We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Vik B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very helpfull, allowing us to check in after the posted hours. Rooms were very basic, with three single beds in them. Having an available kitchen was helpfull, however, the wifi in the room didn't work, the lobby wifi worked well. Breakfast was great. In short, it was the most expensive place we've stayed in iceland, 87 euro for one night in a twin room with a shared bathroom, and we felt that it was not worth the money

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadilending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of April. The location is very well marked and easily found, just right off the Ring Road. It takes approx. 20 minutes to drive from the guesthouse to Vik town centre where most of the groceries and restaurants are. Note that groceries open late and close early here. I remember it being open 12-4pm weekdays, then closed during sundays, so swing by here to check it's schedule if you're starting to run out of food;otherwise, you'll end up spending a little bit more on restaurant meals.

The guesthouse is within a farm compound, separate from the host's house. Continental breakfast is served at the hosts' house. Continental breakfast included coffee, cereals, bread, liver spread, hard-boiled egg, smoked fish (best guess=salmon) and some desserts. Dinner is available upon request.

Rooms are quite small but adequate (we selected the 2 single bed room). Theres a small bedside table, table that folds onto the wall with two seats and a lounging chair. Bathroom is regular-sized, with a hair-dryer with 110VAC outlet, sink, toilet and shower. Another bonus here is the hot water doesn't smell of sulphur. Noise of cars from the highway was not an issue here

Hosts are friendly and accommodating, happy to provide suggestions for your next Iceland destination. Farm dog is really friendly and can be petted - don't be scaredif he/she stands on hind legs and leans on you.

I would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ishtihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sylviebellerive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dubaldein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 903sarinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres côté sud sont plus lumineuses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
592 reviews
0 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
0 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
0 mi away
Guesthouse Steig
Guesthouse Steig
#4 of 15 in Vik
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse

Address: Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: $106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solheimahjaleiga B&B’s rooms offer simple, modern decor and bathroom facilities are shared. Breakfast is served daily, and dish-of-the-day specials are possible on request. Solheimahjaleiga is 24 km west from Vik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing