We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dyrholaey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dyrholaey
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of our southern coast self-drive tour. The hotel was great, the room was clean, we had free wireless and a good breakfast. Not many places to stay around Vik, but I'm sure this was the best! We opted to have dinner in town on a cold and rainy night ... it was magical!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    81
    46
    12
    3
See reviews for
35
63
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Have stayed here before and am quite happy with service, hotel and standard of food. No, it isn't top notch, but you aren't paying top price either! This time the room was clean and spacious. Bathroom excellent. Area is quiet and the views phenomenal! Staff work hard as there can be a lot of people in if there are several busloads staying. The food we had was very good indeed. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is several miles outside of Vik which we didn't realize. The weather was also pretty bad when we were there which put a bit of a damper on our stay. Nonetheless, the room was spacious (although the bathroom particularly basic) and clean. We had a view of the coast which, despite the rain and clouds, was beautiful. We may have been the only people there other than a school group - and we never heard them. The owners were very accommodating to our changing needs. If you're not looking for a place in town, this offers a great view, good value and clean, basic rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night in March of 2012. You've read the reviews. Yes, it's "basic." However, the rooms are very big and the bed was really really comfortable. Heck, they even had a free working internet station which is more than I can say for a nice Icelandair hotel we stayed in. You can't beat the location of this place. Great view. "Central" to the local sites. GREAT place to stay for winter aurora shooting as there are wonderful shooting locations within a short drive. The hotel was a tremendous value. Really a great price for one night, dinner and dessert for two, and breakfast.

During the winter they have a very limited menu. (Do you want chicken or fish?) However, the meal we had there was excellent! The food really surprised us because we weren't expecting much being out in the middle of nowhere in Iceland in March.

Room Tip: In the winter, every room is a good room. Hardly anybody else was there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swissclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were the only occupants for the one night that we spent there and as such it was very peaceful. The room we had was the smallest of any of the places we stayed in Icelend and seemed to be past its best but it was OK. The hotel location must be its strongest feature with great views across the water and towards the headland.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

A superb hotel for school trips with reasonably sized rooms and a large dining room area. The hotel also has large areas for pupils to sit and relax or do work. Breakfast and dinner were both average but there was enough. A real positive was the ability to make your own packed lunch. Rooms were clean and comfortable and overall great for school parties.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel Dyrholaey is "bus" destination hotel, suddenly full of lots of people. Nevertheless, the room was comfortable and the food (dinner and breakfast) was good. The sitting room provides lots of areas for group seating to play cards, chat or read.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeF60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
4.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
4.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
7.5 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
1.5 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
21.9 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dyrholaey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dyrholaey

Property: Hotel Dyrholaey
Address: Brekkur 1, Vik 871, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dyrholaey 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dyrholaey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dyrholaey Hotel Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing