We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed & great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed & great breakfast”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

After a few hours on the road from Hofn, this hotel hit the spot!
For those folks who haven't stayed in Iceland, let's make one thing perfectly clear: Iceland hotels do things differently. The rooms are small, the furnishings are sparse and you probably aren't going to get chocolate on your pillow.
That being said, the room will be clean, the bed will be comfortable and the staff will be helpful.
This hotel has all of the above with some extras:
Nice size room with BIG bathroom AND shampoo & soap. The front desk gladly provided a hair dryer upon request.
But the best part of our stay was BREAKFAST. The usual Iceland offerings plus a WAFFLE IRON.

If I'm in Vik again (and I just might be in June!) I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    213
    153
    41
    11
See reviews for
70
278
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are thinking of heading to Iceland, then I recommend you go to a gorgeous little town; Vik. If you're going to Vik, then I highly recommend you stay at Hotel Edda!

I recently went there for a wedding, and you would never have guessed that a small little place could be so well organised! From yummy breakfasts every morning, to helping organise bonfires on the big day! That sort of friendly, helpful service allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the special occassion.

The hotel is clean and prestine and on one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see. The views at dawn and dusk are simply picturesque! Rooms included: comfy beds, heating, TV, kettle with tea and coffee, and a modern bathroom.

Highly recommend Vik as a location in Iceland and absolutely recommend Hotel Edda!

Thank-you Hotel Edda staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Edda to attend a wedding that was held at the beach right across the road from the hotel.

Throughout my stay, the staff were extremely accommodating to both myself and all of the wedding party. They ensured our rooms were clean and comfortable and put on an excellent traditional Icelandic breakfast for us every morning. They were also happy for us to make ourselves comfortable in the reception/lounge area and enjoy ourselves to all hours of the night.

I stayed in a twin bed room which was clean, comfortable and nice and warm during the cold Icelandic winter. We were provided with fresh towels every day and could make tea and coffee in our room. Laundry and tumble dryer services are provided if needed. There was also high speed wireless available throughout all of the hotel.

Apart from the amazing facilities, the hotel's location also provides beautiful views of the adjacent beach and surrounding mountains. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Vik to stay at Hotel Edda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Edda while attending a wedding of friends. The hotel staff made us feel completely welcome and attended to our every need.

Breakfast was plentiful - an icelandic style continental affair - breads cheeses and spreads, salamis and hams, fruit, cereal, cakes, plus tea, coffee and juices. It set us up for every day and the views towards the beach from the tall triangular windows here, and in the lounge, were perfectly positioned for sunrise and sunset.

The rooms were clean and cosy. Twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities, dressing table and mirror, small TV and bathroom with shower including shampoos and shower gel. If you need a hair dryer or iron then reception are happy to oblige, and laundry facilities were also available.

Trips and tours can also be booked via the hotel and across the grass area towards the beach you will find a restaurant and cafe also owned by the hotel where the wedding reception was held. The sunset through these windows and the view of the coastline was beautiful.

I would come back here in a flash. The hotel and staff made our stay wonderful and without stress.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclellanjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel Edda is a truly top winter hotel in a magnificent location. Surrounded by breathtaking landscape Hotel Edda managed by awesome staff , looked after our party of friends like we were family. Elias went out of his way to help us celebrate And create the perfect wedding location.Also Elias and his family and great staff operate the restaurant located looking over the magnificent Vic beach where we held the wedding reception. Their attention to making this celebration better than we could have dreamed of we can not thank them enough for. We will be going back and can recommend anyone to put Hotel Edda on the top of "must visit " holiday destinations. Thank you Elias and family and staff for arranging the most fantastic event for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are great :) mountains on one side , beach on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently had our wedding in Vik, on the beach and stayed at Hotel Edda.
We could not have been any happier with our stay. IT WAS INCREDIBLE. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely and are willing to do anything to make your stay amazing.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and well looked after.
Breakfast was delicious. And the area was magnificent.
The hotel also has a restaurant on the beach for hire. This is where we had our reception. Again.... PERFECT. We were just blown away with the service and location and EVERYTHING.
Visiting Vik in winter is a MUST. It is beautiful.
Thank you Hotel Edda for making us feel so welcome. We will be back.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss, and the beautiful basalt columns and terrain features of Vik Beach are all easily accessible from here. There is also a nearby service station and food which is very handy!

The actual cabins are very nice and picturesque, but are not the most private as people have eluded to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
504 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
113 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing