We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently had our wedding in Vik, on the beach and stayed at Hotel Edda.
We could not have been any happier with our stay. IT WAS INCREDIBLE. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely and are willing to do anything to make your stay amazing.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and well looked after.
Breakfast was delicious. And the area was magnificent.
The hotel also has a restaurant on the beach for hire. This is where we had our reception. Again.... PERFECT. We were just blown away with the service and location and EVERYTHING.
Visiting Vik in winter is a MUST. It is beautiful.
Thank you Hotel Edda for making us feel so welcome. We will be back.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 537 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss, and the beautiful basalt columns and terrain features of Vik Beach are all easily accessible from here. There is also a nearby service station and food which is very handy!

The actual cabins are very nice and picturesque, but are not the most private as people have eluded to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a packaged tour. Dinners in the hotel were very yummy, especially the soups. Convenient location. Tourist shops just across the street. Close enough to walk into the town to bank or shop. The room was nice. All rooms are on ground level. Bathroom can get a bit wet from the shower, but that could be that we aren't used to that type (shower curtain only, not an enclosure).

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're visiting Vik to take pictures of the sea stacks, this is THE best location. You can walk across the road and down the beach easily to get to the stacks. If you have a car, you can easily drive to Dyrholaey from here, too. The rooms are basic and either face the cliff in back or face the highway and the ocean. The rooms are nothing to write home about. They seem to cater to groups and bus tours. Breakfast is large and quite varied. Wi-fi is available in the lobby. You can buy beer from the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We toured Iceland in June, following the ring road anticlockwise. We decided to spend the first night at Vik. This is a small village in a magnificent setting by the sea. Built at the foot of a cliff, the hotel rooms offer very nice views at the black beach. The room was average, clean and simple. Generally accomodation in Iceland is expensive, so don't expect to find something much cheaper. In any case, you shouldn't really mind about the room. Take a walk around the village and down to the beach and you will be more than compensated by the silentness, the beauty of the scenery, the really almost unearthly environment. Opt for the restaurant acroos the street: good food, really friendly service and a 10% discount if you are a hotel client.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are rooms in the main hotel as well as cabins away from the hotel. We stayed in one of the cabins and found that the room was quite rustic in the fact that the bed, bedding and couch were very worn.

The washroom is very small and the shower does not have a stall, just a curtain to hold back some of the water. In the end, everything gets wet in the bathroom. This is a common style of shower around Iceland, but we found this one the worst of them all. The hotel provided Dove bodywash and shampoo...which we appreciated.

The hotel is located right on the highway and is easily accessible by car and on foot.
There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, check-in was easy and the main desk staff was friendly.

There is a grocery store just minutes away, however they close pretty early (around 7 pm when we were there). There is also one gas station, one restaurant grill and one fancier restaurant all in one building just across the highway from the hotel.

The breakfast was a pure continental breakfast. Selection was average.

This hotel is relatively close to two of Iceland's more popular waterfalls, Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss. If you want to spend a lot of time there, then this hotel would be a good place to stop at for the night.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins. #5 is a decent distance from the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel and found everything comfortable and clean. Staff at the front desk were accommodating, providing extra pillows when we asked and general helpful advice. The restaurant across the street was very good for dinner. Breakfast in the morning at the hotel was plentiful with quite a bit of selection including waffles. The hotel will also make you a lunch to go which we took advantage of and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. Only draw back was that it was impossible to keep the bathroom floor dry while having a shower ... needed many towels to mop up the water!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
4.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guesthouse Carina
Guesthouse Carina
#3 of 14 in Vik
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal

Address: Klettsvegur, Vik 870, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range: $183 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Vik i Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing