We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza by a black sand beach”

Strondin Bistro and Bar
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Vik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Sröndin Bistro & bar is a fine a la cart restaurant in Vík við good value of food, locaded in a building behind the N1 gas-station in Vík. Its menue is on their website".
Reeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pizza by a black sand beach”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Good pizza and great service. Not too pricey by Iceland standards. As vegetarians they adapted pizzas on the menu to suit us. Would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    123
    56
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good quality, friendly staff, but a bit expensive”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had dinner here once, and it was ok. However, the menu is a bit limited. Friendly staff, fast service, and a good place for a soup after a cold day. In the other hand, I found it too expensive (although I know Iceland is expensive) for the food they offered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hardest Workers”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came in a minibus on the South Coast Tour and there were other groups there also. You walk in and order then pay and wait for your number. There were two girls cooking and one at the register. They never stopped hustling, even taking time to bus the tables in slower moments. I wasn't expecting much, but the burger was good and the fries were good and hot. My wife enjoyed the lamb soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average.. if you can get service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Upon walking into the place there was no one to be found, except two putting out table settings in the dining room that was closed off. I tried to get their attention multiple times and made eye contact twice and only got a blank stare in return. I found a bell to ring on the counter of the gas station only to get a gruff man come over and point me into the restaurant area where he pulled out a bell and rang it. Then the two girls came out and began to serve the now long line of people. Food was average, greasy diner style burgers with less than average tasting fries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Welllllll”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I ate here . . clean place. Very friendly people. Good soup and bread. I was on a tour bus. Here are my thoughts . .. And they apply to all attractions that have food and a gift store available. Andddd I did have the recommended food item at each stop. I was in Iceland to see Icleand. Butttt I also love to try local food .. Even the chicken feet in China. I love food! Buttttttt .. Dang it . .ya just do not have enough time to experience the site and eat too. . Ya just don't! Don't do it! Bring some energy bars with you on the tours . . If you really need food. Then buy a sandwich and eat it while you are walking outside . .do not sit down in the cafe. The attractions sincerely are tremendous, but you need all the time, your tour bus, gives you to walk and experience the sites.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strondin Bistro and Bar also viewed

Vik, South Region
 
Vik, South Region
 
Myrdalshreppur, South Region
 

Been to Strondin Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing