We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I join in the reviews of others. Volcano Hotel is the only place to stay on the southern coast of Iceland, and thankfully, it's centrally located--easy to make it a home base for a few nights. We took a volcano tour with Johann, who is a great guide. More than anything, we enjoyed sipping tea while we watched the ocean. Great spot.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kelly M.
Thank you for your kind review.
Sometimes nature is enough to make one happy - having the view from the lounge/restaurant towards the Atlantic ocean is great and having a cup of tea or coffee, while watching, is just a bonus ;).
And I agree with you about the location, Volcano Hotel, is ideal for a stop over for a few nights for the ones exploring the south coast of Iceland (which is one of the most beautiful places in Iceland and I am being totally neutral ;) )
Hope you visit us again!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    66
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
117
255
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rorschach, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The owners working with body and soul for their Volcano. Food, rooms, service, hospitality, Iceland-music, Northern Lights and and and - all was perfect. If you wanna have action, make an advantage tour with the owner - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Christian S.
You are so right, we do what we can to make our guests feel comfortable and make as much of their stay as we can. I am happy you took tour with Johann as it is totally worth it!
On behalf of the owners I thank you for giving yourself time to write a review.
Warm regards and hope to see you again!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A new, modern hotel, with helpful friendly staff and excellent food.
The bedrooms are spacious and very well appointed, including the ensuite bathroom, ours only had a shower which was fine as we prefer a shower.
The lounge dining area is once again modern and very pleasant with help yourself coffee and biscuits.
Dinner was very good, as was the breakfast the following morning.
The whole experience of staying at this hotel was very enjoyable and we thought it was one of the best hotels of the 13 we stayed at in Iceland.
Also the location for the coast was ideal.
It would be difficult to fault this hotel or the staff.

Room Tip: We only have experience of one room, of which there are only seven, and they are probably all of a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMB2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear KMB2213
Thank you very much for your kind review towards us and our little place.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you visit again someday.
Volcano Hotel is like our baby, we are proud of it and when our guests like it - we couldn´t be more happier.
On behalf of the owners and our staff
Many many thanks
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel must be considered within the performance of the (few) others in the region of Vik i Myrdal. No bar soap for the bathroom or shower. For a country with unlimited electricity can you excuse a 7w bulb in the bedside lamps? The room is white ceiling, white walls and light wood floor. Not a color or art or photo or anything to break the whiteness. The bed is white. The furniture n the room is black. IKEA has more choices. This "bed in a bag" (duvet in a sheet sack) is the norm for Iceland but I really miss the blanket and sheet that the rest of the western world uses. The shower took 2-3 minutes for hot water to arrive. We may have been at the end of the pipe in our back corner room. Dinner was quite nice considering it came in a frozen pack and was heated on site.
This is the best option of the few n the region. An actual hotel experience within the limitations of size and location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear reviewer.
Thank you kindly for your review, we are really happy and appreciate your over all rate, many thanks for that.
We would though like to comment on a few things just for clarification for our future guests :).
You are right that there are now soap "bars" in the bathrooms and there is a reason for that. In all our rooms there is a soap in a pump by every bathroom sink + there is a body&hair shampoo in all rooms as well. Maybe it is not convenient for all, but for environmental reasons a soap in a pump is much better then soap bars that have to be thrown away after each use. We hate throwing soap away into the environment and there for we think the pump is a much better choice.
I agree with you that the some of the rooms may need photos or brighter colors, but others may not agree with you and me ;) and the minimalism in our design has been praised by our guests, they feel calm and at rest in the rooms. I do hope you did as well ;).
Even though Iceland is rich of hot water (and electricity) we do have some areas in Iceland that are considered as "cold spots" - the area around Vík is such a spot. We do not have any geothermal hot water and there for cold water is heated up with electricity. It can, at quiet times, take up to 2 minutes for the water to heat up, but I am sure the waiting was worth it as the water power in our showers is really good ;).
In Iceland, and in most of Scandinavia for that matter, it is simply necessary to sleep with duvets - as it can get quite cold during the nights. Our duvets are quality duvets, filled with eider down, their light, airy and comfortable. The "bags" (that are 100% cotton) are to cover the duvets for hygiene reasons, they can be washed every day - but a blanket cannot. Again there is reason for every strange habit in every country and as it seems strange to one to sleep with duvets, it seems strange for others to sleep with a sheet only :).

Again, thank you so much for your review and I do hope to see you again in Iceland someday!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Volcano Hotel and we really wished we had more time in the Vik area. The hotel is on the ring road, right outside of Vik so it is very easy to get to. In reading some other reviews there are comments about the outside of the building looking a bit plain. I can tell you that the design of the building really fits in with the surroundings. I found it to be quite nice and a very interesting design, especially knowing now that it used to be the school house that the owner, Johann went to as a young child. Inside the hotel is very beautiful. It is very clean, modern and really has a warm and welcoming feel to it. As soon as we walked in, we felt very comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are very clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The dining area and bar area are very nice as well. Breakfast was very good as it was filled with fresh breads, fresh eggs, fruits and cheeses. We had dinner at the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was excellent! The arctic char the first night was absolutely delicious and the chicken the next evening was just as good. The service is outstanding. Johann and his family are very nice and very sociable. They not only welcome you into their hotel, but you feel like they welcome you into their family. I would highly recommend booking a day tour with Johann to do some glacier hiking and then an off road tour of the surrounding area in his 4WD vehicle. We spent a day with him doing this tour and it was great! Hiking on a glacier with crampons was a lot of fun, but going off road and seeing another glacier and learning more about the area, the mountains and the volcano's was great. Johann knows his stuff and he is so willing to share his knowledge. You can tell he loves what he does as it shows in the great service he provides. I would highly, highly recommend to anyone traveling to Iceland to spend some time in the Vik area because it is beautiful and if you do, don't bother searching for other hotels or B&B's, just book your stay at Hotel Volcano. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you Johann and family for a wonderul stay in Iceland!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estrnmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear estrnmountain.
On behalf of the four owners and our staff, I thank you kindly for your kind review. As always I am very happy you enjoyed staying with us and I am very happy you got the feeling we always try to bring out, that you were visiting a family member - rather then staying at a hotel :).
Thanks for the comment on the food - we try our best with local ingredients, and the arctic char couldn´t be any fresher as it comes from a farm just few minutes away from us ;).
Again as I have stated before in other replies, a tour with Johann is simply a must when in the area ;).
Glad you liked us - we hope to see you again!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. It fully deserves its excellent Tripadvisor reputation and we would recommend it wholeheartedly. The hotel is located adjacent to the ring road just outside Vik with views over the sea and the hills behind. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside it was perfect. We stayed in the room at the end of the corridor with direct access to the outside - comfy bed, great shower and very good value compared to other accommodation in Iceland. The food was not cheap (Iceland isn't!!) but it was good, including a vegetarian alternative to lamb for me one evening. In addition, the staff were accommodating both when we were late for dinner and when we had an early start and wanted breakfast early!!

If you are thinking about staying near Vik, don't hesitate, just book!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer.
Thank you kindly for sharing your lovely opinion on our little place. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us and liked what we had to offer. I do hope you have the chance to visit Iceland again and stay with us someday - we´d love to have you with us again!
All my best
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were very happy with the volcano and stayed here on our last night on Vik. It was clean, nice decor, huge rooms.. We would come again. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but we ate in Vik earlier. It was artic char on the night we stayed which looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexstar2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyri, Owner at Volcano Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Bexstar2006.
Thank you for your review - we are so happy you did enjoy your stay with us and even more happier that you gave yourself a time to write a review. Thank you!
We do hope to see you again someday!
Thyri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vik
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
532 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#4 of 6 in Vik
273 reviews
21.6 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
273 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Property: Volcano Hotel
Address: THjodvegur | Ketilsstadaskoli, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Hotel is a very nice country hotel in the area of Mýrdalur valley, by the southern most tip of Iceland. We have only 7 spacious and beautiful rooms at the hotel, the rooms are decorated in Scandinavian style, with hard wood floors and light interiors. All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, shampoo, soaps and a hairdryer. There is a nice lounge/dining room with a bar at Volcano Hotel and dinner is available for our guests, if it is booked in advance - latest the morning of your arrival. We take price in offering a personal service and know the importance of meeting a local, so do chat with us and ask us about anything in Iceland - we're happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing