We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently had our wedding in Vik, on the beach and stayed at Hotel Edda.
We could not have been any happier with our stay. IT WAS INCREDIBLE. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely and are willing to do anything to make your stay amazing.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and well looked after.
Breakfast was delicious. And the area was magnificent.
The hotel also has a restaurant on the beach for hire. This is where we had our reception. Again.... PERFECT. We were just blown away with the service and location and EVERYTHING.
Visiting Vik in winter is a MUST. It is beautiful.
Thank you Hotel Edda for making us feel so welcome. We will be back.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    180
    111
    30
    7
See reviews for
56
212
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss, and the beautiful basalt columns and terrain features of Vik Beach are all easily accessible from here. There is also a nearby service station and food which is very handy!

The actual cabins are very nice and picturesque, but are not the most private as people have eluded to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a packaged tour. Dinners in the hotel were very yummy, especially the soups. Convenient location. Tourist shops just across the street. Close enough to walk into the town to bank or shop. The room was nice. All rooms are on ground level. Bathroom can get a bit wet from the shower, but that could be that we aren't used to that type (shower curtain only, not an enclosure).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're visiting Vik to take pictures of the sea stacks, this is THE best location. You can walk across the road and down the beach easily to get to the stacks. If you have a car, you can easily drive to Dyrholaey from here, too. The rooms are basic and either face the cliff in back or face the highway and the ocean. The rooms are nothing to write home about. They seem to cater to groups and bus tours. Breakfast is large and quite varied. Wi-fi is available in the lobby. You can buy beer from the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We toured Iceland in June, following the ring road anticlockwise. We decided to spend the first night at Vik. This is a small village in a magnificent setting by the sea. Built at the foot of a cliff, the hotel rooms offer very nice views at the black beach. The room was average, clean and simple. Generally accomodation in Iceland is expensive, so don't expect to find something much cheaper. In any case, you shouldn't really mind about the room. Take a walk around the village and down to the beach and you will be more than compensated by the silentness, the beauty of the scenery, the really almost unearthly environment. Opt for the restaurant acroos the street: good food, really friendly service and a 10% discount if you are a hotel client.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are rooms in the main hotel as well as cabins away from the hotel. We stayed in one of the cabins and found that the room was quite rustic in the fact that the bed, bedding and couch were very worn.

The washroom is very small and the shower does not have a stall, just a curtain to hold back some of the water. In the end, everything gets wet in the bathroom. This is a common style of shower around Iceland, but we found this one the worst of them all. The hotel provided Dove bodywash and shampoo...which we appreciated.

The hotel is located right on the highway and is easily accessible by car and on foot.
There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, check-in was easy and the main desk staff was friendly.

There is a grocery store just minutes away, however they close pretty early (around 7 pm when we were there). There is also one gas station, one restaurant grill and one fancier restaurant all in one building just across the highway from the hotel.

The breakfast was a pure continental breakfast. Selection was average.

This hotel is relatively close to two of Iceland's more popular waterfalls, Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss. If you want to spend a lot of time there, then this hotel would be a good place to stop at for the night.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins. #5 is a decent distance from the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vik hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel and found everything comfortable and clean. Staff at the front desk were accommodating, providing extra pillows when we asked and general helpful advice. The restaurant across the street was very good for dinner. Breakfast in the morning at the hotel was plentiful with quite a bit of selection including waffles. The hotel will also make you a lunch to go which we took advantage of and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. Only draw back was that it was impossible to keep the bathroom floor dry while having a shower ... needed many towels to mop up the water!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
5.0 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vik
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Property: Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing