We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/05/21
Booking.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/05/21
eDreams$105
Travelocity$108
CheapTickets$108
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
505
88
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
505
88
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles northern lights i highly recommend this hotel south coast ring road our room was spacious a great place to stay breakfast was excellent stayed nights black sand beaches hotel is located margret reykjavik dyrholaey sheep aurora
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 603 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

The rooms here are big and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we had room to spread out! I saw only two potential drawbacks to this hotel - the first was that it was a bit expensive, although that was most likely our timing in booking. The second is that it is out of the way - about a 20 minute drive from Vik, which I believe has the nearest restaurants. This was wonderful for us, as we got to see the Northern Lights in the backyard of the hotel - but if you would rather be in the city, this isn't the place for you. Easy to get to, easy parking, decent breakfast offered for a good time frame. Friendly service. Would recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank patn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel near city Vik, the hotel is small but very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room was big and warm with extra heater just in case. The bathroom was also big. Breakfast are freshly made and very tasty.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank jezko9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The volcano hotel is an old school house which was lovingly restored by Johann. It is run by him and his wife Margaret. It is a small hotel/7 rooms, and very well-maintained. Rooms are spacious, and breakfast is included. We stayed there for two nights. Johann took us on a tour of the area, and into an ice cave. He has an amazing machine that he drives. (See photo)
Place is lovely. 10 minute drive from town. Good place to stay if you’re exploring that part of Iceland

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank lillywillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Our group did not stay at the Volcano Hotel as we didn't have time, but I would definitely book a room when traveling there again. We had a wonderful lunch of fresh salmon with drawn butter, mixed vegetables, small potatoes, tea / coffee and dessert.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MariaP1779DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

While our group did not stay, we had a delicious lunch of locally-caught Arctic char, prepared perfectly, and delicious chocolate cake. The husband of this family-owned hotel also has a glacier-climbing business, as well as an amazing 4-wheel drive "Super-Jeep, which is actually a Mercedes, and it seats 18 people comfortably, and goes to the edge of the glacier ....think "The Wall" in Game of Thrones. Only disappointment, Jon Snow did not appear.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews