We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Ranked #2 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Eva, the owner welcomed us with tea and cake, we sat outside and enjoyed the view and chatted with her in the sunshine. The guesthouse is of the highest standard absolutely spotless and light and modern. The breakfast was served in a living room cum dining area which was so relaxed you felt immediately at home. There is no need to feel trapped in your room. The dog Tina who lives on the farm is friendly and loves looking at the chickens which made our stay feel home from home. A real pleasure to stay at such a well kept and thought out accommodation in a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Guest House Gardakot was a welcome surprise during our trip to southern Iceland. We were expecting a simple farm stay, but got a very lovely bed and breakfast experience in an incomparable location. Eva, the host, warmly greeted us with tea and cake. Our room with adjoining bathroom was large, modern, and very well-appointed. The highlight of our stay, though, was breakfast the next day. Eva serves eggs and smoked lamb from the farm along with fruit, fresh baked breads, and homemade Icelandic pancakes. All were delicious. The morning got even better when we drove to the end of the peninsula and saw nesting puffins. Amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor room with private bath and were very happy. We didn't hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hindulovegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

After staying in several pleasant but run-of-the-mill hotels, this was a real treat. The welcome was warm and genuine with complimentary coffee and piece of cake, which was just the job after a 500km drive. Our room was stylish and spotless and the beds so comfortable we almost didn't want to get out of them in the morning! But the breakfast is not to be missed: a huge spread of breads, fresh made pancakes, typical Icelandic smoked lamb, cheese, coffee and more. You definitely won't go hungry here! Guests all sit around one table, giving a really cosy family feeling. Families with children are also welcome. We recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

OMG!
This B&B is simply amazing. The house is very well appointed, our room was simply wonderful. The bathroom is huge and the décor is wonderful.
We were welcomed by Julia (employee from Latvia, unfortunately not a local landlady, but she was marvelous!) with a homemade delicious cake and a cup of tea.
Breakfast was also wonderful, again, thanks to Julia who cares for her guests as good as the lodging is.
We slept very well, the bedding was of excellent quality.
We had a GPS in which we put the coordinates we received with our reservation on booking.com, which was a good solution, because the address wasn't known by our GPS, and there is only a small sign on the road, which you only see once you found the place, to indicate the road to the house.
There are only 4 rooms, hope you will be able to get one, as this B&B fills quickly!
There are self catering facilities if you want to cook yourself a meal.
If you have any questions regarding the B&B, don't hesitate to contact me.

If you found the review helpful, click helpful! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed one night in a very modern, comfortable, well furnished, ensuite room. Located on a working farm, the accommodation is in a separate building. The host is very friendly and helpful. There is a common lounge and kitchen area for the use of guests. Spectacular coastal scenery is nearby. The farm has a lovely rural setting. We had our best breakfast in Iceland at Gardakot. Freshly baked rolls and pancakes and smoked lamb and home made jams from the farm. Plenty of everything. A very comfortable stay in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed overnight in May on the way from Reykavik to the Jokulsarlon. We loved everything about Gardakot--the house (charming) the hospitality (inviting) breakfast (delicious!) the countryside (amazing--especially if you are drawn to the ocean, birds, columnar basalt formations and lighthouses). And the baby lambs were so sweet!

Room Tip: Choose ant of the four--you couldn't possibly go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frekar_vera_a_Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay! I completely agree with the previous reviews. The guesthouse is stylish, modern yet rustic and beautifully decorated. Home made breakfast is to die for, views are horgrous, beds are warm and comfortable and the host is super acommodating. She welcomed us with delicious cake in the afternoon and candles in the evening. I LOVED the place. The only downside is that it was terribly expensive. Maybe because we came in high season? To book a cheaper room, I would suggest looking into booking a room upstairs, with shared bathroom. It is equally beautiful. That is my main tip. Also, upstairs seems to be more private. The rooms downstairs are directly connected to the kitchen. The reason why I am giving them four stars is also because they might be still new into the business and need to train their staff. The host had to leave early so lovely Julia cooked breakfast. During the breakfast tho, the cleaner came (at 9 am) and sat with us at the table with not a word! She was just sipping our coffee and staring at us. Odd! Afterwards she sat with this coffee in front of our room, again staring at us and our door. We felt uncomfortable and pushed to leave early, even though the check out time was 11... Cleaner aside, it was a gorgeous place and I highly recommend it if you manage to get a good price!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.2 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
580 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
507 reviews
4.8 mi away
Guesthouse Carina
Guesthouse Carina
#3 of 14 in Vik
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Guesthouse Gardakot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Guesthouse Gardakot

Address: Gardakot, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: $150 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Guesthouse Gardakot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing