comfortable. The drapes kept out the light so we had no trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although I arrived in a heavy rain torment it was pretty easy to find the hotel as it was in my Garmin GPS (beware of cell-phone GPS software, they might not cover Iceland at all!). Although the Edda brand was not visible for all (some guests asked for it at a reception of the hotel...), it was clear that it's the one. The room I got was in the old part, it was sufficient for what I paid, the price was even substantially reduced as I needed only a single bed. The bed was very good (especially compared to Hilton in Reykjavik which was way too soft for me!), the amenities usual, the room clean and the breakfast was exactly what I expected and needed - lot of vegetables, eggs, some hams/bacons and of course - a waffle iron (a must in Icelandic hotel!) which obviously had problems not only in this hotel as the waffle was still a bit liquid in the middle :) However, all the "normal" food you could image for breakfast was there, only not in 25 varieties as some posh travellers demand but in 1-2 ways. The breakfast was served in 2 rooms, one for the old part of the hotel and one for the new one.
As with almost all Icelandic hotels, there is no in-room minibar and you have to buy a beer or a bottle of wine at the reception. And Icelandair's policy with WiFi - to provide either paid in-room WiFi or free WiFi in lobby with the hope of purchasing at least one really pricey beer at the reception - was also in effect here.
The hotel was full and almost everybody had to notice a Google Street camera car parking outside the hotel - the guys from "internet Big Brother" stayed at the very same hotel as I did! So if it's good for them, it has to be good for anybody.
My rating - 4****. The missing star is for the waffle iron and more seriously a missing restaurant which is available only for groups. Individuals either have to go to a restaurant across the street (do that in heavy rain...) or bring some food with them; they don't have any sandwiches at the reception.
Just a bit of trivia:
Hotel Edda is a seasonal chain of hotels of Icelandair Group which was the reason I chose it as I needed a stable WiFi and a couple of amenities (including tea kettle in the room). Edda hotels are generaly open only until mid-august, Edda Vik closing on October 1st.

Room Tip: Any room is fine; if you book a single room, you will only get a single bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing