We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
470
83
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
83
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super jeep arctic char small hotel eggs to order glacier walk waffles former school northern lights boutique hotel wonderful hotel dining room room was large ring road south coast favorite hotel coffee machine stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 562 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

After a long, cold day exploring the stunning south coast, we were pleased to find ourselves in a huge, ocean view room with hot chocolate and chic-chip bikkies (yep, we're Aussies) on tap in the communal area! Yes, you have to make alternate arrangements for dinner as it's a fair step to Vik, but we combined a brilliant sunset at the Black Beach with dinner before venturing back to settle in for the night! The bed was huge and cosy, the shower steaming, and breakfast featured the best scrambled eggs I've tasted since I last cracked an egg, as well as a good variety of cereals and cold plates, and hot waffles and croissants!
Not cheap, but this is Iceland, and the staff were friendly and I'm happy to recommend!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NQTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We spent 2 nice nights at Volcano Hotel. It is well located, the staff is friendly, the breakfast tasty. It is a nice location for puffins, to Vik and along the coast. We’d return if we had the opportunity.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank JPoulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! Beautiful, modern room, fluffy bed of your dreams. We stepped outside our door and looked up to see the milky way overhead and the northern lights on the horizon! Perfect location.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We highly recommend the Volcano Hotel in Vik. The staff was amazing! The hotel was definitely a boutique hotel and had a great breakfast each morning. Very clean and comfy too! One of our favs in all of Iceland!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

The rooms here are big and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we had room to spread out! I saw only two potential drawbacks to this hotel - the first was that it was a bit expensive, although that was most likely our timing in booking. The second is that it is out of the way - about a 20 minute drive from Vik, which I believe has the nearest restaurants. This was wonderful for us, as we got to see the Northern Lights in the backyard of the hotel - but if you would rather be in the city, this isn't the place for you. Easy to get to, easy parking, decent breakfast offered for a good time frame. Friendly service. Would recommend!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank patn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews