We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful through and through. Must take a Jeep Tour!”
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Every outstanding report from previous reviewers is true! We traveled with our 5 and 3 year-old children. We're selective about hotels, and this was a fantastic choice. Johann and Margaret are parents too, and they made our family feel at home. From their kind but not overbearing approach, to the size of the hotel (so manageable for the kids), to the yummy meals, where our kids ate tons of Johann's amazing waffles and the cold cuts at breakfast, and Margaret made buttered noodles and chocolate milk just for them at dinner.

We booked 4 nights in Reykjavik, and 3 nights at the Volcano Hotel, and did day trips. We were able to cover from Borgarnes to Jokulsarlon pretty thoroughly. There is SO much accessible within a reasonable drive of Vik! We took one day en route from Reykjavik through horse country and waterfalls, one day east to Jokulsarlon and Skaftafell/Vatnajokull, and one day on a half day "Super Jeep" tour with Johann, and visiting Dyrolahaey on our own. If you do one thing, do the Jeep Tour with Johann! And do it early in your stay, as you will then have the history of the area (which is fascinating). As always, he was courteous, and full of information, but not overbearing - just the right kind of host. Our private tour included the glacier, lava sands, clifftops, and history, all at our own pace with the kids. He even had lots of patience with my endless photo-taking, because scenery is just stupendous!

But Johann really went above and beyond for our daughter. During our Super Jeep Tour, high on a 450 foot cliff above Vik, the wind was whipping. He warned us to keep a tight hold of the kids. We all stayed well back and admired the view. As we turned to leave, an enormous gust snatched her favorite winter hat off her head, soaring high up and over the cliff edge. Clearly it was gone forever. She tried to be a big girl, but really cried. He recommended a place to buy a substitute. Later that evening, as our family pulled into the hotel lot, he met us at our car with the hat!! He had seen the hat from above on an afternoon tour. It was near the top, but he couldn't climb down to it, so he climbed UP. Probably hundreds of feet, to bring her that crazy hat. We now call it the 'miracle' hat. She was so pleased - now she even has 2 hats! And needless to say, Johann and the "Super Jeep" are heroes now.

So, just do it - stay with Margaret and Johann- you will truly be well taken care of, and will feel at home in this amazing country.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisanotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the few hotels we stayed in that offers coffee / tea service round the clock. The hosts were always available for suggestions or stories, but not intrusive. They will provide a wake up call in the event of Northern Lights sighting. The rooms were large, modern and very clean. The breakfast spread each morning was plentiful and delicious. This hotel was our favorite during our time in Iceland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polartrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When we were planning our trip to Iceland, there was only one hotel that I insisted we book. The Volcano Hotel. I am so happy we did. It exceeded my expectations. The hotel is small and warm and the dinners are delicious. The two dinner we had were arctic char and chicken with mushroom sauce. They were both very good. The hotel owners were wonderful. On our second evening, the hotel owners offered us a chance to try hakarl also known as rotten shark. Well, it definitely was an interesting food experience! We intend to return to the Volcano Hotel. Hopefully soon!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I just recently returned form Iceland and had a great time thanks to Volcano Hotel. Much of what I want to write has already been covered by other reviewers. Every post talks about how comfortable the hotel is, the rooms were clean, the hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating. The hotel also has food (one entree for each day) which makes it very convenient when you want to relax and not head back out after hiking all day.

Like others....we did the volcano hike and had a blast. It is well worth the money.

One tip.....bring a wash cloth. This is a common theme across all of Europe....they don't use wash cloths. So bring one along. Other than that, everything was great and we plan on staying again at the Volcano Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athena381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Volcano hotel is an excellent choice when travelling in Southern Iceland. Modern and comfortable with excellent hosts. Dinner was deliscious and so much like excellent restaurant quality that I felt sure the cook must have had culinary qualifications. Evidently not the case, but the hotel had started offering dinner when the surrounding restaurants closed. I'd highly recommend a stay here. Perfect location for viewing the Northern lights. Breakfast was fabulous and a photographic slideshow of local scenery created by the hosts of was the perfect breakfast adjunct on the TV. Additionally the hosts were extremely helpful and flexible when our party had a major mix up with plans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingingSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had reserved two hikes with Johann, one of the hotel owners, one a glacier walk for an afternoon and the other a full day walk to see the volcanoes that erupted in 2010, Katla and Eyjafjallajokull. Johann had all the information one could want about the volcanoes, their eruptions, the area, what it was like to live through the event. He was also helpful, supplying walking sticks, ice axes, hats, whatever we needed to enjoy our hikes, and he set the pace to what we could comfortably do. It was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Volcano Hotel so much that we came back to stay an extra night during our stay! The hotel is beautifully styled with black floors that mirror the black pebble beaches of Vik and comfortable beds. The location was great for a tour of the South Coast, a perfect stopping place along the ring road. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamafish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vik hotels
5.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
8.0 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
550 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Address: THjodvegur | Ketilsstadaskoli, Vik 871, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price Range: $195 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Hotel is a very nice country hotel in the area of Mýrdalur valley, by the southern most tip of Iceland. We have only 7 spacious and beautiful rooms at the hotel, the rooms are decorated in Scandinavian style, with hard wood floors and light interiors. All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, shampoo, soaps and a hairdryer. There is a nice lounge/dining room with a bar at Volcano Hotel and dinner is available for our guests, if it is booked in advance - latest the morning of your arrival. We take price in offering a personal service and know the importance of meeting a local, so do chat with us and ask us about anything in Iceland - we're happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing