We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Hofdabrekka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka in mid-October as part of a week's stay in Iceland. The hotel was easy to find right off the ring road, and check in was quick. We had booked a standard double room, and were very happy with the accomodations. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were quiet during our stay there.

Breakfast was very good with lots of variety, as long as you weren't expecting North American eggs and bacon. Lots of different breads, a selection of cold cuts and cheeses, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and porridge. Some of the younger folks liked the waffle iron. To drink, fruit juice, coffee and tea were available. Plenty to fill up on. We did not eat at the hotel for dinner, but the menu looked reasonable (prices were similar compared to other local options).

The hotel was close to Vik and the local attractions at Dyrholaey and Reynifjara beach were within 15 minutes drive. There was a bus tour in, but we didn't notice any extra noise or impact at breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting South Iceland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 323 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room was basic but clean, we stayed in one of the motel style rooms looking towards the sea. The hot pool has recently been renovated and was very nice at the end of the day, there where only a few people staying in the hotel and only people to use the hot tub so i guess when the hotel is more busy the hot tub might get a bit crowded. Breakfast was more than adequate the only issue was the stuffed animal décor which I didn't like however I do appreciated that is just my view and other may have a different view. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WokinghamOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

loved this place . room was very clean basic but with all facilities tea making, tv etc. breakfast basic but like most of Iceland, hot tub was great and sauna to chill out, very cosy comfy rooms, great location bit off the beaton track but also close enough so u could go to town have a nice meal, nice place to stay if traveling east

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonzo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were sold this hotel as a family run business showing the best of Iceland. It might be owned by a family but it is a tourist stop factory - and one staffed largely by itinerant Polish hotel workers.
The bedrooms are in large, youth hostel, barracks and are pitch black because there is effectively no lighting.
There is a fixed price - and expensive - buffet for evening meal which is taken in a large wooden canteen. The Polish staff are very pleasant but closely monitor what, and how much, you eat. The whole experience has a soulless factory feel to it.
Breakfast was better but we still expected the bell to ring for the start of school.
It's better suited to school trips than adults on holiday.

Room Tip: As far as we can see, they are all as bad as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gooddayahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

This very large facility is just off the highway in a lovely setting. Right beside the hotel is a road to which we were directed if we wanted to take a drive. We were cautioned to be careful. It's a typical rutted, potholed gravel road that led us to spectacular scenery. The road itself is about 18 km long, but we only drove the first 10 km and were struck by scenery such as we had not yet seen in Iceland (this near the end of a four week trip by which time we thought there was no "different" scenery left). Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, breakfast was very generous, overall, it was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel looks like it has grown over the years from a small property into a good sized hotel that caters to tour buses. We stayed in the newest and largest building and were very happy with our room. The room had a vaulted wood covered ceiling, a tiled bathroom and nice furniture. This was the best room at the several hotels in which we stayed on the south coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited for two nights, so we could travel easily to Jökulsárlón. Hotel consists of several large log cabin like structures that contain many rows of rooms with a central gathering area with TV, books magazines etc... The central cabin consists of the reception and dining area.

We were given a room facing the ocean, and we could see Reynisdrangar in the distance from our window. The room was comfortable, clean and basic with tea facilities (two teabags) and television that connected to all ITV channels, Sky news, and a few Icelandic channels. The shower was very nice - quite powerful, but we did notice that if we had a slightly blocked water outlet, water would accumulate very quickly and enter the bedroom so give a quick check for hairs etc... ours was clean and well maintained.

The hot tubs are just what you need after a hard days adventuring and during our visit only one was operational - luckily this was the gigantic one that could house an entire extended family. We used this late at night and had it to ourselves whilst looking at the stars. Changing rooms are available, and are located either side of a small gymnasium.

Breakfast takes the form of a large buffet. We both enjoyed the selection on offer- lots of cheese, waffles, fruit, fish, luncheon meats and different breads (the icelandic rye bread tasted delicious with pickled herring). We did hear a couple complaining there was no bacon, but it did not bother us as the food on offer was delicious.

On this occasion we did not visit for evening meal, instead deciding to go into Vik.

The hotel seemed popular with coach parties, with many parties taking a whole cabin to themselves. This did not impinge on our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flint_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
602 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
7.5 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
306 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofdabrekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofdabrekka

Address: Hoefdabrekka, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vik
Price Range: $175 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofdabrekka 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofdabrekka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofdabrekka Hotel Vik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing