We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First night of a nine day REI tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dyrholaey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dyrholaey
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Cave Junction, OR
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First night of a nine day REI tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the first overnight on a nine day REI tour around Iceland. The location is lovely, set high on a hill with stunning views. We were put into the newest wing which was very nice. It was super clean and very comfy - the bed and linens were great. They served us a super fish dinner and the breakfast buffet the next morning was equally good. This hotel made a great start to our fantastic trip.

Room Tip: Apparently this hotel has been added on to several times. Definitely ask for a room in the newest w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    68
    18
    6
See reviews for
49
87
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have traveled a lot and in many places, and I have never experienced equal lack of hospitality and overall service, and I have traveled in deepest South America and Africa!

It all started out nice as our group of 40 people arrived and got our keys, then we got to the dorm and it smelled not so nice - probably close to some sewage, and then stains in both towels and bed sheets, this i can live with personally even though I find it disgusting. Hoping this would be all I would be happy - as we had a 5 night stay here. Now after a long day of activities everyone just wants a hot shower and a nice meal. What are we offered? Well showers that only let out the tiniest amount of water and at best slightly warm - that is for the first person - if the second and I dare not say third person wants to shower...well you might just as well forget it unless you want an ice-bath.

Now to the meals - that we paid for per person similar prices to some very decent meals in Reykjavik (and sending costs are not this high) - how can I start - one night we had such dry fish nobody ate it - another some sort meat (god know what was in that) in a pre-made lasagna (I would recognize the taste of Knorr anywhere) - and the list goes on - The most eatable thing at night was some excuse of a soup: water with a bit of veg at its best! - And this we paid for, peer pressure I guess, but most folks had quit eating by second or third day and got themselves extra food when the bus stopped in the day. And breakfast - to most the most important meal of the day - hmmm - well there was unhealthy bread and cheerios and cheapest kind of ham, and when the staff and owners were asked if they couldn't serve us some eggs as well, just to put on the bread, they said plainly NO! And were rude about it as well - anyways definitely if nothing else do not eat HERE!

To the service - while I was at Hotel Dyrholaey - there was not one Icelandic person working for them - only Polish (which are most likely not getting well paid - as not one of them smiled the whole 5 days!) The owners themselves didn't even have any decency to show hospitality - my guess is they care more about easy money than their clients.

DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS FORCED TO!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vik hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 whilst renovations were still being completed. The owner was embarrassed that the renovation was still active and offered us another hotel. The restaurant was also closed. We opted to stay and the facility was very adequate with hot showers, a large bed and couch in the room. Free wifi and a good breakfast. The hotel is simple but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadbysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good value for money. Hotel's in the countryside with a view over Dyrholaey beach. The Northern Lights appeared spectacularly the night we stayed there which was a bonus. Rooms comfortable and spotless. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Only negative was we arrived at about 8pm and they said it was too late to eat there. Vik however is just a short drive away and we ate there. It was out of season and we were the only guests staying that night so during the season i'm sure this wouldn't be the case.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellersussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip along the south of Iceland. We didn’t have many hotel options, but this turned out to be great. Free wi-fi, great views of the local area, and the same basic breakfast we got at most hotels. I am a lighter sleeper, and had no trouble sleeping here. Overall a more basic (versus fancy) hotel - but this is in line with what we saw during our trip around Iceland.

The night we were there, it was my husband and I, along with three large tour groups. They were clearly overwhelmed with feeding all of them, but accommodated us nonetheless. We were able to join with one of the tour groups for their dinner buffet. We had no delays checking in/out from these large groups, so I think they did a great job managing it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not a bad place, but don't expect anything spectacular while in the Vik area.

While we were there the place was full of British school children, but the layout of the hotel minimized the impact that they had.

The meals were decent, but definately not anything to write home about as it were.

Never managed to find anyone working at the front desk with the exception of check in/out time. This presented a few problems when I needed to address some concerns, but thankfully they were nothing critical.

The rooms were suprisingly large, and the view was spectacular.

The isolation is fantastic if that's what you're looking for, but if you'd like something closer to town, keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd_is_Lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we arrived for two nights prebooked stay, the owner was very apolagetic that the hotel was full of school chilren (British!) and offered us a free dinner and removal to another hotel further down the road. it seemed to us as if the place was undergoing some reconstruction and wasn't finished, but we were extremely impressed by the meall we received, and the toilets and reception areas were very smart and we were super impressed by his helpfulness!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicyclebelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
4.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
7.5 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
12.4 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dyrholaey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dyrholaey

Property: Hotel Dyrholaey
Address: Brekkur 1, Vik 871, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dyrholaey 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dyrholaey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dyrholaey Hotel Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing