We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Like Vik Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Charming accommodation in a recently renovated house with great views of this picturesque coastal village. Immaculately clean and tastefully furnished, the experience was greatly enhanced by the conviviality and helpfulness of the owner, Hrönn, She was a fount of knowledge about the area with lots of useful tips on things to do and see. The breakfast was utterly scrumptious with a wide selection of home made goodies and local products. Good Wi-Fi.
Not to be missed is a visit to the nearby Reynisfjara beach. On the main highway back to Reykjavik just outside Vik, take a left hand turn and drive down to the coastline. In addition to some great views of the this spectacular coastline you will see some of the best columnar basalt formations in Iceland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowsbydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are stopping in Vík overnight, you must stay at Mrs. Hrönn's guest house (Like Vik). She was the most charming host, full of recommendations throughout Iceland, and just a downright generous, kind person. I was one in a group of six travelers, and we so enjoyed our time in her home. We were lucky to meet Hrönn's daughter as well, I have fond memories of our conversations with the two of them over the course of the night we stayed there.

The rooms were spotless, the linens fluffy and clean, and each bed came with a fresh towel (all perfectly placed upon our arrival). She was even prepared with a tray of glasses for everyone to drink out of, tourism pamphlets for us to flip through, and wifi password written on the whiteboard.

We woke up that next morning to a blizzard outside the window, and the power had gone out…but Hrönn was prepared, already lighting candles all over the house and preparing breakfast all the same, which made for such a special experience. The power came back on 30 minutes later, but it was a treat to discuss our plans for the day over candlelight. Breakfast was delicious, prepared by Hrönn, and was included in the price.

Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were so glad to have found this beautiful guesthouse upon arriving in Vik, with a lovely owner who was so friendly and gave us great recommendations and a gorgeous breakfast the next morning. The rooms were fantastic and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Would have happily stayed longer if we'd had the time. Exactly the kind of experience any traveler could hope for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed only 1 night but would gladly have stayed longer. Beautiful rooms, wonderful wonderful breakfast, superlovely hostess and a gorgeous view of Vik. Just a short walk from The Beach (wow!). Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Once you find this charming guesthouse, you will be as thrilled as we were. Got into town around 5 in the evening and Hionn, the owner, greeted us at the door and led us into our spotless accommodations. The rooms were spacious, with a view to die for. The owner was so friendly and gave us multiple recommendations on what to see, where to eat, and what to skip. Being overwhelmed with the choices of fabulous sights, the advice was greatly appreciated. She was spot on with all her directions and we can't wait to visit again. By the way, she even made room in the fridge for our personal mini bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
257 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Einarsstadir Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Like Vik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Like Vik Guesthouse

Property: Like Vik Guesthouse
Address: Sudurvikurvegur 8a, Vik 870, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing