We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Nearby Hotels
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Katla(Vik)(Great Value!)
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Skogar(Skogar)
$307
$276
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UMI Hotel(Hvolsvollur)
$367
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Country Hotel Anna(Hvolsvollur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
208
11
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
11
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakessmoked hamhomemade jamsamazing breakfastbreadher husbandsalted lambhome madeflax seedhome from homestayed longerwatching tvattached bathrooma wonderful place to staymeet other guestsensuite roomevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 220 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. We were greeted warmly with tea, coffee and cake and given a tour of the house. The guesthouse is very clean and tidy, the bedroom was cozy and Eva is just a sweetheart. She is full of information and always has a smile on her face. She makes an amazing spread for breakfast, which is served family style for all of the guests to share together. Absolutely loved the stay and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

While this guesthouse is only a couple years old, when you walk in, it feels brand new. It's warm, clean, inviting, and there's always plenty of tea/coffee and cake to be had!

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were immaculate. Our room was on the second floor, which shares a bathroom with the other room, and we didn't even notice the other guests. Eva makes sure all her guests feel at home.

The beds are like sleeping on clouds, which made it very difficult to get out of bed in the morning for the amazing spread that Eva offers for breakfast. Lunch is hard to come by in the South region of Iceland, so we made sure to pack away as many of her homemade pancakes, jams, and rolls as we possibly could.

I'm not sure how she manages to run the guesthouse with such precision and care, with two sons and a farm of sheep to tend to. All the while, she makes sure that your stay is a great one. She's incredibly kind and friendly, and, if you're like us, you'll be sad to leave.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very warm welcome, you feel immediately home, we received tea or coffee ( you can take whenever you want), a peace of delicious cake and could ask a lot of questions. The lady gave us some local information that you could never ever find in any book. The rooms were good decorated and very spacious, clean, there was a shared dining place where we could cook, whatch even tv ( even if we had one at our room too) and chat with the other guests with a nice cup of coffee. Breakfast was heaven with homemade bread, scones, pancakes, jams,... juices, fruit,... Realy excellent! The lady was very very helpfull, so friendly and even made some phone calls for us. Such a warm guesthouse, the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have lovely stay here where we were welcomed and given home made cake and tea on arrival. Our room was lovely and with nice attention to detail.
Breakfast was a feast of homemade bread and jams. Great stopover and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. We had chosen this b&b due to the reviews here on Tripadvisor, and I'm glad we did. Before arriving we were wondering if we would be met with coffee and homemade cake, as someone wrote in their review, and yes, this is exactly how we were welcomed! And the cake was sooo good! The service is super-friendly, breakfast is delicious and it is located next to the amazing black beaches of Vik. Vik also has a few good restaurants, plus you could make your own food at the b&b (though while we were there no one did). We were traveling with two small children (4years and 4months) so we were slightly concerned that others might make a bit noise during the evening when the children slept, but actually everyone went to their own rooms and kept To themselves. During breakfast it was nice to meet other travelers and our 4year old loved the animals, especially the b&b's own dog :)

It was slightly challenging to find the b&b. Note that it is not in Vik, but a short drive away. Our navigation system couldn't find it by name, but using 'Gardakot' as the search name the system found it. The sign is very small, so look our for a wooden post with a small sign :)

This was a great place and we would definitely visit again. Thank you Eva and Julia for a great stay!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children send a quick email to the b&b when booking and inform them you are traveling with a child/children -they will ensure you get the bigger room which has room for an extra bed/cot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews