We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cottage near Dyrholaey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hvoll Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hvoll Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Tours, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage near Dyrholaey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We slept one night in February in a cottage. the cottage was clean, really cosy and comfortable!
In the morning we woke up with an amazing view on Dyrolaey with a sunrise :)
The cottage isoltaed, so we have a peaceful atmosphere, away from the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DedelleLacroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    29
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newhaven
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A great choice if you are staying in this area of Iceland.

Very clean room and nice and warm.

Not alot to do and i would recommend that you shop before you arrive as Vik doesn't have any decent supermarkets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdavies2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week, the cottages are in an isolated position near to the coast which gives amazing views, the sunsets were really nice. The cottage is well equipped and clean. There was plenty of space for the 2 of us, having a double bedroom (with extra bunk over it) and a separate lounge (with sofa bed). The shower was surprisingly very powerful and we didn't want to get out after a hike up a snowy volcano! The supermarket in nearby Vik closed at 6pm so we were limited to what food we could get in the petrol station on the first night. The road leading to the cottage is quite rough and was a little bit hard going for our basic car, I would've thought in the snow you would need a 4WD and luckily there is a sign on the main road otherwise we wouldn't have found it! I would very much recommend a stay here! The owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissCake17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent the first night of our tour at Hvoll near Vik. We were made welcome by the friendly owner who offered her help if we were to need it. The cottages appeared quite new and ours was very comfortable and well fitted out. We had everything we needed, the kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was a good standard. It was very windy and bitterly cold the night we stayed but we were warm and cosy inside the cottage.

The cottage is located very close to the ring road as is signposted well and is easy to find. It is in a very peaceful setting with great views of the surrounding scenery. Hvoll cottages are a lovely place to stay at a most reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We got a lovely cottage at a great price. There are two wooden Cottages available for rent, each one consists of a lovely patio, a living room with sofas, table and chairs and a fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom has everything you need, with a good shower. The bedroom has a double bed and a single bunk bed.
The owner was very nice, we needed to postpone our arrival because of ship delay and there were no problem and no charges!
I definetely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italiantraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
7.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
7.1 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
10.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Guesthouse Gardakot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hvoll Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hvoll Cottages

Property: Hvoll Cottages
Address: Road 2160, Vik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vik
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing