We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant: good local fish”
Review of Hotel Hofdabrekka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Food here is expensive (as usual in Iceland), but the fish is fresh and freshly prepared.
We tried the smoked salmon, followed by the fried trout, and we were satisfied.
Also, the Viking beer is cold and good :-)

Free (and fast by Islandic standards) wlan everywhere.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place has the distinct feel of a country hostal for school groups. In fact there were a few school classes while we stayed. Our room actually was quite good but it really lacked some charm. Breakfast was not great but OK. Price was not over the top.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Needed a place to stay while travelling with my parents and partner. Saw this place in a guidebook and decided to take a chance. Rooms were perfect, staff were friendly, and everything was clean. The hot tub and sauna were amazing after a long day of exploring around Vik and loved the option to cook for ourselves. There was even a dog! Liked the first night so much we stayed a second.
Was there during low season and the owners were doing work to improve the site before the summer rush. Looks like exciting times for this little hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here on the way back from the Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. This hotel was the closest available to the lagoon on our westward trail at the time we booked. We stayed at the lagoon until sunset began and made it to the hotel shortly after it was truly dark (it gets dark very slowly in August). Even though we arrived late just a quarter of an hour before the bar closed, the hotel went out of their way to make us a sandwich even though the restaurant was closed. This was super appreciated because were very hungry!

The hotel feels like a cross between an upscale traditional summer camp (the dining hall has wood paneling) and a retreat center. The room we had was large with a large bed and a large fully handicap accessible bathroom (there was a shower curtain but the water drains through the floor (no separate tub or basin). The room was very clean and there were nice spaces to put down our luggage and get organized. There was an outdoor hot tub which we didn't use. If you were keen on it, you could try requesting a room in the building closest to it. We were not close to it and the hotel/area was super silent all night.

The breakfast (included in room rate we had booked) was a highlight. It was Scandinavian with meats, cheeses, yoghurt, muesli, fresh bread, oatmeal, local jams, fruits, and even a waffle maker to make your own waffles. There were also eggs, coffee, tea. Even though there were a lot of people at breakfast, the dining area is large and they kept the food well stocked. Everyone looked happy, which only enhanced the camp/retreat like feeling. The staff was very nice and checkout was quick with no fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturePark_ArchSites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Came with a short Aurora tour 28Feb/1 March with Snaelland Grimsson. Comfy spacious room (55). Kettle but no tea/coffee. Soap dispenser not working. Meals good. Helpful staff. Didn't try the outside hot tub. Several km outside Vík so you would need own transport if you wanted to eat out. Would stay again. Good base for south Iceland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were two couples at the end of our trip to Iceland and decided to stay in Vik as a half way point between the Glacier Lagoon and Reykjavik. We had a wonderful night. The rooms were clean, modern and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff were extremely friendly. We did dine at the restaurant attached to the hotel. This was a great choice as the Lamb, Chicken, Trout, Salmon and Ice Cream were respectively mouthwatering. The facilities are well kept. There are hot tubs on the property however we did not get to use them. If you are looking for a place to stay with the hopes of catching the Northern Lights this is a good bet. We did view a bit of the Northern Lights, granted it was a cloudy night and the activity level was only a 2. We did run into a group of people who were there the previous night and said they had a spectacular show. Overall a great stay and would return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were part of an unusually large coach party of 49 and had no control over the choice of hotel.
We arrived at Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka in the dark and allocated room 65 in what I’m guessing is the most recently built block.
Had I read some of the Tripadvisor comments before arriving I would have dreaded going anywhere near the place.
Room 65 was spacious, well equipped, well decorated and clean throughout. Not a bit of knotty pine which some of the reviewers photographs show.
Excellent, helpful staff with a good command of the English language.
As we were part of a group the evening meals were at a set time with a set menu. BUT,,, If there was anything anyone didn’t like it was substituted with an alternative.
If I can be picky / critical ? Pink flowery bedding covers and red towels would not have been our first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROYnJOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
1.7 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
581 reviews
4.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
5.1 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
301 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofdabrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofdabrekka

Address: Hoefdabrekka, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range: $116 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofdabrekka 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofdabrekka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofdabrekka Hotel Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing