We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of Hvoll Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hvoll Cottages
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My only regret is that I didn't stay longer. The cabin was clean, warm, and cozy. The family who owns the cottages was extremely friendly and helpful. On top of this, it's a short walk to the famous black sand beaches of Vik and located at the base of Katla. Cannot recommend this place enough. Great deal too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystalmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Amazing isolated group of only four cottages in the middle of a field 15km from Vik (beware these cottages are 15km before Vik off the route 1 if you're heading here from Reykjavik...they are not in Vik itself as tripadvisor states)...They are brand new, super warm, spacious yet cozy, fully equipped wooden lodges with excellent quality fittings and 24/7 warm showers. The guy who owns them is lovely, very down-to-earth and extremely helpful. They are excellent value for the cottages in themselves given that everything is brand new and the shower etc is of excellent quality, but the location is unbeatable if you're looking for a peaceful isolated place with a 360 degree view of the sky away from light pollution. We saw not only the stars, but shooting stars, the Milky Way and the Northern Lights. We literally couldn't go to sleep because the views of all this was so spectacular! When I return to Iceland I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teenytinytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

There aren't many choices to stay for a group of friends around Vik. We stayed in Hvoll Cottages because it's the best bet for the money.

The cottage is easy to find if you have the GPS coordinates. We had some trouble because it was cold and rainy and really dark at night. Even when we arrive the reception area we couldn't see where we were going and was on the phone with the owner trying to find our way.

The cottage itself is VERY small for 4 people. It has everything you need and very clean but it was just really small of a group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of friend s so we rented two of the cottages , on arrival booking in was easy and the cottages were just what we expected , they were well set up for everything u needed and they were both clean , we really enjoyed our stay and the view was lovely in the morning , for the price you pay these are well worth a stay and more enjoyable than staying in a hotel

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jojo0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was one of the best places I stayed in Iceland! The setting is amazing, easy to find and really well set up. Everything we needed. Bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms are a bit small but found that everywhere. Everything was very clean. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The cottage itself was very nice and in a beautiful setting. It was cosy and and very close to the beach and you can also do horse riding there. However, the cottage was not very clean at all and the when having shower the whole floor was flooded.
I wouldn't necessarily recommend horse riding there either, the beach itself is wonderful for riding but the staff seemed a little inexperienced and horses were not so very good. But for exploring the area this is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiiaKFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family of five had a great two-night stay at Hvoll Cottages. There are two cottages currently at Hvoll, and two more are being built. Each has a separate bedroom with a bunk bed, along with a foldout sofa in the living space. We took the sleeping bag option, bringing our own linens.

The location is close to the Ring Road, but far enough away to seem "isolated", as others have said. This is a perfect home base from which to explore South Iceland, the Mýrdalsjökull glacier, and other areas around Vik. The property itself borders the absolutely beautiful black sand beaches of the Dyrhólaey peninsula, and one can easily walk to the ocean and see for many miles down the beach without any signs of civilization. The farm setting is nice, with many cows and sheep, and the property hosts are quite friendly.

We stayed at four cottages on a trip throughout Iceland and this one was the perfect size for us (2 adults and 3 children).

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Robogator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
7.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
10.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
581 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
301 reviews
5.1 mi away
Black Beach Suites
Black Beach Suites
#1 of 11 in Vik
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hvoll Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hvoll Cottages

Address: Road 2160, Vik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing