We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
475
83
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
83
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super jeep arctic char small hotel eggs to order glacier walk waffles northern lights boutique hotel wonderful hotel dining room rooms are large ring road south coast coffee machine wonderful stay common room stayed nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 567 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip to Iceland this one was my favorite. The room was great and so is the common area. There was a nice selection for breakfast and the staff is wonderful. It was quite in our room and we did not hear other guests. The blackout curtains are great also. I can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank espanolita56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

This hotel was fantastic. The room was spacious for all of our big winter gear. We truly enjoyed the peaceful breakfast room, where staff made us eggs to our liking! It was so personalized. The coffee machine also made a delicious latte.

We had only planned on staying at the Volcano Hotel for a short time. Our trip took us from Vik to Hofn, just to have our glacier trip cancelled. We were scrambling to travel back to Vik due to the weather, and the Volcano Hotel luckily had a room for our last minute so we could stay there twice during our trip. We truly appreciated how flexible and accommodating this hotel was. The family and staff who run this hotel truly deserve great customer service.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ljbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

The gentleman on reception could not of done more for us (I think Thomas?) Knowing it was our wedding anniversary he brought us chocolate cake to the room and was a fountain of knowledge on what to do locally. He sorted non feather bedding being that i’m a total pain and allergic to feathers! The breakfast was delicious and the 24hour access to hot drinks and cookies was such a nice touch in a beautiful common room. Johan, that owns the hotel and runs his own excursion company was phenomenal when we did their ice cave tour. All in all, it was a great stay and we had a wonderful start to our Icelandic break.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KayleighM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018

Overnight stay at Volcano Hotel was excellent, large comfy room and we had a great night's sleep after lots of sightseeing that day. Enjoyed our included breakfast and the staff were very friendly, including the resident dog. Not far from Vik with great views from the front of the hotel. Hotel recommended a great place to eat for dinner in Vik which was superb. Wonderful stay and highly recommend the Volcano Hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

The location is great. The rooms are large and comfy. Beds are wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was great, one of the better included breakfasts we had during our trip. Couldn't have asked for a better stay and hospitality!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews